My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: How Depression Changed Me

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: How Depression Changed Me

For this week's Promo-Mentors writing challenge, we were asked to write about an experience that changed us. Looking back on my life, I quickly come to the decision of what I have to talk about: Depression. My depression lasted for two years, and although it encompasses a set of experiences, it is an experience in itself. Throughout this whole period, there was a constant sombre feeling. In hindsight, I am quite grateful for that experience, although I do not wish Depression upon anyone, and I definitely would not want to suffer through it again.

How my Depression Came About

promomentor2.png

Image Source: Pexels

Repression

In 2011 (I was seventeen) I started coming to terms with my sexual orientation. For each person, this is a different process. As I had quite a religious upbringing, this was rather difficult. I had been in catholic schools from the age of eleven, and in those times where I should have learnt who I am, all I did was repress my identity to satisfy my religion. However, that is not how us humans function - whatever we repress can resurface any time, without warning. I started my second year of my post-secondary education in September. I suppose that this would be equivalent to the last year of high school in the American system - it was an important year. There was this guy in my maths class whom frequently sat next to me. He was quite friendly, and frankly, I did not have any close friends at the time. Out of the blue, I realised I had feelings for him, and I felt guilty, ashamed, and worthless. I opened up to this guy, my crush, and, although he did not reciprocate those feelings, he was quite supportive. With his help, I came out to my friends and found support, and then eventually came out slowly to my family.

Coming Out

Coming out to my mother was quite a tough thing to do - I was anxious throughout that whole morning and did not leave my bed. Then, I did it when she came to see if something was wrong, and that's when I told her that I liked boys. Great! The hardest part is done. Yet, from that day onwards, things went downhill. I do not want to imply that she was not supportive, but she definitely was not understanding, and looking back, that's okay. However, I felt misunderstood, lonely, worthless, and that's how my depression started. All those repressed feelings, bottled self-hate, they resurfaced. It was too much too handle. There was no reason for those feelings to hide anymore, I had no more secrets. Well, apart from the fact that I was depressed and suicidal. I started going to therapy in December that year. My parents were not aware of my depression; they thought I was going to discuss whether my sexuality was a 'phase'. They hoped it was.

The Depression

promomentor3.png

Image Source: Pexels

The Sombre Days

It was two more years of depression. Took antidepressants during most of those years - there was a period I had given up and started to not take them. Nothing was given me pleasure anymore, and I was way too moody. I just spent my time at home playing games, and even when exams came, I barely studied. Luckily, I still passed my exams, although, not with flying colours. At the same time, I had my first relationship. Not something that I am fond of, but it definitely taught me much more about myself and about the world. We lasted around three months, and had a very lonely Summer afterwards. A few months later, I started going out to the clubs and met a group which I joined. Most of them were LGBTQ+ individuals, and we used to go to different clubs, mainly the local gay club. They were quite extroverted; I was shy - an introvert. It did not make that much sense, but it definitely felt great - I felt like I somewhat belonged. Belonging was a new feeling. Every Saturday, we met and went out to the clubs, and like the majority of the Maltese adolescents, we engaged in binge-drinking activity. Yep, I got drunk many times - but this was normal behaviour. It was not healthy, but it was normal. At times, it made me feel good, other times it made me even more depressed. It was my only shot at happiness. Pleasure, rather than happiness. At home, I never felt pleasure, so feeling good for a few hours was definitely worth it, even if alcohol was somewhat expensive and harmful.

Fighting Back

The next year, 2012-2013, I had to start going to university, and I was not sure what course I wanted. Finally, I ended up enrolling in a B.Sc in Business and Computing Studies. It was not all bad, but I was not mentally there. At least once a week, I stayed home, and when January exams arrived, I had not studied anything. I knew I was doomed. Eventually, I dropped out without sitting for any of the exams, and thought of re-enrolling the next year. When the time came, I decided to enroll in something different: B.Sc in Mathematics and Statistics. It actually had a longer name - too long to remember. I enjoyed that year, and managed to make lots of friends - I still talk to one of them to this day. Unfortunately, my concentration was not there, and I failed many exams (almost half of them). Even though I failed and could not repeat the course, it was not a brutal year. I was being gradually weaned off the antidepressants (as guided by the psychiatrist), and I was able to control of my drinking behaviour.

Recovery and Blessings

Summer of 2014 arrived, and I was feeling better than ever. I had started writing poetry some time in 2013, and was taking it seriously by 2014. It was the only way I could express myself. On July 3rd 2014, I met my boyfriend - and that has been a blessing. We actually met because of our shared interest in poetry! Depression was over, and I was being rewarded with all the good things I ever wanted. I enrolled in another course, B.A in Philosophy and Psychology, in which I worked extremely hard and eventually graduated in 2017. Life wasn't just okay, it was great: better than ever. Looking back at my life, I would not change any of it. Yes, this was an extremely dreaded time. It was bleak, the days were sombre. Yet, without it, I would not be who I am today.

