Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-4.jpg

Happy Fri-YAY! Wow, I know I say this all the time, but this week just flew by. Yesterday was a pretty crazy weather day where I live. We had some sporadic thunderstorms and really heavy rains off and on. As crazy as it might sound to you if you’re not a fan, I literally LOVE storms. I grew up where we had so many Summer thunderstorms and I know they’re terrifying to a lot of people and I understand completely. It’s just, when I was a kid my family were the weirdos that would congregate on the patio just to watch the lightning and try to spy a tornado.

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-1.jpg

The area I live in now very rarely has any storms, except maybe in the Winter in the form of blizzard type conditions. That’s why, when we do get storms it makes me really excited. I know, I’m a freak. ;P. The storms are almost always around the time when the weather can’t make up it’s mind and the temperatures keep changing. That’s what’s been happening recently. This week has been mostly very warm and sunny, which brings me to this recipe.

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-2.jpg

Am I the only one who gets so turned off by hot food during the Summer? I mean, not always but most of the time I just crave things that are cold and refreshing life fruit and veg. These rice rolls are definitely a perfect fit for this scenario because they don’t require any heating or cooking. Also, in my opinion they’re every bit as satisfying as they’re deep fried cousins. In fact, I like them more.

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-3.jpg

Basically, it’s like a way more fun way to eat a salad and I’m so down with that. The sauce I made to go with them takes all of about 3 minutes to stir together, and the rolls themselves are probably way easier than you’d expect.

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-6.jpg

As for the veggies I chose to put inside, these were just some of the things I had on hand. You could also add in things like cucumbers, mushrooms, red cabbage, or any other veggie you enjoy.

The same goes for the tempeh. Recently I’ve been on this tempeh kick because I had never tried it until a few weeks ago. If you prefer using tofu or maybe leaving it out and simply adding more veggies, that’s great. Go for it.

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-5.jpg

These rolls make a great snack, side, or party appetizer and when I make them at home I sometimes just eat a big plate of them for lunch. So good!

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls


Prep Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 12 rolls

Celebrate the seasonal produce by ditching your salad and making these fresh rice paper rolls with a creamy tahini dipping sauce.

Ingredients

Rice Paper Rolls:


12 Thai rice paper spring roll wrappers
1 small red bell pepper, julienned
1 medium carrot, julienned
1/6 large head cabbage, thinly chopped (or coleslaw)
1 cup broccoli slaw (or more coleslaw)
1 small bunch fresh cilantro leaves, roughly chopped
1 (8 ounce) package of tempeh

Tahini Sauce:


1/4 cup cold water
1/4 cup sweet chili sauce (I used Trader Joe's) or similar sauce
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1 tablespoon chili garlic paste
1/4 cup tamari
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1/4 cup miso paste
1/4 cup tahini (sesame seed paste)

Instructions

Cut up the veggies and slice the tempeh, first down the center, then cut into think strips. Fill a pie tin (or wide, shallow bowl) with cool water and dip one rice paper at a time for a few seconds then lay on a cutting board or clean work surface and add a few pieces of bell pepper, carrot, cabbage, broccoli slaw, and cilantro. Fold in the sides and gently roll the rice paper up around the veggies and gather them as tightly as you can to make secure rolls.
Serve with the tahini dipping sauce or any sauce you'd like.

Tahini Sauce:


Whisk together the ingredients for the sauce in a medium bowl until smooth.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Fresh Veggie Tempeh Rice Paper Rolls-7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Your posts are always a joy for the eyes and for the palate!

The combination of ingredients specially vegetables sounds cool.

Beautiful .. looks delicious
Well done .. a wonderful recipe from you
Thanks for sharing..

It must take a freak to know a freak! I love storms too! I wish it was storming right now, unfortunately its all sun here in ca.... Jelly!

@goldmatters Haha, well I'm so glad you like storms too! 😀

This looks amazing! Thanks for posting i will def. be trying this out. :0)

rich in fiber and leads to be very delicious!!!

@gringalicious you most welcome, i visited you profile and i found lots of interesting photos and i liked it so much, you are a good photographer. can you explain me about your experiences please?

@doctordev I'm definitely planning some helpful content in the future. Thanks!

you most welcome and respect for your great job, and i have always wait for your new content, lots of blessing to you.

Yummy , its ... I m in love with this..

mmMm You always make to most yummish things EVER!
😋💛

It's delicious. I feel
hungry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83