Pool Fun Day! Summer In Vienna! The Best Open-Air Public Pools And The Danube Island

in #poolfunday7 years ago (edited)

Vienna is well known for the most amazing public open-air outdoor pools. It's for sure a part of our culture to spend the hot summer days at the water, as much as we love to sit in our Coffeeshops for the doom and cold winter days, to read newspapers and sip on coffee with delicious cakes, sometimes for hours. 

Kaffeehaus Culture - The Viennese Coffee House , An Intangible Cultural Heritage 

How lucky am I, that my mother lives in a building with this stunning pool on top of the roof. We got sauna and solarium for the winter and this privat cooling off option, just a few stairs up, where I can experience magnificent European summer sunsets around 8pm. 

I am used to sunsets in Bali not later than 6pm, so it feels like days are much longer here. Deep Sunset in Bali with Soulful Techno. I launched on every corner of various beaches in Indonesia but let me share those awesome pool days with public places you can swim for your next visit. I might even invite you to splash with us:) 

Every Monday I meet some of my friends for a special afternoon get-together, enjoying those European extremly hot summer days from the top of my world.

My happy friends and visitors. I also invite my airbnb guests occasionally. 

We even do Yoga at the pool! 

"BeachWednesday" Versus "PoolFunday" and a new tag for Steemit

Yes! I just started a new tag for steemit for all "city kids" who don't live close to the beach.

Streetlife Versus Sacred Destinations, Churches As The Symbol Of Vienna's Freedom


Public open-air swimming pools

My mother took us children to many of those places and I have the best memories, enjoying summers in Vienna.

When the heat sits heavy on my city, those swimming pools are incredibly refreshing and attractive also for tourists and a change from their sightseeing tours. 

Vienna’s summer pools are open from the beginning of May to mid-September.

Badeschiff

Do you want to swim in the middle of the city centre? This boat in the Danube Canal with a pool on top is the right choice. The floating pool is 30 meters long and open until 8.00 pm.

 Image Source 

Danube Island/Donauinsel

The 21 kilometer-long Danube Island  is the most popular local recreation amongst us Viennese and offers lot of pleasure with free gravel beaches, sports facilities as well as bars and restaurants. 

Image Source 

Danube Island can be reached quickly from the city centre on subway U1.

Image and Text  Source 

The Danube Island was built as a highly sophisticated flood protection system stretching for 21 km. In 2002, it saved Vienna from being as drastically flooded as many other Austrian cities were. But most visitors know the Danube Island as a recreational mecca. There are countless opportunities for partying, relaxing and various sports activities. Here are some great reasons to visit the Danube Island.

Just Keep On Walking!

Schönbrunner Pool

Don't miss out to pack up your bathing suits to visit the imperial pool, which is open since 1900. Best to go right after or before your visit at the Schoenbrunn palace. 

 Image Source 

Old Danube - Gänsehäufel

On the banks you can find boat rental points and a restaurant with a terrace. 

 Image Source 

Gänsehäufel lido is one of the biggest in Europe with three natural beaches, a nudist section, a wellness area and numerous showers and large pools.  

 Image Source 

Pools with a view

The Doeblinger, Schafberg and Krapfenwald Pools offer a wonderful view of the city.

Krapfenwald - Image Source 

Neuwaldegger Pool

Its one of the most idyllic pools in the style of the 20s with many shady trees.

Image Source 

Therme Wien

The new Vienna thermal pool is the perfect for sun worshipers will enjoy a 25-meter lap pool, a natural brine pool and a 13m-wide spring water pool. 

Image Source 

Stadium Pool

The huge Prater area offers seven pools for all sorts of activities at 165,000 m2, it is one of the largest pool complexes in Europe.

Image Source 

I am off for splashing another day at MY Pool again 

Have a great day and summer in Wien 

  


Follow @mammasitta and her Vienna stories 

The Rise And Fall Of An Empire And Magical Places You Should Not Miss For Your Visit In Vienna

How Does It Feel Riding In A 700 PS Tesla at night in Vienna ?

Vienna By Night If You Like Clubs With Cool Danube And Strictly Underground Techno Vibes!

Alive, Not Dead Yet - Graves At The Central Cemetery Vienna Es Lebe Der Zentral Friedhof!

The Vienna Secession built by Joseph Olbrich 

- An Artist Movement! Spittelau Waste Incineration Plant in Vienna designed by Eco-Architect Friedensreich Hundertwasser

Fancy A Coffee And Kaiserschmarrn Around The Beauty Of Natural History Museum in Vienna (Part1)

A Valuable Collection Of Extinct And Threatened Species At The Natural History Museum in Vienna -Part2

What's Better Than A Juicy Wiener Schnitzel for A #LoveFriday

Focus On Good Energy And Follow Our Rhythmic Flow 

- My Jazzy Visit At The Konzerthaus Vienna

Classic Old Vienna Interior Concert in Vienna

 - Hack Into History Of Revolutions, Hack Into The Database And Greed. Mthfck The King. Martyr Loser King By Poet And Musician Saul Williams

and many more ......




Sort:  

Hahaha ! Exactly! I am off that computer beast now and out and about......Sorry to everybody if I reply late

You can reply any time... I know how time passes when you're at the pool

Love vienna, probably one of my favorite places in the world. I used to go to flex nightclub, crazy good! great post and photography :)

Ich sollte mal Bademode rausbringen :-)

Ja Bitte :) Da pass ich rein !!!

Na das denk ich doch. Was heißt das denn? :-)

Das ist nur sie in typisch Wiener Spruch. We always make fun of ourselves. I might look good in those 🙃

let´s see. i am creating a cup-design top. women´s shapes are always challenging :-D

(not done by me, by the way)

Kawooooommmm!
I'm D !! Friendly

Everyone is friendly here!

Wow! Just came from that pool trying to get used to swim like a dolphin 🐬 Like here in that steemit pool. I need to learn to stop being so generous with my power hehehe

I guess it´s your cup-size

I love pools! I am lucky enough to live in the tropics where every day is a pool day! 😎 🌴

Where do you live ? Bali is my 2nd home

I am from Vienna and I can confirm this post :)

I love your blog! Vienna is such a beautiful city, I miss it dearly. I went to a couple of those places! such a great time.

Nice pictures, I'm following you now.

Danke vielmals !!!

Beautiful panorama from the pool position. Vienna is so close, still, I have never visited it.

You better jump on a plane and come to visit. I have an airbnb room here. I even take Steem

Thanks. I am going to visit you when I collect more Steems. In 10 - 20 years.

Fantastic pictures..great travel post @mammasitta ..resteemed. greets from germany

I splash back to you weil es ist wirklich super damn hoooottt

Beautiful pool with wonderful blue sky and white clouds! The sunset at the pool is really amazing! Great island and worth for visiting!

🐬💃🐬

;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52