Kaffeehaus Culture - The Viennese Coffee House , An Intangible Cultural Heritage And The Secession, An Artist Movement!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I was visiting my hometown Vienna, the capital and largest city of Austria, 3 times this year and enjoyed every minute finding those fascinating, magnificent historical buildings, modern glass facades and its art nouveau, Jugendstil architectural gems

First I would like to show images of my favourite coffee houses where I enjoy my relaxing time for breakfast with fresh baked "Butter Semmel " and boiled " Ei im Glas ", it feels like meditation spending my mornings reading newspapers on a wooden stick or meet up friends to chat away with delicious cakes for some afternoons or light lunches.Second I present a few snaps from a very unique Jugendstil building called Wiener Secession.

                    


I prefer to travel light so I usually use my iPhone 5S with Muller Photo or Hipstamatic filters.

Cafe Ritter interior

Cafe Ritter exterior 

Cafe Westend interior 

I would not be a real Viennese without lounging in those charming coffee houses spread around town, drinking various types of coffee more than once per day. Its actually the first thing I do my first day after arrival. Looking for Coffee and Cake! Mokka is a small espresso and Melange is a specialty similar to a cappuccino, my favourite but the list on the menues is very long. 

                   

There is a variety of sweets such as the famous chocolate cake, Sacher Torte with Schlag ( whipped cream ) or delicious topfen & apfelstrudel, an appel-pie.           

Punch Krapfen! Topfen Strudel, Moor im Hemd ! .........Yumm! 

 

Story has it that when the Turks retreated from the gates of Vienna in  1683, they left behind sacks of coffee beans. A military officer by the  name of Kulczycki, who had spent time in captivity of the Turks,  informed the Austrians how to use the beans, and opened one of the first  coffee houses in Vienna.          
                           

I still remember the kind owners of Cafe Hawelka , this sweet couple would come to greet you at the door and since they already died, something is missing when you go to enjoy the traditional authentic ambience.

By the late 18th century, the  Kaffeehaus had become an integral part of the Viennese society, often  described as “the city’s public living rooms”. Not surprisingly, UNESCO  recently listed “the Viennese Coffee House Culture” as an “Intangible  Cultural Heritage”.

In some cafes you will be welcomed by classical music or even live jazz. 

Jazz & Gypsy Swing Zipflo Weinrich (Video Clip), Violin Virtuoso,  one of my artists I represent at Cafe Korb [email protected]


- 1683, the beginning of Viennese coffee house culture , an institution of Vienna that played an important part in shaping Viennese culture.

Even if Vienna was not the pioneer in coffee house culture, it has -  over the centuries - established a coffee house tradition like no other  city in the world. Coffee and coffee houses are at their best in Vienna! The first coffee houses already had several of the characteristics that  are still typical of a Viennese-style coffee house today. Waiters served  a glass of water with every cup of coffee and they were equipped with  card games and pool tables.
In 1720, the Kramersches Kaffeehaus coffee house  in Vienna’s city centre was the first to put out newspapers for its  guests to read. It was another big step in Vienna’s coffee house history  when warm meals and alcohol were first allowed to be served. However,  in 1808, Napoleon's Continental Blockade of England also had an effect  on Austria, where the price for coffee beans increased sharply. Coffee  house owners had to look for alternatives not to go bankrupt which led  to the development of café restaurants. 
Vienna Ballhaus

- The Vienna Secession was formed in 1897 by a group of Austrian artists who  had resigned from the Association of Austrian Artists, housed in the  Vienna Künstlerhaus. This movement included painters, sculptors, and  architects. Wikipedia

I shot these photos after dancing the night away, passing by around 2 am at freezing minus 5 with crystal clear cold air and a stunning gold shimmer one top. 

What a beautiful city with fascinating architecture wherever you go. I am proud to be Viennese.   

#steemitphotochallenge

At the forefront is the contribution to the  graphic arts made the by the Vienna Secession under the Klimt Group  (1898-1905) a group of Austrian artists which included Gustav Klimt,  Koloman Moser and Josef Hoffmann who broke away from the status quo and  created what has come to be known as ‘Secession-style’.

