Open Mic Week 94 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

We are closing another amazing week at the #openmic my friends. I love how more and more entrants are joining our family with original material. The songs are just gems, gems I tell you and its because of this somewhat unique niche to our community that we have started talks about The Songwriter's Challenge Season 2. Expect for some dates and details to be announced soon.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@silentscreamer - On my own (les miserables)

What could I possibly say about our talented @silentscreamer that has not been said before? At this point I'm running out of words. Her violin playing as stunning as usual and her delivery was just exalting. That's the only new word I can throw into the mix that remained unused. However, now... I'm out of adjectives.

Second Place.-

@daily-musings - Long way home (Original Song)

There are those times when I'm lucky enough to find a song so simple, so sweet that it captures me instantly. It's not the first time @daily-musings is on my radar, but this original tune had to be on this list. I had to go back to it, listen again and if a song does that to you, if it makes you feel like it was too short.... Then it's no doubt a little gem.

Third Place.-

@ilazramusic - Hola (original song)

I just love the vocals on this track. Not only the catchy lead, which of course is so contagious it should come with a warning. But the details of the background vocals, the openness of the voices keep my heart cruising. What a beautiful track, excellent production, just brilliant.

Fourth Place.-

@jotadiaz12 - Latiendo de mas (cover)

Fresh faces, I had no idea what to expect when I first listened to the performance. I had no idea I was in for such a treat. The vocals are an almost indescribable combination of fragile and emotionally powerful. Which obviously sounds like a paradox. The guitar performance was also spot on, some of the best rhythm guitar I've heard in a while, understanding the necessity for dynamics and buildup. Bravo!!

Fifth Place.-

@k0wsk1 - All my loving (Beatles Cover)

Of course as a Beatles fan this was a super treat to my ears. But honestly, I think @k0wsk1 nailed it big time here. His delivery was spot on, and the quality of the audio left nothing to be desired. I have a feeling that @k0wsk1 is just getting started.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@darrenclaxton - Inside your soul (original song)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




Another beautiful week my friends, it seems like I can't get away from Mondays. Hopefully this will be the week when I started to get more efficient. I'll try to start my listening sessions tonight.

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• A hard pill to swallow - How I look at money
• Why don't we do more soft Promotion of Steem?
• Presidential Candidate running on a UBI Platform - 2020
• Hiding under a Bridge - Crazy Swamp Adventure
• An open letter to my fellow helpienauts

Sort:  

I have no idea how i managed to miss this post, Gina and everything.
So thr win really came as a surprise when Luz announced it.
What can i say.. Thank you Meno as always. Openmic has a special place in my heart. ❤😁

What a great week. Thanks for all the music everyone and thank you @meno for bringing everyone together and for being you.

Click here to see who won Open Mic week 94:

Steemit Open Mic Week 94 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Fantastics works, thanks for sharing them <3

Congratulations @meno! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 30.66% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

We rocked this week! @siomarasalmeron just entered for 95 and it's cool too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58