The Entrance to the Swarm

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A macro shot, I've taken a couple of days ago, of the entrance of an anthill of what I believe to be yellow meadow ants. You can clearly see two winged ants (alates) being pushed out of the nest by workers. This species of ants rarely leaves the nest and mostly live underground, which is the reason their eyes are less developed and not that suitable for foraging.

2017061205.jpg
Taken @ 105mm, f/8, 1/100s, ISO 2200. You can click for a larger image!

I should've used a smaller aperture and higher shutter speed, to bring more of these little guys in focus, but my ISO was already at 2200 and the image quality would've been abysmal.


I hope you enjoyed this post! See more of my work on #dek-photography (filter by "new")!


Check out some of my previous posts:

Sort:  

It's impressive how sharp you can get at 1/100s, I almost never dare to go below 1/125ths, great shot!

Thanks, though it's obvious I needed more depth of field on this one, but I found it interesting enough to post :) I have a photo underway of a tiny flower, taken at f/16 and 1/10s - it's actually possible, even with this big 105mm lens! :)

Very cool. Perfect angle, great macro!

Thank you!

Great photo as always. Clicking the bigger image was worth it again. How do you post those bigger pictures?

Thank you! Do you mean what's the markdown syntax to make the image clickable? Otherwise I always upload in 1920 pixels, I suppose uploading bigger images is possible too.

Yes, what is the syntax. Also do you upload it somewhere else or just here? Because when I click on an image it opens amazonaws site...

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73