Mini writing workshop: What is the trouble with adverbs in fiction?

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Thank you for checking out the mini fiction writing workshop, in which I share actionable tips for fiction writers. Each workshop starts with a question. In this case, we're looking at why adverbs are problematic in fiction writing.

Okay, on to the topic of the day!


Image source: Pixabay image by quinntheislander

What is the trouble with adverbs in fiction?


If you have read my mini workshops before, you know that I don't like to talk in absolutes. This is because as soon as you say, "Do this, don't do that," and "here are the inviolable rules of fiction writing," some talented writer is going to break the rules and show that it can be done gracefully.

So, in my humble opinion, this is not a rule. And in fact there are very few actual bottom line rules for writing. But there are some really good guidelines. And it is especially important for new writers who are just spreading their wings to study them and use them to improve their writing.

One of those really good guidelines is: Do not use adverbs in fiction writing. (Or, at the very least, kept them to a minimum.)

There are two key reasons:

  1. Adverbs kind of smack the reader with information very indelicately. Instead of showing what's happening in dialog and action, adverbs tell them what's happening, and even tend to go so far as to tell the reader how to think about it. (And as we all know, one of the jobs of the fiction writer is: show, don't tell.) And...
  2. Using adverbs in your fiction writing is kind of an announcement that you are a new, untrained writer. Publishers will likely set your work down, and send you a polite form letter telling you that your work is not what they are looking for at this time.

What is an adverb?

But let's step back a moment and talk about what adverbs are and how to spot them.

From yourdictionary.com: "The definition of an adverb is a part of speech that provides a greater description to a verb, adjective, another adverb, a phrase, a clause or a sentence."

Adverbs very often end in -ly.

Examples:

  • She walked purposefully.
  • The dog barked loudly.
  • The boy backed away shyly.
I was discussing adverbs in fiction writing with a colleague today, and found this great resource to share with her: English adverbs list. The total number listed at this writing is 3782.

I know what you're thinking. That's a lot of words to cut out of your language repertoire. But trust me, once you start practicing omitting adverbs, you will not miss them.

What are some ways to replace adverbs?


This is the most important part of this post. Adverbs aren't bad in some intrinsic way. The main issue is that there is typically a better way that is more descriptive, does a better job of involving the reader, and makes the writing more real, intimate and compelling. Readers are more likely to keep reading once they start.

Let's look at some ways to trade out adverbs.

Example one

Let's say there are two characters, Barbara and Nancy. Nancy is trying on wedding dresses and Barbara has come along to give her opinion.

You could writing it this way, using an adverb:

Barbara looked at Nancy, approvingly. "Yes, choose that one!"
Don't you think it seems kind of flat? It's because the author hasn't left anything to our imagination. We can just skate across the surface of this story without engaging our hearts and minds. We've been told Barbara approves, and that's that.

Let's try again, using action and richer dialog to convey approval:

Barbara watched Nancy step out of the dressing room once more. This time, her breath caught, and she brought her hand to her mouth. "Oh my! Yes, I like that one. You'll be a stunning bride."

Now, this may not be your writing style, so take the example itself with a grain of salt. The key point is that replacing a single heavily-descriptive word with action and dialog is going to help the reader move more deeply into the story.

Example two

In this example, let's try for a mood. Maybe we want to develop a really creepy scene that makes the reader's skin crawl.

You could sprinkle your writing liberally with adverbs in an attempt to create impact:

Hannah pushed open the door to the walk-in refrigerator. It creaked frighteningly. Inside, meat slabs hung grotesquely from hooks attached to the ceiling. Hideously, blood dripped from the carcasses.
Now, let's see if we can rely on imagery, sounds and action to tell the scene more effectively:
Hannah pushed open the door to the walk-in refrigerator. It creaked, too loud for this small space. What would she see inside? It was dark and oppressive. A strange odor wafted over her. She could not be sure she was alone. Just inside the door, she reached for the light switch and flicked it on. She was not prepared for what was there. Before her, meat slabs hung from ceiling hooks. Each of them was dripping with fresh blood.

Some take-aways

Hopefully, that gives you ideas. Let your dialog, action and sensory details tell your story without intrusion. What I mean by that is that when we use words like "eagerly," "pretentiously," or "sheepishly" to describe the behavior or thoughts of a character, we insert ourselves into the story. We are basically saying, "Don't think or get involved. I've written this for you, complete with summaries of emotions and physical features to guide you. Follow me! Stay close, now. I want to make sure you see this just how I intend."

As authors, we should not be present. The story is a place for the scenes and characters to come to life, and for the reader to immerse. We should provide the story, the sensory experience, and the invitation to step into a world we have created, then we should fade into the background.

Here are a few additional resources for you:



Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed this mini writing workshop.

The writing workshop collection


You can browse my collection of writing workshop posts in the links below.

Mini workshop series


Short posts on specific writing topics:

Mini workshops within 50-word prompt posts

Brief workshops, typically 3-5 paragraphs, at the top of 50-word short story challenge posts:

In-depth workshop posts

The original writing workshop series: Thank you, as always, for reading, following, upvoting, connecting, HODL'ing, resteeming, laughing, sharing, and being you.Note: The image is sourced from Pixabay.
Animated signature




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2019/05/20/mini-writing-workshop-what-is-the-trouble-with-adverbs-in-fiction/
Sort:  

I appreciate @jayna all the love and dedication that you let flow in your publications, is the first of your writing workshops that I read completely and now I wonder, what was I thought I did not before ?.

Your advice is simply great, they give me a different perspective on how I've been doing things, I think I tend to be the one who uses a lot of adverbs and this publication has made me understand that I should continue to improve my game.

I love the challenges, in the case of writing I consider that, a beautiful, that thanks to you it becomes more and more interesting ... greetings @jayna and have a beautiful day.

Thank you for your lovely message, @karupanocitizen. It makes me so happy when I hear my mini writing workshops are helpful to someone! Writing is such journey. I find that there is an endless opportunity to learn techniques, abandon old bad habits and develop a writing voice that is an extension of who we are.

Ever since I read about this in a Stephen King's book, I consider it one of the better advices in writing. The "don't say, show" is a very effective way to separate good writers from regular writers. Great post, thanks for sharing.

Yes, I agree, @christiancaicedo. You can really see the difference in the quality of writing. It is not to say that all adverbs are bad, or those who use them are necessarily bad writers, but it’s one of many great pieces of advice that can help writers elevate their writing and make it stand out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly, I know. It's about knowing to use them: not quite often.

P.S: it's @cristiancaicedo without the "h"

I learn some really good stuff here @jayna. Thanks for writing this and sharing!

Thank you, @roselifecoach! I’m so glad you find the workshops useful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's all from your effort of sharing @jayna!

I think sometimes substituting adverbs with more description is the more awkward thing to do. I wouldn't quit using them in a complete manner ;)

Yes, I think as long as they are used judiciously, and not as a crutch. The main reason for this guidance, I think, is to help writers become aware that use of adverbs tends to weaken writing. It’s lack of awareness that leads to over-use.

I will add a few reference articles to this post so people can read more, if they like. Thanks for for comment, @manoldonchev!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you jayna! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hey @jayna, I really appreciate these useful tidbits for writers! Thank you so much for coming up with these workshops ((:

The examples that you provided were very effective in driving home the main message. I am also trying to cut as much adverbs as I can from my writing - sometimes, doing so forces me to be less lazy and makes my mind work to see how I can show and not tell.

<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84