What Depression has Taught me

promomentor4..png

Image Source: Pexels

Responsibility and Acceptance of Feelings

First and foremost, I learnt that I am responsible for my life, my choices, my moods. Self-acceptance was key to dealing with depression. It is easy to blame family members, religion and others for making me hate myself. Yet, at the end of the day, I held the power to stop hating myself. And I did. The biggest lesson I have learnt is that it is okay not to be okay. It is okay to feel sad, depressed, unwanted, or any of the negative feelings. We are human, and these are natural feelings. What does not work is to bottle feelings up and hide them. It never helps. I always visualise this like a volcano, waiting to erupt - eruptions are dangerous and to be avoided. Repressing feelings is a defence mechanism, not a solution. When it all came back up, it destroyed my psyche. Through depression, I learnt to never repress or suppress my feelings again. If I have negative feelings, I will channel them artistically in poetry. Write about them. Put them out there in the world. That way, I know that, both as an artist and as a person, I am processing and accepting these feelings.

Artistic Creativity

On that note, one of the best by-products of my depression was poetry. Before that, I had no creative outlet; I was not even a fan of poetry. I am not too sure why I thought I would be good at poetry or why I tried it out. To this day, poetry remains a great outlet to channel my emotions, both positive and negative. In fact, I have expressed my story of depression in a collection of eighty-eight poems, which I titled Welcome to the Sombre Days. As you may deduce, depression is different to every individual, which brings me to my next point: personality.

Challenging my Beliefs and Personality

When I was younger, I used to think that I am lazy and that without effort, things fall in their place anyway. Being depressed deeply challenged this: and with each course I enrolled in, I worked harder and harder. Actually, I worked smarter. In my mathetmatics year, I did study too much, and without a clear head, I could not truly learn. In the following years, I realised that not everything is about working too hard, but also about taking care of oneself. Yes, taking care of myself, mentally and physically, has drastically boosted my concentration and memory. Believing in myself was another reason why I did well in psychology and philosophy. Somehow, I looked at myself at a different light. I worked extremely hard not only academically, but also to get out of depression. Recovering from depression definitely made me feel invincible, and that notion has been transferred to other areas. Nowadays, not only do I see myself as diligent and hard-working, but also as determined, motivated and persistent. In a way, I am that person who I thought that I could never be.

Coming Out Stronger

promomentor1.png

Image Source: Pexels

Overall, it is challenging to put all that I have learnt into this post: I acknowledge that there are certain impacts which I am possibly unaware of. I accept and embrace my depression and my mental health, for it made me much stronger. As Nietzsche says, "that what does not kill me, make me stronger". Yes, Kelly Clarkson adapted that quote into her song, but no, it was not her saying, originally. You can take this saying and, poetically, imagine onself as a diamond. At first, I was a rough diamond, still part of the rocks and unnoticed. Then, depression came about, and it processed me into the shiny diamond that I am today. The process is never pretty, but the outcome is!

P.S. If you do enjoy poetry and liked this post, be sure to read about the release of my book, today 9th March, at the post, Welcome to the Sombre Days.



rsz_final_cover.jpg

My new poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, is published as paperback on Amazon and ebook on Kindle. Each day, I am sharing another poem from the book on Steemit. Here are the available parts so far:

Announcement & Forward
Book Release

Chapter 1: Puppet Strings
#1 - Dancing Queen
#2 - Fruitcake
#3 - The Best of Both Worlds
#4 - Applause
#5 - Hush!
#6 - Inside Me (1)
#7 - Ink-chanted (1)
#8 - Overshadow


Join Steemit's LGBT+ on Discord


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your beautiful and deeply moving story @poetrybyjeremy. <3

It was my pleasure :) I am glad that people have been moved, emphatic and understood a reality that they might have or have not lived.

Resteeming and all the things because this post is A+. Thank you for sharing so deeply.

I actually wrote this on Wednesday, I had a free hour at the uni library. It felt so personal in a public place. I had not realised how much I wrote. It just flowed - it has become so easy to talk about it. I truly appreciate your support <3

Thank you for such a deep and moving post. I'm so glad you're here.

Thank you. I am happy as well to be in such a loving community <3

Wow amazing story man. Thank you for sharing this.

It's my pleasure to share :)

Depression is a most valuable voice of the soul telling us our lives must change. This is sometimes not the case. At times depression can have organic origins or may stem from abuse or addictions. However, in most cases it seems that the soul voice is telling us to transform certain areas of our lives or spirit to come to a greater degree of authenticity and integrity and responsibility for our own selves. Unfortunately the quick fix is to medicate or turn to an addiction for relief thus muting the soul voice that would have us be free. Thanks for the thought provoking post, and of course Many Blessings.

