My Tiny Garden - Phalaenopsis Elegant Debora

in #photography6 years ago

What a lovely name it has... Elegant Debora.
And I thought I almost lost it. All because the environment they are used to in nurseries (or more like orchid mass production factories) and not exactly the same as we have in homes.

Phalenopsis dark 3.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/15, 6mm, ISO200)

Imagine the poor plant being pushed to grow fast and bloom fast with special light, temperature and feed. Then they are packed and spend days and days in transport, dark boxes, often in very cold temperatures, or very hot, depends on the season.

Then they up in a shop where most likely no one will take care of them. Some get sold to new homes, some slowly die there.

Phalaenopsis Deborah.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/13, 6mm, ISO200)

So when I got this one I was thrilled! Just look at it! I took those photos almost right after that. Such gorgeous deep colour with delicate edges and so many blooms and even more to come.

Forget about it! Phalaenopsis are sensitive to changes and yes, if they get too much stress they will lose the flowers. And so I was watching the lowers drop one by one. Not a single bud opened and they also dropped :( It was terrible and for a very very long time she did nothing. Just sitting there.

phalenopsis dark bud.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/20, 6mm, ISO200)

The next season when my other orchids were blooming away this one looked exactly the same as a year before. No blooms for me. This summer she started to grow. Leaf by leaf... slowly...
I am hoping for some blooms this spring. But we will see. She is recovering. She will be bloom again... eventually.

Phalenopsis dark multi.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/13, 6mm, ISO200)

So if you have an orchid that dropped all the flowers after you took it home - give her some time. She just need to adjust to new place.


My other Orchids:


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

So pretty! 😊 And it is good to know how they might bounce-back after stress!

Most of the time they do. Unless you really wanna kill them ;)

those are beautiful orchids... love the name too... up'd and r'stmd

Thank you! They are really nice. I hope to see the flowers again very soon :)

Very nice 👍

Thank you :)

Really beautiful, I look forward to see more pictures :)

Thanks! They will have to bloom first ;)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Very beautiful color! I have 4 orchids at present and hope they will bloom next spring for me.

Thank you! Fingers crossed for your too :) What colours you have?

I really liked the story of the flowers and your journey.

Thanks Ed :) I will not mention all the orchids I managed to kill... I am glad this one is still with me.

Absolutely beautiful orchids and amazing shots. Love the journey you made and the story. Interesting reading 😆 thank you for sharing. Cheers 🤗

Thanks! They are such cool plants that it sometimes seems they have their own mind. They will not always do what you want them to do if they are not happy.

That's really a great way to express how they are, not just like any other flower but special with a mind of its own and wants special care 😆 lol
They are stunning

the orchid is a very beautiful flower. You have very good photographs.

Thank you! She is a beauty :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I just resteemed your post but if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. I’m not a spammer… just read what this is all about here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31