The Rise And Fall Of An Empire And Magical Places You Should Not Miss For Your Visit In ViennasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Enjoy Vienna, once the center of the Habsburg monarchy, now serves as the capital of Austria. Do not forget to visit The Hofburg Imperial Palace And The Palmenhaus in Burggarten 1 for a Melange in the Brasserie. 

original photos taken with my iPhone5S


My next post will show many more photos and ambience of The Palmenhaus 


Last week I finally saw the sun waking up also in Vienna. What Joy! 



After a very long, too cold typical grey Austrian winter in the city, my first since many years in Europe, I finally felt the pure joy of spring awakening in my hometown and photographing Gaensebluemchen:) 



What a happy day ending up dancing Salsa to a turquoise blue sky! I got a call from one of my friends who just came back from New York, I haven't seen for ages who suggested to meet up in the centre at Burggarten to hang out at The Palmenhaus Cafe. OMG, Thats my Vienna I remember to love so much with Mozarts classical sound in my iPhone and in-front of my eyes.  

Mozart in his Glory 


Schmetterling Haus - The Imperial Butterfly House 

Right in the centre of Vienna, just 200m from the opera you will find a unique, tropical oasis, peaceful and relaxing, the Imperial Butterfly House. In one of the most beautiful Art Noveau palm houses in the world, you enter a fantastic environment of adventure and excitement, populated by one of nature‘s most gentle and colourful creatures, the butterfly. - Source 


You see me posting about Indonesia quite a bit because at minus 7  celsius madness, you need to help yourself a bit to get through the freeze, dreaming of the tropical islands I got used to in past years. ( Dreaming Of Nusa Penida, One Of The Most Breathtaking Islands Close To Bali In Indonesia) This kind of charming spring time makes me forget my tropical paradise for a while. 

Launching at The Burggarten  

   Glorious Vibes!    

  

Hofburg Wien 

backside 


Anyways, I am back in " Awww " about those first warm, joyful days when you see people finally come out of their cocoons, hanging out in the meadows of our fabulous city gardens, dancing salsa infront of the stunning Hofburg Imperial Palace. 

    

I took those photos one crystal clear winter eve walking around with @firepower Good times! 

The Library at the Hofburg by night


Inside this palace you find the museum all women should not miss to visit . Its the Sisi Museum where you learn about the life of an amazing, georgous and influential empress, Kaiser Franz Josef's wife. 


 Image Source 

The assassination of Empress Elisabeth of Austria

Since 2004 the Sisi Museum has been housed in the Stephan apartments, so named after Archduke Stephan Viktor. Here numerous personal items that once belonged to Elisabeth are used to help illustrate the true personality of the frequently misunderstood Empress. The sensitively designed exhibits, created by renowned set designer Prof. Rolf Langenfass, are inspired by the monarch's poetry and illustrate how the once light-hearted young girl, Sisi, became a restless, unapproachable and melancholic woman.

I used to watch all movies about Sisi played by my sweet actrice I adore so much Romy Schneider and her love Alan Delon 

Watch the full movie here : 



Élisabeth, Elisabetta, Isabel … on 84 pages the lavishly illustrated biography of Empress Elisabeth of Austria conveys an in-depth portrayal of one of the most fascinating and influential women in Austrian history. Basing the portrayal on the latest research, we approach the different facets of Sisi – a magnetic personality who still casts her spell over many people to this day. - Get the Book 

In Sisi's footsteps, the Imperial home and household

Image Source Romy Schneider in the movie 

For many centuries, the Vienna Hofburg was the centre of the Habsburg empire. Three museum attractions provide historically accurate insights into the tradition and daily life at court: the authentically-furnished Imperial Apartments, the tasteful Sisi Museum and the Silver Collection as a comprehensive collection of Imperial utilitarian objects. The Imperial Apartments, Sisi Museum and the Silver Collection are amongst Vienna's top sights, attracting around 600,000 visitors each year.- Source 

 Image Source 

The Austrian Monarchy - Das Kaisertum 

Austria was ruled by the Habsburg dynasty from 1278/1282 to 1918. Therefore, historical Austria is also known as the Habsburg Empire or the Habsburg Monarchy. The Habsburgs made Austria a great power in 1477, when they inherited much of what is now the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg. Soon afterwards they inherited many more lands by their marriage policies. During the 16th century, the Habsburgs ruled over large parts of Europe. Charles V reigned over perhaps a quarter of the European population (not to speak of his enormous American colonial empire). The centuries afterwards Austria remained a great power until World War I, when the nationalistic thoughts in Europe finally divided the old empire into many small states. - Source YouTube Video 
Maria Theresia and some of her 16!! children
  Image Source 
It's important to put in mind that Austria has always been a "part" of Germany until the 19th century. Indeed, the German Empire didn't exist until 1871, but the Germans (Austrians included) more or less realized they shared a similar language and culture, and the medieval Holy Roman Empire actually was for the most part a German state until it fell apart in the fatal 13th century. Source YouTube Video 
Kaiser Franz Josef & Elisabeth Image source 
 
Since 1452, the Habsburgs were (with one short exception) the emperors of the Holy Roman Empire, which was by now virtually a very loose confederation of states. However, the position of the Holy Roman Emperor gave the Habsburgs privileges and some sort of loyalty from the German princes, although some monarchs—most notably the Prussian kings—openly contested Habsburg primacy. The Austrians were finally abandoned outside the German Empire in 1871. - Source YouTube Video 


Sort:  

My favourite 3 European cities are: Krakow, Vienna, Paris ... a super article but just a wee bit too long for me - just a wee nick of feedback for ya ;)

In times of low payout we should not be short with our words 👻 I am happy you liked it . I wrote those kind of articles for my airbnb guests. In this way I don't have to explain everything a million of times and just forward a link.