Oh yeah, definitely. There are depressions caused by organic causes. At times, this can be helped by medication or treatment, nonetheless. I am sure that even people who have organic and chronic depression find that their outlook on life changes completely. There are always lessons to be learnt and positive things to take from any experience, but it all depends on personality, resilience and other factors. I know you say 'quick fix', and it is not necessarily the case. In a way, there where times I had given up or felt like there was no way out of depression. It's quite different than wanting a quick fix - it's more that this is the best feeling I can ever get. When your brain's pleasure system is consistently low, boosting that may seem like the only way out. When people give up, they might not believe in treatment or therapy anymore, so that can be quite dangerous.

Yeah, your're right. I wasn't thinking. Blessings. Oh! OH! So you really live on Malta?

Yes, I do haha. I'm Maltese. Does that sound special?

Yes definitely is special. Don't they speak Maltese there, or perhaps Italian? How are you so proficient in English? My interest in Malta comes from a singular source: I read "The Religion", a most excellent novel, by Tim Willocks, about the Muslim siege of Malta in 1565 (I think thats the correct date). So I've studied the geography of Malta to match it to what I was reading. This all fascinates me in that I have inside information that I lived another lifetime(s) as a warrior with blade in hand. Mr. Willocks and I agree: we may have been there together.

Well, and who could question your specialness? That you are of Malta, simply adds to the ...allure.

You're not that far off.

Maltese is our native language, but English is also an official language. We have English lessons as soon as we start having Maltese lessons, which is at age six or so. However, most parents start teaching kids English from when they can start speaking. I remember having a 'laptop' toy which had mathematics and english stuff, and at age 5 the toughest words on that toy were 'sphynx' and 'helicopter'. It must be said that Malta was under the British Empire for quite a long time, and I suppose this has to do with English being an official language.

As for Italian, both due to history and proximity, a lot of us do learn Italian. We do not have many Maltese TV stations, so we always (I suppose) had access to Italian TV stations. Maltese TV is not rich, so we do not get movies played, whereas on Italian TV we all could watch cartoons and movies. There are a lot of people that learn Italian just by watching a lot of TV. At secondary school, (age 11), we are asked to choose another language to study. Due to this, the majority of the students choose Italian. French, Spanish and German are nowhere near as popular. Italian is much easier due to the culture. However, I studied both Italian and French and am unable to have a conversation in either of these languages.

As for the siege by the Ottoman Empire, 1565 sounds about right. Both our location and our size make Malta quite unique. It is probably what makes us the 'pleasers'. Both the English language and tourism have great importance to our economy, and we rely on attracting and pleasing people.

I suppose there could be an allure to being Maltese. For a majority of the people here, I am the only Maltese they know.

Hey! You're right. Now I can boast to my friends I have a friend in Malta. Not many people can say that! At least here in the States. Blessings. I had forgotten that Malta was hotly contested in WWII. It was a Brittish port and military post.

We're like that lonely person who flirts with just anyone, saying, "Hey you. Use me. I'll do anything as long as I get to be yours."

With your words here, I can see a powerful tool has been created. It can be used to guide others who are struggling through depression or transformation to their true selves. It provides empathy and understanding with insight for those who need it. Thank you for sharing your story!!

I am glad that you think so :) Everything that I have now seemed impossible a couple of years ago, so I do hope people get some sort of motivation, even though it can be quite difficult (even neurochemically)

This was an amazing share, I applaud you for your honesty and a brave hearth to come out so proud and strong from all of that. I am happy to hear you learned so much and that it made you the person you are today. Congratulations for being who you need to be and leaving the old self behind.

Thank you. It's been a couple of years, so it's relatively easy for me to talk about it nowadays. From my real life, it's astounding on how many people I could connect with and understand through discussing mental health. A lot of the people I know have come directly in contact with mental health issues, and talking about helps others to open up.

Finding your own legs of support is the biggest challenge anyone faces. Upbringing often teaches that thoughts and feelings are wrong and should be avoided. Those are just the thoughts and feelings of someone teaching you and not what makes each person unique. The challenge of breaking those beliefs and finding ones true self is the beginning to true happiness.
I can see the struggles you faced in your writing and the man you became once you found your soul and your voice within. I also share your feelings that everything happens for a reason and not changing a damn thing is the only thing that makes us who we are. Nice to meet you Jeremy, I'm going to check out your poetry now.

Indeed. At times, to break those beliefs, the mind goes into extremes, e.g. depression. It weakens everything and shatters it all at once, and suddenly you are lost and need to build yourself. Nice to meet you too, and thank you for the supportive comment :)

What a wonderful lucid account of depression and how it led to deeper self-understanding and made you a stronger person. I have also suffered depression, thankfully a long time ago, and I think it affects everyone differently.

Every brain is different, and every depression is different. There is nothing I can tell you about your depression, but I know that it must have changed the way you feel or think or act. I'm grateful that we're both here today and still strong <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51