My Tiny Garden - Epidendrum Ibaguense orchid

in #gardening7 years ago

A year ago I received a keiki (a small shoot of any orchid is called a Keiki) of this orchid. Normally when you get one it takes up to few years until it is mature enough to bloom. To my big surprise it bloomed for me already this year only after one year of growing!

Epidendrum ibaguense 3.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

It was so nice to see the spike growing up... and up and tiny buds forming in the end. The whole plant is maybe a meter tall at this point and hardly fits on my window sill. And it is so beautiful!

Epidendrum ibaguense 2.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

Epidendrum ibaguense  buds macro.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

Epidendrum ibaguense bud.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

Look at the shape of those flowers. They are not bigger that 5 euro coin, but the intensive colour and the shape is so striking! It looks like some evil creature with wings...

Epidendrum ibaguense.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

Epidendrum ibaguense 6.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/8, 1/200, 105mm, ISO100)

As I am writing this post it has already done blooming and now it is growing more canes, so next year the show will be even better!

Do you grow orchids?
Is there any type you like the most?


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

this is so beautiful. @ewkaw

Thank you :)

So beautiful happy thursday

Thank you!
Happy Thursday :)

<drewLING on pic 1!!! puuuurrfect :D awsome job AS always from you sweets <bounce HEAVELY on upvote button❤ :P

Yayyyyy thanks! :D

Amazing Ewka........upv & rsd

Thank you Lenka :D It is an amazing plant!

Very beautiful orchid! Is it Cattleya? You are lucky that quickly flowered! I have a young Paphiopedilum, we'll see when it blooms ... :-)

Thank you!, No it is Epidendrum.
My tiny Paph will take ages before it blooms! :)

Oohhhhhh preeeciousss....

Yessssss :D

With such tiny flowers, that has to be hard to photograph! But that last photo is the perfect view to give personality to that orchid!That last image shows this is a dramatic orchid -- almost scary! You've got a nice, growing list of posts about your Tiny Garden. Very nice!

The flowers are absolutely adorable! And the size is not much of a problem, but the colour. The red is so intense that the camera sometimes had problems with it.
Thank you! I am starting to lack the space ;)
I need a garden! :D Or a green house..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33