I didn't know that low payout thing! OK, you inspired to write more ... maybe like one paragraph more! Ha ha! Steem on Mamma! So glad the post is doing well and Trending baby!

Since June I never made it to the trending page . I was actually shocked how is it possible that those flagging boyz missed out on me for a change hahaha whatever ! Yes I Steem on

A good woman can never be kept down indefinitely ;)

I just noticed we have almost identical SP 8090/91!! FREAKY!!!!!

I've still never been to Vienna but sooner or later......

I am so happy to explore my home again . I see my birth city with different eyes now , 40 years living abroad, so many things changed but I feel my Austrian blood still boiling :) Gypsygirl back home in full circles.

Well done Gypsygirl well done!

Not sure how long I can sit still but for now I enjoy

Well as you said, your mother needs you. Is she doing OK?

she is so so la la .....but we continue spending quality time together

@mammasitta Interesting story, good photo! I watched the movie about Sisi) Thank you for your work) so I'm going to travel the world with Steemit!

I adore those films about this fabolous sweet empress woman :) Thats why we post those articles that we all can travel together :)

Always fancied Vienna! Will keep in mind you have an airbnb room!

My humble but charming flat, I fixed up my 93 old aunties appartement and love the classic vintage feel of it and hey you will get a nice host as well :) You are more than welcome !

Oke mamma posting yang bagus... Nice posting mamma ! :)

Haha Terimakasi !!! Pak !!! I miss 🇮🇩!!! Meanwhile I keep the room free for your visit 🙀

Did you see the link and photo in my article ?

Yes... mamma.. I read your posting (in skimming mode) If I read it in "serious mode". It will make me dream about Vienna when I sleep... ha...ha.. ! I will read it in "good way later". I just read (skimming mode) my follower posting ( I try leave good comment first), if I found good posting I will read later in my free time. Like Indonesian idiom "Tembak dulu baru tanya !" (shoot first and ask later!). Upvoted first, read in skimming mode then read in serious mode for good posting . If I read good posting in serious mode, it will take a half or one hour (my English still "jelek")...ha..ha.. ! :)

Haha tidak apa apa ! All takes time but you are doing so well to be even here as such valuable member of our awesome community. Mengerti Mengerti !! I like this new quote In Indonesian I never heard before. I will teach myself to write Bahasa. I understand well enough for easy talking but you are always welcome to write in Bahasa for me. Saya suka belajar

sama-sama mamma ! :) (you are welcome !)

Beautiful post! Vienna is definitely on my list of places to see. After I publish these next two books I hope to travel around Europe for a while. Resteemed! Thanks for sharing this with us.

Oh , How sweet and kind of you to esteem my article. My heart and soul is in it and there is so much more I will share:) Thank you Eric! Did you see in the post that I rent also a room? You are very welcome to stay with me.

You're very welcome! I did see that you rented a room and I appreciate the invitation! My wife and I plan on doing lot of traveling in the next few years so there's a good chance we might take you up on the offer!

This would be amazing to host you:) @firepower was also here . Maybe you could add me on FB Messenger , Name : Silvie Iluh Cempaka Have a wonderful weekend

That would be a lot of fun to visit! Thanks again for the invitation. If we do find ourselves in your neck of the woods I'll definitely be in touch. It would likely be later this year or sometime in 2018. Thank you!

If not in Vienna then Bali :)

Sounds great! We want to see the whole world!

Excellent and beautiful post.., everything about it!

Means a lot to me that you like it and I am also stoked to hit the trending page for the first time. How did this happen Hahhaa

Thanks to Sisi I am in the trending page for
The first time! Yeah !!!

Hahahaha, the entire movie Sissi. Killed me; Saw it so many time! My mother always watched it and as child one cannot do a lot then just watch with her.

Hahaa me too ! I watched on repeat and love Romy since then 🌹

Romy was a very beautiful woman; That got me going :)

Second Sissi film; Original German/Austrian language with English subtitles:

She got me into trending page today ! Yeahhhh

Trending Page...GREAT!

Then also Sissi part 3 shall be part of it... By now everybody should master the Austrian/German language, therefore original without English subtitles...

@glitterfart is my today's hero beside my empress Elisabeth 🤗🙀

@edje I tried to watch those clips but they are blocked in my country. Strange

Really? Hmmm maybe The Netherlands IS more liberal then other countries such like Austria! :) I think it has to do with your countries rules, these are movies recorded from ORB or something, I think that is Austrians national/public TV broadcast company + it are Austrians productions so I guess the block this since they are allowed to do so by law (I presume) and they can more easily do it since the content falls under Austrian rules. But I saw quite a bit of other versions, many French speaking though, on YouTube. Just search for "Sissi 2" and "Sissi 3".

I found it all last night :) and watched it again 🙀

Thank you for posting @mammasitta.

A little of everthing here in this lovely post. What is not to love when it comes to Europe. Appreciate you bringing Steemit to Vienna with you. ^_^

All the best. Cheers

Yeah first I only wanted to introduce this cute brasserie located in the magical garden but I was drifting away with our really heavy history of being the rulers of the world those days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97