Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey again! Sorry for being a little quiet over the weekend. After the Dlive meet-up last week, I've been having such a great time and been on-the-go so much that I thought it would be nice to take it in while I could and share later.

BeFunky-collage0 (7).png

DSC_9391.jpg

DSC_9375.jpg

DSC_9364.jpg

On Saturday we went to The Met (aka: The Metropolitan Museum of Art ). Wow, it was incredible and I could say so many things about it, but mostly it was just beyond words. Before going there we stopped to get some food at Grand Central Station again and I got this really good Greek salad.

DSC_9385.jpg

DSC_9396.jpg

BeFunky-collage0 (6).png

DSC_9421.jpg

You could spend so much time at this museum. I honestly only spent a fraction of my time in there reading the information plaques in front of each exhibit. If I'd tried to read them all I imagine it could take me a whole week or something. In fact, we were late getting out for the day so it closed before we were even able to see the upper floor.

BeFunky-collage0 (1).png

DSC_9529.jpg

DSC_9531.jpg

BeFunky-collage0 (2).png

I felt like we saw some of the biggest highlights though. The Egyptian artifacts were so interesting and fun to look at. As were the European displays. I couldn't even begin to show you a picture of everything so this is just a small glimpse.

BeFunky-collage0 (5).png

DSC_9565.jpg

BeFunky-collage0 (10).png

DSC_9556.jpg

It's so incredible to me to see these statues and treasures that have survived the test of time. Many of them have sweet and interesting stories to tell, however many others have a bit of a darker story. For example, one of the sculptures I read about was sculpted to portray the torturous death of being flayed alive and another was to tell the story of a man forced to choose between starvation and cannibalism. Historic or not, that's a bit darker than I'd like.

DSC_9551.jpg

BeFunky-collage0 (8).png

DSC_9451.jpg

BeFunky-collage0 (13).png

DSC_9456.jpg

@trumpit and I really enjoyed the armory and swords. I can't get over how amazing it is to see these in real life.

DSC_9454.jpg

DSC_9473.jpg

DSC_9477.jpg

DSC_9493.jpg

I guess I'll have to visit there quite a few more times to explore everything. Oh well, I guess I'll just HAVE to come back to New York to do that. I think I can make the sacrifice in the future. haha ;)

DSC_9495.jpg

DSC_9574.jpg

DSC_9584.jpg

For dinner we ended up eating at The Cheesecake Factory yet again because, for one, it's a favorite, and two, it's literally across from our hotel. It was delicious!
Tomorrow I'll share the rest of my weekend photos and maybe the rest of the photos from today. Stay tuned.

BeFunky-collage0 (3).png

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!

    CANADA

  3. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  4. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  5. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  6. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  8. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

White Poster.00_00_04_08.Still002.jpg

DSC_9576.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Greetings, sweet and beautiful Gringaliceous

Nice posting. I live in Brazil. I still don't have the financial conditions to make an international trip. But I work to improve and grow every day in this part. I hope I can get around 1 to 2 years to make my first trip.

While I can not, I am glad to see the posting of you who like to put photos and explanations of travel and places you know.

I found it very interesting this post about the Metropolitan Museum of Art. A beautiful structure, all beautifully done and assembled to be a perfect tourist spot. It really made Me want to meet him. When I go there, it'll be one of the first places I'll see. I hope I can do this until 2020.

Thank you for posting and Good morning!!!!!

Thanks @julisavio! I hope you can be able to travel in the future. Steem on friend!

You’re in my City !! Wish we could have had a meetup here with some steemians . Would have loved to give a tour of NYC .

Madam tusade is a nice museum as well on 42 and 8th

That's awesome that we are so close. Thanks for the thought, @journeyoflife. I'd have loved a tour of your city!

I love the photos! The one of you in front of the horses is my favorite and your last photo, the night shot of the front of the met, it's awesome!

Thank you so much @noboxes!

I get to go to the MET all the time... but somehow your awesome photographs look much more rich and exciting than my actual experience there. I love seeing it anew through your lens! Fantastic!

It was so awesome having time to meet with you. Being seeing you in the fall for sure

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

what a great, amazing photography, hope someday i'll be able to come there to see all these beautiful things. thank you for sharing with us.

I'm so glad you like it @yassinof!

It is. It's crazy busy and strangely beautiful at the same time. Thanks @bornprince.

@gringalicious

you are always having great posting for the steemit. i hope you get more success like other users are getting here.I like your traveling posts a lot we get more information in pictures :)

Wow!!!Surprised some of the pictures ... What is a beautiful picture!!!Seeing the pictures taken by you, I have a desire to travel to this museum.....thanks for sharing with us...... @gringalicious

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85