Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (6).jpg

You know those nights when you just can’t even think about making something complicated for dinner?

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (2).jpg

Maybe it’s been a really long day, or even week, and the thought of preparing anything that requires more than minimal effort is really unappealing. Usually in my house this is when the freezer gets opened by one of the boys and the frozen pizzas go into the oven….or worse, the microwave (oh the horror!)

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (3).jpg

You’d maybe think that this type of thing doesn’t happen in my house since I’m constantly sharing recipes. Well, you guys, it totally does sometimes. In fact, on a busy day when I’m working on specific recipes sometimes I just haven’t made anything dinner-worthy.

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner.jpg

For example, if I’m working on a cake recipe, then heading out to the gym, and/or grocery shopping, then working on emails and writing posts, I can sometimes get to the end of the day and realize there’s just no time for an elaborate meal. While there are some of my family members that are plenty happy with packaged and frozen foods, I personally prefer to at least have something green or fresh on my plate, you know?

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (4).jpg

So while, yes it isn't as instant as a pack of ramen, it's definitely a little more nutritious and the smell of these flavors filling your kitchen alone should be enough to make it worth it. Besides, the majority of time spent on this meal is hands-off so you can be working on another task while this cooks and then before you know it you'll have a wholesome, not to mention colorful, meal set and ready to go and barely any dishes to clean up. Now that's a win win in my book!

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (5).jpg

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour
Yield: 4 - 6 servings

Dinner is a snap with this mostly hands-free meal cooked on just one pan. It'll will have your house smelling amazing and save you lots of dishes.

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds fresh Alaskan cod, boneless skinless
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 pounds small (2-inch-diameter) purple potatoes, cut into quarters
1 pound green beans
1 medium lemon, thinly sliced
1/2 pound portobello mushrooms
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup chopped fresh sage leaves
2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme leaves
2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary leaves

Instructions

Preheat oven to 450°. Line a large rimmed baking sheet with foil or parchment paper. Place potatoes in a medium bowl, drizzle with 1 tablespoon of oil, and season with salt and pepper. Toss gently to coat then spread on baking sheet in an even layer. Place in oven to bake for about 20 minutes on their own.
Combine another tablespoon oil, green beans, lemon slices, and herbs in same bowl from potatoes; season with salt and pepper and toss to coat. After the potatoes have cooked about 20 minutes add mixture to sheet, mixing in with potatoes and return to oven for about 15 minutes longer.
After those 15 minutes, toss the fix and mushrooms in the same bowl, along with the last tablespoon of oil and place on the pan with the rest of the ingredients. Return pan to oven and roast until potatoes are beginning to brown around the edges, about 20 minutes. Remove pan from oven and let it cool for 5–10 minutes. Serve Hot.

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (7).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Tropical Breeze Carrot Juice Smoothie
  2. Toasted Peeps S’mores Skillet Brownie
  3. Chocolate Hazelnut Granola Orange Greek Yogurt Bowl
  4. Coconut Macaroon Nest Shortbread Cookie Tarts
  5. Coconut Vanilla Fluffy Bunny Ears Cupcakes
  6. 30-Minute Thai Basil Asian Steak Stir-Fry
  7. Nutella Tiramisu
  8. Hummus & Veggies Mediterranean Mezze Board
  9. Spring Bunny Tracks Confetti Blondies
  10. Mint Chocolate Chip Avocado Mousse Cups

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner (8).jpg

My Current Stats: 64,605 Steem Power | 13,915 Followers | 30,370 Posts | Reputation 74.859

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

phenomenal food photography, these are just amazing. I love those purple potatoes

these photos are just so beautiful, what an amazing display of art!

I think this combination of different vegetables is good to taste.

The sweetest in this dish, is my call to him

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Goood

Hhaha, I can totally relate to your frozen pizza and oven story at home. I think it is what happens at every home when you are either lazy to cook or there is nothing to cook.

One thing I must mention, your way of presenting thing is very good.

thanks so much for the kind words @suf1an

I am going to try this dish. As stated before the combination is wonderful.

it looks healthy food. I may try this one when i have time.

Sometimes when nothing to cook and you will just do what is there or just make a speedy salad - it is much healthier than cooking complicated food for a meal, LOL

I am thrilled you liked it @elizahfhaye, I hope you get to try it soon

I was soo hoping that it was veg :( Any substitute you can suggest to make full veg?

That really looks good! The lemon, fish and rosemary would go so well together. Those are interesting purple potatoes -- so short and round. I've grown Magic Molly purple potatoes. They, and the ones you are using, are nice because they are purple all the way through. It would be fun to make an "all purple" meal, with the purple potatoes, purple broccoli, purple beans, red cabbage that's really always purple, lol. There's a baking challenge! ; )

sounds like you just created your own inspiration for a purple post? Sounds like a fabulous idea to me

hmm this looks real yummy :)

Often I find that even when I am tired, I find energy and creativity as I start chopping ingredients. Touching and smelling food is important for our souls.

Cooking is a form of meditation I feel. It distracts the busy monkey mind through the different senses. First visual, then smell, then sound and then taste. There is also an element of satisfaction in preparing a succulent meal for yourself and others.

We are what we eat. It would be wise to invest time in fuelling our body with joy and healthy foods.

wow, that was deep - great commenting

haha thanks. Just out of curiosity what did I say that made it so deep?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85