Positive Reflections: Being Clever Is A Gift, Being Kind Is A Choice

in #positivity7 years ago


Image Source

When I first entered primary school, I used to be teased by my classmates and schoolmates because of my name. My name is Charles Siaw and I was being taunted and called names such as Char Sior (meaning roasted pork in Hokkien) or Char Sior Png (roasted pork rice). I used to wonder why did my parents gave me the Charles, but I can’t really blame them because my surname Siaw actually means mad in the Hokkien dialect. These students who called me names thought that they are being clever or witty but in reality what they did was cruel.

A lot times, people make jokes by making fun of others or by putting others down, and when others laughed, they thought they are being clever or witty. They are not being considerate and do not care who bore the brunt of the joke. Being clever or witty is a gift, not everyone can spontaneously funny or can come out with a one liner at the split of a second. But if that gift is being used to put someone down or to taunt someone, then that gift is being wrongly used to hurt someone instead of being used to help others.

Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong being clever but you should not show how clever you are at the expense of others and by putting others down. As humans, we have a tendency to try to put ourselves above others because of our own insecurities and to inflate our ego.

Being kind on the other hand is a choice. It is not something that we are automatically born with but something that we learned or acquired. In our interactions with others, we can deliberately choose to treat others with respect and kindness. Small acts of kindness may not require much effort on your part but it can make a world of difference to the recipient. At the same time people who are kind are more happy and fulfilled because there is a sense of satisfaction from being kind. People may not be impressed by your cleverness but they will surely be impressed by your kindness. I can’t really remember who among my classmates are clever just as I can’t forget who among my classmates were kind to me.

Therefore choose to be kind instead of the need to show how clever you are. If you have the need to show how clever you are, then you need to work on being more confident about your self-worth and that is a new topic for another post.

So do you agree with me, let me have your thoughts on this. When you meet new people, what is it about them that impressed you the most?


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

My Trans-Mongolia Railway Pictorial Journey Part 3: From Intriguing Irkutsk To Magnificent Moscow
Color Challenge Sunday Purple: Acrobatic Show
Good Is Not Good Enough If You Can Be Better: 7 Steps Towards The Best Of You
My Trans-Mongolia Railway Pictorial Journey Part2: From The Wilderness Of Mongolia To Splendid Siberia
Let The Worst Moments Of My Life Bring Out The Best In Me

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

That depends what they have to impress. When i meet someone i like a firm hand shake and a look in my eyes, together with a friendly smile. Like it is a pleasure to meet each other. They can have loads to impress, but when they do look like not taking care of their self, my interest is less. I do notice that myself. Most of the times i only will really notice them when they ask me something, or say something that makes sence or i wonder about it. I think we should present our self like we would like others to present to us. When you shine out what you want to get , most of the times what you are looking for, even when that person did not impress you the first instance.

A firm handshake, good eye contact and a friendly smile is always a good start. Thanks for visiting and for taking time to craft a well thought out comment.

my pleasure thank you

I completely agree with you. Too often we laugh at other people's misfortune. Those who poke fun at others are applauded while those who are kind and caring are ridiculed.
Your article is extremely well written and I concur with everything you said.

At times it is harder to be kind than to be clever. Thank you for your kind comments. Following you.

Being kind IS a choice we make. If only more folks chose to be kind it would be such a better world. What a gift that would be as we sprinkle it on humanity. I would encourage others to share in the celebration of kindness . Wonderful article.

If we all join in to do small acts of kindness, the world will be a much better place. There is much happiness for those who do acts of kindness.

Yes I agree I love your positivity you know keep it small do good things and always be positive you know people will eventually enjoy your stuff if you're putting out good stuff a good content things like that I firmly agree with this I've been doing this for many years I always try to be positive and you're not everyday do you feel like being positive but then again you know him that's when somebody usually I can post something that will bring you up and help you to become positive but once again so that's a good way to look at things in my perspective anyway so you I hope you have a good day and we will be seeing you on the next post and be well.

Do keep on doing good deeds that you have been going. You are making this world a better place and you will receive much joy in return.

You've posted a lot of beautiful ones.
I liked your post.

Please upvote and comment in my post. And I will replay my comment.

I post daily. Thanks for your support.

You post have great message of positivity but I don't find any positive message from huge hump of food :P
Kindness a virtue. I think not everybody have it.

Kindness is something we can develop. But it is a choice whether we want to show our kindness. Thanks for your comments.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 8.59 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @positivesteem. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Making fun of people is not nice at all. I was on the receiving end of this as a child too at times, and it can be very damaging, causing children to be introverted and not want to mix.

It is sad that many people just don't see that they're not being kind. More kindness, caring and compassion in the world is most needed!

Thanks for your post! :)

Hi, it is good to connect with you again. Being bullied especially as a child has major effects. That is why we parents should teach kindness to our children as well.

I totally agree! :)
I guess those that did the bullying are not going to teach kindness to their children though, but there's always hope that they change their ways and learn to be compassionate as they get older.

I do hope so. Humans can change hopefully be better.

Hope and Intentions have power! :)

That is very true indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55