"Pom-a-Melon" Slushies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (6).jpg

It's heating up around here.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (12).jpg

On the super sunny Summer days (say that 5x fast, lol) it’s nice to make simple recipes that don’t require much difficulty.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (7).jpg

These slushies have a bit of summer fruit, a bit of winter fruit, and some spring fresh mint so I guess they are kind of an all season drink. They will cool you down if it’s summer or they’ll make you think of summer heat when you make them during the winter.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (10).jpg

I took way too long trying to photograph these because all of the beautiful slush melted into a flat looking drinks. Just imagine them with mounds of slush on top for me because that’s what they originally looked like.

I made them with raw sugar and even used that to make pretty rims on the cups. I also used frozen watermelon to get them really slushy. It was mostly seedless but not quite so I still had a few seeds in these slushies but the kids didn’t mind just spitting them out.

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (9).jpg

I heard a rumor once that watermelon seeds are poisonous so I looked it up and found some people that actually recommend eating them because they are healthy. I’m not really sure about that but I promise that you won’t grow a watermelon in your belly if, like me, you fail to catch all of the seeds. My brother-in-law said that I should spike these and I thought I’d mention that you can if you want to I just don’t personally drink.

Anyway, I hope you're having a great weekend! Cheers!

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (3).jpg

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 10 minutes
Yield: 5 - 6

Ingredients

4 1/2 cups seeded watermelon cubes, frozen
1 cup pomegranate arils (about 1 large pomegranate)
1/2 cup sugar in the raw plus more for cups
2 cups cold water
handful of fresh mint leaves (optional)

Instructions

To make the sugared glasses, dip the rims of chosen glasses into warm water and then into a shallow bowl of raw sugar. Allow to dry for at least 30 minutes
Pour arils and water into a blender or food processor and blend for about a minute. Pour through a mesh strainer and press as much liquid out of seeds as possible then discard seeds.
Pour juice back into blender and add watermelon, sugar, and mint and blend until smooth but thick like a slushy. If you 'd like it thicker you can add some ice as well.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Watermelon, Pomegranate, & Mint Slushies (5).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Water melon is very good for skin and contain a lot of nutrients.

I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Dang, those drinks look legit. Thanks for the good work, and for making me really thirsty.

Beautiful work .. Damn I'm hungry really looks delicious
Creative recipe, well done
Thanks for sharing..

This is an amazing refreshment slushies for hot
summer i love how you present it easy and elegant, thanks for your delicious recipes
Have a wonderful weekend my dear❤️❤️

Beautiful work . I'm hungry really looks delicious
Creative recipe, well done
Thanks for sharing.. I will try it

Ummm. I was just looking for something refreshing and yummy like these slushies. Wonderful combination of pomegranate,watermelon and mint. What a match. Looks awesome. The sharp and bright red colour looks lively. It may sure have a great taste.🍻🍷🍹🍹🍹. Keep up.the good work.

@gringalicious
Hii.. I m shrikant i really like this post.. Awsome photoshoot... I m crazy about photography..
My body photograph below.. 📸 📷
Plzz visit my blog..
.
IMG_20180624_235305.jpg

Waterpark
samx photography

it is an interesting proposal this combination of fruits, I love the color, it causes to take it, it makes my mouth water when I see it, I have to go to prepare one vil2_orangeade.gif thank you excellent photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53