Layered Mexican Taco Bowls + “Bacon” Bits - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with Vegan Bacon Bits..jpg

Hey guys, how's it going? I'm getting so excited about the upcoming travels I have planned. First I'll be in L.A. and then later I'll be off to Poland for Steemfest 3! Tell me, do you have travel plans and are you going to Steemfest?

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with Vegan Bacon Bits!.gif

So about these bowls. They’re loaded with good-for-you things like beans and veggies, but it’s all super easy to throw together so don’t worry. I quickly sautéed some bell peppers with garlic and lime for our tacos last week and they add such a huge flavor statement that I knew I had to repeat it for these bowls because everyone was flipping over them.

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with Vegan Bacon Bits (3).jpg

Me and bowl-style food are having a moment right now. In case you haven’t noticed, bowls of every kind have been getting more and more popular across the food blogosphere and it’s easy to get why. Who doesn’t love a colorful and personalized pile of goodness in one dish? I think you need to add these bowls to your list of things to make this season, are you guys in or what? Bowl food for the win!!!

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with Vegan Bacon Bits (2).jpg

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with “Bacon” Bits


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Ingredients

"Bacon Bits":
2/3 cup (fresh) shredded coconut
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons liquid smoke
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
Rice:
4 cups steamed brown rice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 1/2 cups water
1 teaspoon oregano
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
Lime Grilled Peppers:
3 limes (juice and zest)
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small onion, diced
1 large or two small each: red, green, and yellow bell peppers, seeded and diced
salt and pepper to taste
Black Beans/Corn:
2 cups black beans
2 cups whole kernal corn off the cob
salt and pepper to taste
Optional Toppings
about 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves
1 cup your favorite salsa, (homemade is the best)
avocado slices or guacamole
tortilla chips
coconut cream mixed with 1 teaspoon lime juice for "sour cream"
extra limes for squeezing over top

Instructions

"Bacon Bits":
Toast the coconut with 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat, stirring constantly, until edges are starting to turn golden brown. Reduce heat to low and add remaining ingredients for the "bacon" and stir for another few minutes until the liquid has mostly evaporated. Remove from heat and pour into a seperate dish so you can use the pan again.
Rice:
Combine onion, garlic, and olive oil in the same large skillet from the "bacon" and saute over medium high heat for 3 to 4 minutes until soft and browned. Stir in remaining ingredients, reduce heat to low, and cover. Simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes until liquid is absorbed and rice is hot. Cover to keep warm until serving.
Lime Grilled Peppers:
While the rice simmers, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a small skillet and add lime juice, zest, garlic, onions, and peppers. Cook for 6 to 7 minutes until peppers are softened. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Pour them into a separate dish and cover to keep warm.
The Rest:
Add black beans and corn to the pepper pan and stir over heat for about 3 minutes to warm then season with salt and pepper and remove from heat.
Layer your bowls with desired amounts of the hot rice, black beans/corn, peppers, "bacon", and any of your desired toppings!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Chocolate Sesame Seed Smoothie
  2. Thai Basil Curry & Coconut Rice
  3. Healthy 6-Ingredient Oatmeal PB Banana Cookies
  4. Warm & Cozy Autumn Soup
  5. Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  2. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  3. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  4. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  5. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

Layered Fiesta Taco Bowls with Vegan Bacon Bits (6).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Starting on my diet and I nearly ate my phone after looking at those pictures of the delicious Mexican bowl.. I love Mexican food 🍲

Aww, what kind of diet doesn't allow for such healthy Mexican food? Maybe you should try a different diet my friend.

Vegetarian taco bowl? Still looks delicious

I'm so glad you think so!

amazing photography as always. I'll be traveling to Southern California also

So looking forward to that.

Looks delicious love the pictures as well very nice shots!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's my pleasure to share!

I just can say .... I MUST HAVE IT :))

So glad you like it! Thanks!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Unfortunately I am not going to travel soon as I have just returned from Mauritius, which was wonderful!! These one bowl dishes looks fantastic, and the best is you save on dish washing!!

I totally agree! Thanks for stopping by!

i am carving for it hahah feels so yummy from the post :D

look fanstaty nad so tasty

Awesome, sadly I wont get to Steemfest this time...
Everything looks so fine and deliciousssssss

Oh, that'd unfortunate but there's always the next year. ;)

yea, or i will find some meetup here near me too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59