Peppermint Chocolate Muddy Buddies Snacks - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_9107.jpg

Hey friends! I just arrived in L.A. and am excited to get out and explore! I'm sure I'll have much to share soon but for now I thought I'd just give you a little recipe.

DSC_8974.jpg

So I’ve made a few versions of this stuff (btw, what do you call it? I’ve heard it “puppy chow”, “muddy buddies”, and “crack mix”) I’m thinking since the original stuff that you can buy is called muddy buddies, that might be the most common, but I also like to call it puppy chow too. Whatever you call it this stuff is addictive.

DSC_9059.jpg

Wow this is so easy and fast. Like, this would be the perfect last-minute treat if you find out you’re having company and don’t have time to make up something more complicated. The ingredients are pretty basic as well and they’re actually an accidentally gluten free treat also.

DSC_9113.jpg

Peppermint Chocolate Muddy Buddies Snacks


Prep Time: 1 hour
Total Time: 1 hour
Yield: 12 - 16 servings

Salty, sweet, fast, easy, addictive. This recipe for minty chocolatey coated cereal is a major crowd pleaser!

Ingredients

9 cups rice, wheat, or corn Chex cereal *see note
1 cup (180g) non-dairy white chocolate
1/3 cup coconut oil (or a non-dairy butter)
1 teaspoon peppermint extract
1 teapoon vanilla
a few drops of natural green and blue food coloring
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar for coating
2/3 cup (about 120g) semi-sweet dark chocolate (non-dairy)
2 teaspoons coconut oil

Instructions

Melt oil (or butter) and white chocolate in a medium sauce pan slowly over low heat. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla, peppermint, food coloring, and salt. Pour cereal into a large bowl and pour mixture over it. Use a large rubber spatula to carefully mix and coat all of the cereal pieces.
For the powdered sugar coating you can either use ziplock freezer bags and shake with powdered sugar until coated or just pour it on top and toss gently until coated.
After cereal is coated with powdered sugar, spread it out on a baking sheet lined with parchment or wax paper and melt the dark chocolate and coconut oil in a double boiler over medium heat until smooth. Drizzle it over the coated cereal pieces then allow it all to dry for at least 1 hour.
Store in an airtight container at room temp.

Notes

If you cannot find Chex cereal this recipe can be made with Quaker oatmeal squares cereal instead or you can even try popcorn. Also, obviously don't use wheat chex if gluten free.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Chocolate Sesame Seed Smoothie
  2. Thai Basil Curry & Coconut Rice
  3. Healthy 6-Ingredient Oatmeal PB Banana Cookies
  4. Warm & Cozy Autumn Soup
  5. Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Layered Mexican Taco Bowls + “Bacon” Bits
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

DSC_9088.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

This should be flagged how good it looks! You cannot do this to us haha JK

I'm going to show this to my sister who is passionate about cooking. She always does it her way and I'm trying to bring her on STEEM so I hope this will motivate her a bit...

Have a great and yummy day :D

Anything peppermint always makes me think of Christmas. The recipe looks good. I hadn’t heard of Chex in years, I used to get that cereal sometimes when I was a kid.

It sure is an added bonus when something is accidentally gluten free.

As to what to call it, I can see why crack mix is an apt name as it is so addictive as you said.

That's true Peppermint and chocolate is always part of the Christmas

As always, a true masterpiece of yours.
:-)

Mmm, looks like a pretty great snack for a steembird :)

I always love anything chocolate... and peppermint goes quite well with it too! Those photos made me want something sweet now! Thanks for sharing with us @gringalicious!

Are you kidding me! Chex cereal! I forgot that stuff even existed. That's what happens when you spend 90% + of the last 16 years outside of the country.

That used to be one of my favorites....then you kix! They still have that?

Love what you did with the chex I'm sure it tastes as good as it looks.

Enjoy Cali! -Dan

amazing photography, as always

Oh my! I so love the color Toriiiiiii. I love the minty blue/ green and it looks so delicious! I really didn't know what Chex cereal is but i just did look it up :D hahaha seems like a classic one. Perfect for trick or treat for sure! :D

Wonderful taste it must have for sure beautiful it looks thanks for sharing dear :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61040.35
ETH 2922.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31