Fractal Buddha with bonus Haiku

in #fiction7 years ago

silentFRACTAL.png

Woke infinity
A dark magician gifting
Dunce caps to Buddhas

It's a dark Sunday morning. Too cold. Eerily quiet, apart from the occasional gust of wind slapping rain against the window. I'm breathing through my nostrils, measured doses. Be the grown-up is my silent mantra.

The YouTube homepage fills our television screen, its angry red banner above squares of tacky clickbait. I glance at the options but I'm not interested. The gaudy colours and horrified expressions do nothing to entice me. Seen it all before. Shite and more shite. Mind pollution. My real focus is on my son.

He sits cross-legged on the couch wearing just his pyjama bottoms. Only eleven years old. Slim and serious. I've fired up the heating but the chilly atmosphere is winning. My boy won't accept the blanket about his shoulders and he's not talking. I'm huddled in my fleecy onesie, still shivering. His face is set to a stubborn frown and his breathing matches this.

His mouth is moving as though in conversation, but no sound comes.

'D'ye wanna cuppa tea?' I say, making to stand up. 'Will tharr'elp?' Yet again, he doesn't answer me.

'Come on, kidder. S'freez'n. Pu' su'n' on.' I wield the blanket like a matador facing a bull, but there's no response, so I put it over my legs. The blanket is soft but has a surface chill which penetrates my fleece.

The stained glass lamp is between us. Only half of his face is visible to me. He is pale, as though the blood has scurried away from the surface, avoiding his presence. His hair is pale too, waves of gold fall across his cheek in haphazard curls. I'm glad he doesn't want a haircut. He continues his silent mumbling while I study his dark expression.

screwed up paper.jpg

On the coffee table there's a mound of screwed-up paper and some not-yet-vandalised sheets. I shove it with my foot, the table, pushing it closer to him. It screeches across the wooden floor. He pretends not to notice.

His usually vibrant eyes grow darker. He jerks his hand, punching sideways at a cushion. This sudden movement surprises me and I raise an eyebrow. The cushion deflates and, as it slowly resumes its shape, rolls off the couch as though dead. It'll be covered in dog hairs now.

'Wanna talk abaarrih?' I notice the irritation in my voice.

He does, too; I can tell. But he stares straight ahead towards the television. I know he's not reading the YouTube thumbnail titles or scanning the pictures. His stare is dead centre. He's inside his own head, but radiating anger. Or maybe it's frustration. Both. I don't know. It feels like stalemate now though.

streetlamp.jpg

I turn to the window behind me and reach for the pull-cord to open the vertical blinds. The sky is a dirty mauve. Still no sign of daylight, just a sickly sepia mist around the street lamp outside. My car looks miserable in the rain.

When I look back I see my son has moved. He's uncrossed his legs and is rubbing the back of his neck. It must have been uncomfortable for him, sitting in the same position for so long. The act is disintegrating. So is mine. My mind turns to coffee. Strong coffee.

'Suit yerself, love,' I say, standing up. 'But yer no'rravin' yer Playstation controller 'til ye finish yer matts'omework.'

Ends

Note: This is fiction. My kid is a perfect, loveable savage.

Translations from Scouse into English:

D'ye wanna cuppa tea? – Do you want a cup of tea?
Will tharr'elp? – Will that help?
Come on, kidder – Come on, sweetheart
S'freez'n – It's freezing
Pu' su'n' on – Put something on
Wanna talk abaarrih? - Do you want to talk about it?
Suit yerself, love – Suit yourself, love
But yer no'rravin' yer Playstation controller 'til ye finish yer matts 'omework – But you're not getting your Playstation controller until you finish your mathematics homework

akdivider.png

SMARTSTEEM

Other eclectic articles

Crypto Empire expands – New Embassies

Introducing @MINNOWBOOTCAMP Community Bot Account for NEW MINNOWS and UP!

Life advice from an imperfect human

Eagle Spirit

My weird and evil hobby

Friends – who are they and what the f*!k do they want

Meat addict?

How to write a critique for fiction

How to improve crap fiction writing

Drunk song

Crap art

akdivider.png


Crypto Empire

All pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online (pixabay, wikimedia, pexels, flickr, public domain pictures, freestockphotos.biz, maxpixel), labelled for reuse and doctored by me

Sort:  

My kid is a perfect, loveable savage.

That's adorable.

I love the story, especially the way you walk us though 'your perceptive' with such vividness.

I like the 'be the grown up' and ' It feels like stalemate now though' parts...

Really cranked me up

Thanks for sharing

Thanks iamthegray

Your comments mean a lot. It's nice to get feedback on the actual writing innit.

I'm going out now. Meant to look at your short story the other day but got sidelined. I'll get to that later today.

cheers
Anji :)

Smiles

You're welcome

Hope to get your feedback. Er... It's about 2500 words long... Wonders if it still qualifies as a short story.

And please call me Gray.

Blessings

Hiya Gray

I've done your feedback. Got a bit carried away. It's nearly 1k words. I hope they're helpful to you.

cheers
Anji :)

I've read it. It was simply wonderful. And to think you could spare your time to do a mini-critique on my piece gladens my heart.

Thanks a lot @anjkara

I'm very grateful

Blessings

Sent you my sign up fee!
Game on!

I mean greast post Anjkara! LOOOOOL... wrong post

mwahahaha
I'll take the fee if you like though. And the game :D

It's @Swolesome's contest, you should check it out, maybe you'll win a crypto fighter.

I don't know what one of those is but I'll check it out.

thanks Max

Anji x

Happy to say I did not need that glossary at the end. PlayStation yay! Homework boooooo.

Yay! Glad you're picking up the Scouse, kidder :D

cheers Eon
Anj xx

Great post ! When u first read it i didn't understand some of the words then at the ending i saw the glossary so i have to reread it again . Haha ..
I do have some haikus too on my account but it's not as good as yours thou ^^ if you have some time please visit my profile thanks

Thanks Meme.

Glad you got use out of my glossary :P

I'm new to haikus -- still got lots to learn. I had a look at yours. Really good stuff, very deep.

cheers
Anj :)

Haha ... clever haiku and short story. Yes meditation is not always a peacefully begun ... my experience however is it gets there soon enough:)

Hiya Prydefoltz :D

Thanks for your kind comments.

Ah, meditation. I could never get the hang of it. My mind won't stay still.

cheers
Anj :)

Try walking meditation or even meditating with your eyes open ... that could make the difference. On another front ... feel free to drop my blog if you like. I writer poetry and haiku too. I am still quite new to the platform and looking make some poetry-type friends:)

Thanks Prydefoltz :D

You could come and join the Crypto Empire on Discord. It's a really friendly and lively place and we've got quite a few writers in there. I've followed you :D

cheers
Anj x

Great, anjkara. I will look for you in followers and return the follow. Many have invited me to Discord. I am just a little apprehensive because I have been known to use up a lot of time that way:) But I do appreciate the kind invite and hope we see a lot of each other on our blog posts:)

Hahaha I know what you mean about Discord being a time-eating machine. I'd get a lot more done if I didn't faff about on there so much.

See you soon
Anj :D

Waah, so descriptive anj! Wish I can write this way. ^^ haahha I love the scouse was trying to figure out some of the words ^^

Thanks Dawn. Hope it wasn't too confusing.

cheers
Anj x

Ahahah it's cool. ^^ love it. ^^

Nice translations at the end lol, really needed them for a few of them!

Thanks Luna. Welcome to Scouse.
cheers
Anj x

This post has received a 87.72% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @anjkara. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57