My Tiny Garden - Dendrobium Stardust 'Chiyomi' orchid

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Few months ago I bough this lovely orchid. I was so surprised to see it in a regular supermarket. They don't have those type of orchids there. Usually just the regular Phalaenopsis and Cymbidiums.

Dendrobium Stardust Chiyomi 4.jpg

There was just one and of course I had to get it! Look at those pretty red veining on the lip and a bit of fuzzy fur!

Dendrobium Stardust 'Chiyomi' 5.jpg

Dendrobium Stardust 'Chiyomi' 3.jpg

She grows a bit weird though. I am used to that they do grow new baby plants along the cane (they are called Keikis). But this one created a new one from the tiny stem where flowers were! That is completely new to me. Oh no, I am not complaining. After they get a little big bigger I can detach them and have 2 more plants :)

Dendrobium Stardust 'Chiyomi' 2.jpg

Dendrobium Stardust 'Chiyomi'.jpg

All photos taken with Nikon D5500 and Sigma 105mm.


Previously on My Tiny Garden

Mini Phalaenopsis orchids + very basic orchid care
Dendrobium Kingianum orchid in bloom
Echeveria Pilosa with a black buddy
It's Periwinkle time!
Pink Cosmos flower
Most beautiful orchid buds
Nigella in 3 colours


View all my posts


Sort:  

That is a beauty!

It is thank you! :)

Nice pictures!

Thank you :)

Very beautiful! Scions on the trunk of dendrobium give when the temperature is high for her and the second reason is that her watering did not fit her. In any case - the scions is fine!

Thank you! I still want the Firebird :D

They started to grow when I bought. Yes, some react with the keikis from the canes with the wrong watering, or light. But those grew from the old, dry flower stalks - and that I never saw before. I have other dendrobiums and they grow the new plants from the canes "normally"
I am ok with that :) I will have extra plants.

It is a pity that we can not do the exchange of orchids ... :-)

Maybe we can... :D
But the keikis on this one are still too small to detach. They need to grow more.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EwkaW from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72