An open letter to my fellow helpienauts

in #helpie6 years ago (edited)
I've been somewhat quiet about our @helpie project, meaning that I'm fully aware that I've not applied the best of my ability to put the name out there as I probably should. Reasons, I have thousands, but maybe it's time to set aside some fo them and attempt to move the waters a little bit.

In truth the project has constantly been evolving since the first day it started with a 400 SP delegation of my own and just a bunch of unworked ideas. For the longest time I've believed (and still do) that some of the shifts that need to happen on the platform are more cultural than anything code can fix. The short term mentality of most the participants of this blockchain is the biggest of the hurdles Steem must overcome in order to succeed. However, repeating the words "Think long term" are in no way effective anymore, at least not on their own.

We've all heard the saying with all it's variations - "It take a village.... " - Maybe this is one of those situations. The powerful time tested idea that if enough people start to think the right way, then they in turn will be contagious and I actually mean that literally. It's been more than once in my life when I've met a group of people who's energy, who's aura, who's ethos is not only inspiring, it's contagious.

Plenty of times when I'm trying to put my finger on what @helpie is set to accomplish, I keep on falling back into those sociological concepts. The sense of community, the distribution of knowledge, and as a consequence the distribution of wealth would be a result of a change of mind, and the order of events would follow the somewhat unintuitive path.

I realize that the concepts are abstract, I realize that the mission is somewhat against a current. But, none the less it's the mission I think @helpie and its members were meant to partake of. You could even say the actions are selfish, after all improving the morale of the platform, educating its members, changing the paradigm would result in better valuations of the tokens we all hold. But, the benefits will be shared by all, and it's in this sense the selflessness if not completely out of the picture.

I'm grateful for the opportunity to be part of this. I'm also grateful for every single person who has decided to be not only part of the community of @helpie, but also embrace the ideas behind it on their own. I know that the rewards are already there, but I'm also fully aware the best is still to come. I'm really proud of all of you.

Much love


Other posts by yours truly

• ETFs on the Horizon - Gold all over again?
• Has anyone even asked Ned? - Steemian Festivals - SteemFest 3 Dilema
• Random thoughts on the futile quest of spammy comments
• Steem Abuse - Finding Patient 0
• Another way to look at it - HODLing assistance series

Sort:  

Thanks for the invite, Meno, I am happy to join Helpie. I just finished setting up a little delegation on SteemConnect and started following the trail on SteemAuto.

The discord channel looks like fun. I'm all thumbs with discord, but the crowd there is very welcoming.

Hi meno. First time I have heard of helpie. Just looked at some of helpie's posts and now have an idea of roughly what you are doing. I do like initiatives that help others and wish this project all the success going forward.

that's the plan friend... helping others learn and earn. :)

I am so proud to be in Helpie, Meno, and so grateful for everything you've done for me over the past several months. I truly love this little family and I am so excited to see it keep growing and evolving as every week passes. Thank you for ALL that you do.
Luv and cookies <3
-Serena

we re proud about you... you start a idea which a lot of us had but didnt start to do!!! Im so happy to be aprt of HELPIE like the early hours and still in ... and a lot of the HELPIE idea get into me... smile...

And I've seen it grow, and I hope it will keep on growing.

And it will continue... I'm sure we will gain all the support we can handle! hahaha

I'm so grateful for helpie!

I'm grateful for you being part of it too!

Helpie has been a really interesting place to be over the past few monts. I've met a bunch of interesting people that I might not have met otherwise.

The short term mentality of most the participants of this blockchain is the biggest of the hurdles Steem must overcome in order to succeed.

I couldn't disagree more mate. The biggest hurdle in my opinion is understanding exactly how broad a church this is and remembering that the majority of this community are NOT first world middle class.
We need to realise Steemit means radically different things to every member and not try to create and implement a 'one solution fits all approach'.
Good luck with @helpie, I'm sorry I'd never heard of it either but will read up.
Enjoy the rest of your weekend fella :-)

I don't disagree with you, but we currently have an inexistent middle class. less that 1% of Steem users have more than 500 SP - Now, look at this chart.

great chart :-)
Problem is, firstly, the distrobution of rewards amongst those countries, and secondly, Indian and Indonesian accounts contain, more than likely, a higher proportion of scam and spam accounts....which although its a fun pie chart, doesnt make it of much use!
Steemit is like an impoverished nation, all the wealth at the top, hungry at the bottom and fuck all in the middle!

You got a 29.28% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22