Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-1.jpg

There are nights when you crave a cozy soup……and then there are times when you just need a burger!

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-1-2.jpg

I’ve really been into simplifying things recently. I mean, life is complicated enough without adding to it, you know? These veggie burgers definitely fit the bill because they’re about as basic as it gets. They’re great for making ahead for the week as well.

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-2.jpg

I remember the first time I heard of a veggie burger as a kid and the first thing I thought of was a regular burger piled with vegetables. When I found out that you could make burgers out of things like squash, beans, and other vegetables I was super intrigued but I always thought it must be really complicated to do. It wasn’t until I started cooking all the time that I tried making my own veggies burgers and discovered how simple they are.

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-4.jpg

Of course, not only are they simple, but they’re so delish! I love how versatile they are too. You can eat them the typical way, on a bun with condiments, or you can get creative. I’ve eaten these burgers chopped up on salads, sliced and put in a wrap, cut into pieces for a “Buddha” bowl, and even just eaten them like a snack.

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-6.jpg

It seems like with the sweet potato being the star player here, these burgers would be overly sweet for a savory meal. Well, you might be surprised how subtle the sweetness becomes once you’ve added all the other ingredients into the mix. I even found that these could handle any sweet condiments that you might like with your burger like ketchup or bbq.

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-5.jpg

I served these pretty plain-jane with just the most basic condiments because I like them that way. However, I always encourage you to make them your own and go crazy with the add-ons. Anyway, I’d love to know what you think of these if you get the chance to try them and be sure to tell me how you served them.

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-7.jpg

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-9.jpg

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 35 minutes
Total Time: 55 minutes
Yield: 6 burgers

Craving a delicious burger stacked tall with all the good stuff? Try this very basic and easy recipe that uses minimal ingredients.

Ingredients

Burgers:
2 cups cooked sweet potato, peeled and cubed
1 (15 ounce) can (about 1/2 cups) cooked white beans (other beans work as well such as butter beans or garbanzos)
3 cloves garlic
1/2 cup oat flour
1/4 cup flaxseed meal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons turmeric
Optional Toppings:
large lettuce or kale leaves, washed and dried
onion, thinly sliced
tomato, thinly sliced
6 of your favorite hamburger buns.(gf if needed)
condiments such as bbq sauce or ketchup

Instructions

Burgers:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) then line a baking tray with foil and spray lightly with olive oil or, what I recommend, line with a silicone baking pads.. Combine sweet potato, beans, and garlic in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Add seasoning then pulse until nearly smooth. Scrape into a large bowl and add the oat flour and flax then mix well. Use a runner spatula to form mixture into 6 patties and place on prepared tray.
Bake in oven for about 18 - 20 minutes on each side (flip after first 20 minutes) then remove from oven and allow them to cool for about 10 minutes to set up or they will fall apart.
Toast buns if desired and assemble burgers by placing patties on buns and topping with any other toppings you like

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Harvest Time Apple & Pumpkin Chili
  2. Maple Leaf Cream Filled Sandwich Cookies
  3. Oaty Pumpkin Pancakes + Maple Nut Butter Spread - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  4. A Whole Double Chocolate Cookie Just For You! (but healthy-ish ;) )
  5. Healthy Maple Peanut Butter Pumpkin Snack Doughnuts

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  2. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  3. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  4. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  5. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

Simple Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers-10.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Its indeed a mouthwatering burger!

So glad you like it.

yeah! more healthy snacks :)

really nice!
Mc Donalds go home!!!!
:-) Upvote kommt

I love burger toooooooooo much

I completely know what you mean!

Now that’s a burger I could get used to binging on and not feel too bad about it! Gosh the pictures are stunning too

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're too kind my friend!

looks so amazing 😍 i have to try making this asap

I hope you enjoy it!

You got a 7.21% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Cool. I did a post about potatoes today as well; except mine wasn't about potatoes. Great minds think alike!

Haha, I made a comment like this once; except I've never done that. ;p

So tasty, my dear @gringalicious, Will you be on Steem Fest? I really want to see Queen Steemit on cooking;)

I will be there for sure! Can't wait to meet everyone! ;)

I love sweet potato! You are so creative @gringalicious! I use sweet potato as a substitute esp when I am dieting.

It really does have so many benefits!

Some tiene algo I don't read a post from you and todat I find this hamburguesas which look like divine!!

I'm so glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55