The images collected on this site reflect the Secession, Wiener  Werkstätte, and Jugendstil style of Graphic design found in Germany and  Austria. Attention is also given to the counterpart Art Nouveau movement  in France, Belgium, and Holland;  artists like Alphonse Mucha, Henry  Van de Velde, and Fernand Khnopff whose influence played an important  part in the development of German and Austrian graphic art. Our gallery  section features the work of prominent graphic artists from the period.

The Art story about Gustav Klimt and Egon Schiele’s Twisted Fates in Paint . 

Gustav Klimt is always abuzz in the pop culture world. Actress Dame Helen Mirren is starring in The Woman in Gold, a movie about Klimt’s painting of Adele Bloch-Bauer. 
Watch the trailer  
More about Vienna ....to be continued

- Spittelau and my fitting red suitcases. Read more about Spittelau waste incineration plant designed by eco-architect Friedensreich Hundertwasser 

- Subway Station  

I can't wait to be back to spend another winter to explore my town after nearly 40 years living my gypsy lifestyle abroad.

I hope you can visit Vienna one day to experience its beauty for yourself. 

Yours 

Mammasitta

http://www.mammasitta.com 

@lamammasitta on Instagram


Sort:  

Impressive interior! Those sweets look so delicious! Very nice and informative post!! ;)

So happy to see you read this article !! Thanks and nice to meet you

Such a Beautiful place ... I have never been there but Vienna means civility to me ...
A Dewi comes to Vienna soon ...
/bow
JTS

Coffee Houses are the most interesting places in different countries. Usually they are visited by special public. Thank you for ointeresting excursion, Mammasitta!

I am happy you like my story. I grew up with this culture and rediscovered my hometown again after living in SE Asia and USA for over 40 years. Cant wait to sip on more coffee coming September again. Nice to meet you!
Enjoy the film
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsC_pCjUhRbU0EHKhnJmX6A

aaah Vienna - A place I have longed to visit for its culture, cake and coffee! - thank you for sharing your 'town' I will look forward to seeing more. - now to sit with mint tea, steemit and camels...hahaha

hahaha , now I sit with camels, Balinese coffee and dreaming to go back for more Apfel Strudel I still cannot bake. I meet you in Vienna !

I will be there for a few months and I mean it . You got a place to stay :) I do airbnb there as well. Will freeze my bootie after 16 years Bali Tropical sun

Its a nice thought, would love to take you up on it, only work here in Egypt keeps me :( but we our next work placement is Asia..... hopefully next summer???airbnb -

Oh , so you live in Egypt ?

The architecture is impressive .I will keep those coffee shops in mind if I visit especially for the cake.

I have an airbnb room in Vienna and if you ever would like to visit just let me know :) I will be there for a few months September onwards

Thank you. I will definetly take your offer if I come.

I mean it :)

Great shots and greater architecture! You may consider posting one of the photos for the photo challenge here on steemit. I think the theme for this week is architecture.

Hey @norbu Glad you like my home town :) I thought this is a post for the steemitchallenge or should I post only one photo ? @pfunk @jamtaylor ???

I think you are allowed 3 entries. But you have the tag correct, I missed seeing that earlier! Best of luck!

haha Ja Danke vielmals !!!

Now I am craving a delicious coffe and am I am in love with historic architecture!!

Let me show you Vienna one day ! Really would like to meet you

I'm late to the party here, but great photos! I've visited Vienna in fall of 1980 and also just about 5 or 6 years ago. Great city :-) Great cafes!

never too late lady !!!! much appriciated and glad you know my home town . I re discovered it again after so many years away I start falling in love again

I'm going to vienna next month to visit a friend who's studying there. If you're planning on doing a Steemit meetup let me know ;)

OMG We have to meet up . I be there for a few weeks end of September onwards !
Add me on FB Silvie Iluh Cempaka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64074.25
ETH 3195.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62