Green Goddess Tahini Pesto Bowls - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-2..jpg

The weather is finally starting to feel a hint like Autumn here.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-1..jpg

And when I say “a hint” that’s probably just me using wishful thinking. It’s also probably a bit influenced by the current situation outside. The smoke level from all the nearby wildfires has reached a new high and the sun’s warmth is having to fight through it all. Yeah, it’s not too inviting to go outside right now but it’s definitely making me thankful for all the time that we do have clean air to breathe.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-3..jpg

Anyway, I think all of this smoky sadness has had me feeling sort of dirty or something. I’ve been craving fresh and healthy foods to somehow fight off this feeling. That’s why I thought a super green bowl of goodness would be fitting.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-7..jpg

Now this might be a bit too green for some, but I personally love all the greens I can get. Oh, and do you love pesto like I do? The dressing to go on this bowl is so quick and easy but tastes incredible. It’s definitely what makes this whole thing.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-4..jpg

As for how you serve this meal, well you can do it hot, room temp, or even cold if that’s your thing. I usually tend to like it hot but on some of the days this Summer when it’s been up in the three digit temperatures I would have happily eaten this cold.

Anyway, there are tremendous health benefits from getting a variety of green foods in your life (and, no, popsicles and candy don’t count lol). Hey, I don’t make the rules, I just like to share yummy foods that love you back.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-8..jpg

Also, of you’re wondering what type of pasta I’ve used, it’s actually made from balck beans. I bought it at Trader Joe’s but there are many other stores with similar types. If you would prefer to use another type of pasta, that’s great too. You could also replace it with rice, or any grain for that matter.

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto


Ingredients

Tahini Pesto Sauce:


3 cups fresh kale, stems removed
1 small onion, peeled and quartered
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup packed fresh basil
1 1/2 tablspoons lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons pine nuts (or walnuts)
2 1/2 tablespoons tahini
1 tablespoon coconut sugar
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
sea salt and pepper to taste
Bowls:
8 oz black bean rotini (or any pasta you'd like)
2 1/2 cups brussels sprouts, stems trimmed
2 1/2 cups broccoli florets
2 medium zucchini, spiralized or julienned
1 1/2 cups shelled edamame beans
6 cups fresh baby spinach
1-2 ripe avocados

Instructions

Pesto:


Combine the kale, onion, and garlic in a food processor or blender and pulse until finely chopped. Add in the remaining ingredients and blend until it becomes a thick sauce. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator for up to a week
Bowls:
Place the brussels sprouts and broccoli in a medium pot or pan with lid and add about 1/2 inch of water. Place over medium high heat and steam for about 15 minutes or until tender crisp.
Cook the pasta according to package instructions, drain and rinse.
Layer bowls starting with spinach then desired amount of veggies, pasta, and dressing. If you'd like to serve this hot, you can lightly warm each component in separate dishes or simply combine it all and warm in one pan (that's what I usually do.)

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. 2nd Steemiversary for Gringalicious! and Chocolate Cake!
  2. Dragon Fruit Smoothie Bowl
  3. 3-Ingredient Raw Date Caramel Sauce
  4. Chocoalte Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies (V+GF)
  5. Indian Chana Masala Curry

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  2. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  3. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  4. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  5. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Green Goddess Nourish Bowls + Tahini Pesto-5..jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wow green goodness! Nice dish :)

Sounds tasty :-) @gringalicious

Looks awesome this recipe

Regards and enjoy it with your Family

Seems easy enough to prepare😊 Will have it hot except the avocado.

@immarojas 😀Great to hear from you. Hope you enjoy it.

Yeah, salads i can handle😊 Be well!

@immarojas 😀 Thank you so much my friend. Hope to see you soon.

Hopefully soon but do enjoy Krakow!

The picture is excellent,my friends go ahead.

I'll be getting something new gifts from you in the future

Actually I am Totally New in Steemit So can help me.

Actually i am also a photographer

Visit My Blog #Upvote & #Follow me

posts posts are always well presented and food is very tempting to eat right away..!!

Looks like a great way to start the day @gringalicious!

Outstanding recipe and post @gringalicious. One of these times I'm on the west coast, we need to meet up for coffee and talk nerdy D750 talk. Regarding the air quality and smoke, take a look at http://molekule.com We have one because we live across from an asphalt and shingle factory. It really does work for a couple of rooms. It's one of the few air purifiers that I don't think are jokes.

@kommienezuspadt I'd love to talk photography 😀. And thanks for the recommendation for the air purifiers. We might need them before Summer is over for sure. 👍

Wowzerz! 😍 this green bowl of greatness is pretty much my dream meal 🤤 I have been away from home for sometime and now just catching up on all of my vegan treats and comforts!

Like this breakfast smoothie:)

523184DB-5135-485D-A3E0-7C7918262A6E.jpeg

Hehe ;) it doesn’t look quite as impressive as your green super bowl, but, with banana, oats, raw cacao powder, cacao nibs, peanut butter and almond milk it sure is delicious and amazing and full of energy 😀

Enjoy and have a great day! 🌍🏝🍉

@sunsethunter Omg, yum! Thanks for sharing such a yummy idea! 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62