Spittelau Waste Incineration Plant in Vienna designed by Eco-Architect Friedensreich Hundertwasser

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Vienna , Austria , my hometown in Spittelau - May 15, 2016 

I took this photo with my iPhone 5S using an #hipstamatic application. It was a beautiful, sunny spring day but still cold at arrival at one of the subway system's centre point. I did not visit for 8 years and stunned how much this town changed for the better. 

I love my city ! It's always good to come back home.

You would be surprised to see the same picture in colours :) 

The building was finished in 1992. Its colourful façade, the golden ball on the chimney, roof greenery and planted trees have made the new Spittelau unmistakable and a Viennese landmark on a par with St Stephen’s cathedral and the Riesenrad Ferris wheel.

HUNDERTWASSER'S WORK OF ART 

The Spittelau plant was built between 1969 and 1971; in 1987 a fire destroyed major sections of the waste incineration plant. Instead of tearing down the plant, it was rebuilt on the same site.

WHO IS FRIEDENSREICH HUNDERTWASSER ?

The eccentric and playfully self-advertising Viennese artist known as Friedensreich Hundertwasser was born as Friedrich Stowasser on 15 December 1928. He did not assume his nom d'artiste until 1949 ("sto" meaning "one hundred" in Slavic languages and "Wasser" meaning "water"). 
Spittelau waste incineration plant is a popular photographic motif in Vienna,  whose façade was redesigned and given it's present colorful,irregular structures by Friedensreich Hundertwasser. Since 1989 , the former utility building has combined the topics of waste, energy and art in a fascinating way.  Did you know that Vienna was awarded with the prize "World City closest to sustainable Waste Management" in 2010 for its achievements in the area of sustainable waste management?


Yours 

Mammasitta 

Here is my Blog if you wish to follow my stories 

#steemitphotochallenge my #trip to #vienna #hometown #originalphoto #austria #blackwhite #hipstamatic #mammasitta #massivevibrations #photography

Thank you ! @jamtaylor

Sort:  

I found this on youtube its a cheap solution for waste incineration and environment friendly

I was in Vienna just 2 months ago and I used to pass by this everyday on the way to WU!

Oh so you know how beautiful it is in Colours :) you study at the economy university ? How did you like vienna ?

Vienna was great, I really miss the city and how chill it was in the summer. Lying down in the parks near Museumquartier was great :)

I was studying at WU for just one semester as an exchange student. Maybe I'll go back someday. :)

I am in Bali now where I live .but will be back there for a few weeks by automn again . I miss 4 seasons and for sure summer is amazing in WIEN ....nice to meet you . Where are you from ?

I fixed it :) Yeahh ....@pfunk thanks so much for your help

Nice @mammasitta
Shot you an Upvote :)

Keep up the great work @mammasitta
Upvoted

Keep up the great work @mammasitta
Upvoted

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.2 and reading ease of 65%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86