You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did you just assume my gender?

in #psychology6 years ago

Alex says they are non-binary.
Alex says he is non-binary.

both of these are ambiguous in the same way. The pronoun can refer to Alex or third party. I don't buy that point of yours. You could've gone a different direction with it: they/them is ambiguously singular/plural depending on the context.

Also wish you would've shared your opinion on the pronouns Xe / Xir.

Sort:  

Hiya Ksikka

You make a great point – in the second example, Alex could be talking about another person. But they're not ambiguous in the same way. The first is misleading to most English-speaking people. If the person speaking says 'they', they are nearly always referring to 'other' rather than 'self'.

I wish I'd gone into the Xe/Xir as well too but the article was getting really long. You know – attention spans. I may revisit it at some point.

Thanks for your comments.

Cheers
Anj :)

My opinion is that there is no pronoun xe/xir, thay are made up children's words like googoo gaga.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52