Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 49 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 49


(Click Blue Link Above To View All Entries For This Week)

Original Artists

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was solid, I found some beautiful gems from you artists, and I simply couldn't write about all of the talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!



1. @addiesworld's "All I Have To Give" Original Song
Truly an amazing song, wonderfully performed and deeply moving. I easily connected with your emotional giving, heartfelt performance. You wrote the lyrics carefully and brought this song to life with a resonating vibrance that tugs at the soul. You have a gripping voice with a nice range. Thank you for sharing this impacting original hit with us all.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@addiesworld/steemit-open-mic-week-49-original-all-i-have-to-give



2. @melavie's "Magic Window" Original Song
For a rough recording, this was really good. You executed this smoothly and with little effort. Your gentle approach and subtle nuances in your singing captivate the listening ears. I enjoyed it all the way through, solid melodies, effective vibrato, and the transitions tied this entry into a full circle. Thank you for finding the Open Mic Contest and entering in with your gift of music.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@melavie/steemit-open-mic-week-49-magic-window-original-song



3. @branhmusic's "A Note To Self" Original Song
Out of all the entries I have heard from you, this one is by far for me personally my favorite. The message is great. That is always a big thing for me in music. Your passion was really inspiring and I felt you took it to the next level. Your guitar playing was so relaxingly easy going. Your voice was slightly suspenseful in the very beginning with those chords you played and gradually slid into encouraging, uplifting energy with that powerful chorus you nailed. It is a very catchy song that has a lot of replay value to bring up the vibes and outlook of one's soul. I can definitely add this to my playlist without a doubt. Thank you for this gem bro. Looking forward to your next one.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@branhmusic/steemit-open-mic-week-49-original-song-a-note-to-self



5. @drewley's "Gentle Rain" Original Song
Your music is always amazing. You definitely remind me of the talented pianist Yiruma. I hope you take that as a big compliment. Your playing is intricately composed and nearly flawless in its presentation. You know how to capture moments and vary the delicate soft notes to the runs of emotional scaling and make the piano sing beautifully. I was extremely busy last week and couldn't do my judging post top 5 list, but if I had had the time, I would have given your last week's entry the 1st place position hands down. It was truly a favorite of mine from all of your masterful compositions. Please keep playing and sharing, and if you have an album available please let us all know as well. Thanks again
https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-49-gentle-rain-original-piano-piece


Cover Artists



4. @elliotjgardner's "Nobody Knows Me At All By The Weepies" Cover Song
As I have stated before, I do look for original artists for the majority of my judging, but when musicians and performers who are skilled and gifted with talents such as yourself, you can make a song come to life with radio professional quality to the point where people aren't sure if you are really singing live and it is actually a studio mastered track being played instead. You performed this skilfully well and you conveyed the tonality and melody with ease. I could tell this is a joy for your to perform and it translates well through the video. Thank you for your great entry and I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. Hopefully an original, but I am sure whichever it will be, will be high quality as all of your previous entries have been.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@elliotjgardner/steemit-open-mic-week-49-nobody-knows-me-at-all-the-weepies




Honourable Mentions


My Top 5 In No Particular Order



5. @senzenfrenz's "Die Loreley By Heinrich Heine" Original Piano Improv
https://steemit.com/openmic/@senzenfrenz/steemit-open-mic-week-49-piano-improvisation-on-german-folk-song-die-loreley-heinrich-heine-by-senzenfrenz-me


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

You're welcome, glad you enjoyed this. Thank you

Great selections @verbal-d. I appreciate your help.

Thank you very much bro, glad to assist and help out to lessen the load, this is by no means an easy task to do alone.

I didn't know you were a judge. I'm loving all of the music that steemit has to offer. I had to push my studio time until tomorrow. I'll send you the vocals when I record them.

No worries bro. I am completely swamped. And I told you I was a judge last time on discord but it is all good. Just a minor detail. Looking forward to hearing your verse brooo thanks for the heads up

Yea now that you mention it you did. All good. I'll be shooting it your way later in the day.

Sounds good bro. Take your time :)

Hey @verbal-d, thanks very much for the kind words. I'm humbled to have been included with such talented songwriters.

You are most welcome, you deserved the inclusion, you made it quite easy of a choice :)

Thank you so much for the feature! I'm so glad you were able to connect with the song. That's a song writers dream seriously:)

You are most welcome, yes indeed, us songwriters want nothing more than a true real genuine connection and understanding to share the same sentiments with our listening supportive audience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51