DEK Macro Photography: Ants on White Tree Bark

in #nature7 years ago

I've stumbled on an ant highway and managed to snap a couple of photos of these busy fellows, probably exchanging a word about the location of some more grub.

2017061004.jpg
Taken @ 105mm, f/10, 1/320s, ISO 1100. You can click for a bigger image!

Is it just me, or do you I really see my reflection on the ants' shiny butts? OK, OK, I'll be a bit more scientific - the "butt", or abdomen of the ants is called "Metasoma", and their body (the "thorax") is called "Mesosoma".

2017061005.jpg
Taken @ 105mm, f/10, 1/320s, ISO 1250. You can click for a bigger image!

Fun fact: The total weight of all the ants around the world is calculated to be roughly the same of that of the entire human population. This calculation is based on the premise, that ants' total weight is approximately 1% of the weight of all insects on the planet. You can say that we are tiny, compared to insects!


Follow more of my work on #dek-photography (filter by "New")!


Check out some of my previous posts:

Sort:  

Nice shots! Yes, that is clearly your reflection on the ant's metasoma!

I'm actually surprised by how clean and shiny their bodies are. I wonder if its possible to use their lens-like abdomens for some photographic effect, without actually harming them... hmmm...

Btw, I see you are a macro lover as well - excellent shots on your page! Followed you!

You might be able to manage that, you'll need a really close shot with high resolution though! Or....lots and lots and lots of ants, somewhat like wet pebbles, shot at an angle, you could get somekind of antbutt reflection action!

Thanks for the follow and support @dek! I'm also already following you. :)

Haha, "antbutt reflection action" should be a separate style of macro photography! :D

Wait, are there medium format cameras with macro lenses? Maybe that's the new thing?

It's probably a thing, doubt it's a cheap think though!

Nicely done, I know ants can be incredibly frustrating to photograph. You did well just getting the little guys in focus. Some really nice pics : )

Ah, you're too generous - the focus is slightly off (you can see the ants are slightly below the actual plane of focus), but both photos are usable and interesting. Thank you! :)

p.s. And yes, they are hard to shoot - they move too fast!

Here you are again, on the "butt´s " of the ants :D
Another cool macro although half of the photo is blurred, I do not know if this was intentional since you use macro lens, but with me this happens always, because to take a macro photos I use an inversing ring and the focus area is very reduced because it only works with great approximation to the object, but looks cool anyway :P

I've actually missed the focus - it is slightly above the ants, but I thought the images are usable. Yes, at this distance, the depth of field is very narrow and it's difficult to get a good shot, especially with ants, which move all the time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68504.89
ETH 3816.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51