🎶 Open Mic Week 118 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic5 years ago

Well my amazing people's I am very happy with this week, although the turnout was down (it is still holidays and people get busy) - the performances we did have were absolutely amazing, you guys kicked some serious ass.

I have to say this week was an amazing week for the fellas, on top of that we had some absolutely phenomenal covers this week - I was simply blown away by several entries and I struggled to figure out what to do.

But eventually it seems I figured out where I wanted to place people's, I can tell you it was some fierce competition for first place this week - I had to do a few shuffles before I was sure I was doing you all justice, but man sometimes I wish we got more than 5 choices.

Anyways I don't want to let this drag on for too long, so without further delays - here is week 118 judges top 5 selection.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @montycashmusic- Lakes of Fear

This just caught my attention and held it throughout the performance, I was compelled to do a little digging while writing this review and I was honoured to see another awesome Aussie representing on the music scene.

You have a really unique tone to your vocals that I just love so much, it's just beautiful and you use it to such amazing effect throughout the song - I especially love those long held open notes, I feel you have some serious power behind there that I really look forward to hearing one day.

The playing is really beautiful, it add's so much texture to the song - helping to build the emotional and physical response to the song, just a brilliant execution on it all.

The instrumental was stunning and showed just how much was packed into the song, then when you come in with the vocals again - just wow man, what an incredible show you just gave us this was brilliant.

My only request would be that in the future, could you please put up the lyrics to make it a little easier to follow - I was trying to sing along with you, but stuffed it up so much cause I don't know the words yet :P

You are an amazing musician and I am truly grateful to have heard and experienced your music, for a guy standing at home with his guitar - you made that feel like a full on professional performance, you have great projection and it just seemed like a professional recording on every level.

You've peaked my interest and I'm curious to hear more from you, I have a feeling you could bring the house down with those powerhouse vocals - you really nailed this in every conceivable way, I'm a fan and I cannot wait to hear more.

P.S I just shared this with @ausbitbank, and he has added you to team Australia - your now entitled to @centerlink :D


2nd Place - @tarotbyfergus - Jolene

An unequivocal fuck yeah from me my friend, this wasn't just a kick ass performance - this was brilliant on so many bloody levels, it's hard to track them all but I will try.

Firstly your playing is always just spot on, you never miss a beat in fact the rhythm in this song is rather interesting and layered - is it played on an off beat or something, there's something there I can't put my finger on it - but it's a little like call and response between your vocals and playing.

I really loved your vocals in this performance man, I love hearing a song usually performed by women and hear it completely transformed - the deeper tones help to add to the malevolence you have weaved into this rendition.

I absolutely love this song and I have never once heard a take on it like yours, I love that you have made the character more threatening - as opposed to the usual plea's that are portrayed with this song, I love hearing a classic reworked to become something so much more.

You have inspired me to one day do a cover of your rendition, I think even in a female voice taking the threatening front - would still be a unique and brilliant transformation of this song, I just can't explain how kick ass this performance was.

You already had me as a fan and this just convinces me further of the depths of your talents, you shine brightest when you do your own thing - making songs you love your own, adapting things in simple ways that just completely reforms the song.

I can't get enough and don't really want to, your amazing and I cannot wait to hear the next masterpiece you have in store for us here - much love and keep doing what your doing.


3rd Place - @kayclarity - Somewhere Over the Rainbow

This was breathtakingly beautiful my dearest Kay, you have the most stunning vocals - you gave me chills on multiple occasions with this rendition, just absolutely amazing hun.

You always perform epic amazing songs, whether it be original or cover - you always own the song and present them in such unique and amazing ways, showing off the range of your skills as a musician.

In this the playing is kept to an absolute minimal, but when it is there it is stunning in contrast to the vocal - you play brilliantly and as always are the perfect accompaniment to your vocals.

Again you never failed to impress with your voice, it's just incredible what you manage to do week after week - I just love the tonality and the effect's you use throughout, you really have a phenomenal gift and I thank you so much for sharing it with us what an absolute honour.


4th Place - @tomashofficial - Fix You

This was a stunning rendition of a brilliant song, I just loved the little tweaks you've made throughout - it's amazing how the feel of the song is softened and made more powerful, through your changes.

I was just hooked the moment I heard it, your playing is perfect and a brilliant accompaniment for this song - I love seeing all the layers you've used to create the sound, just really entertaining man.

I really love your vocal choice's with this song, offering more of a staccato rendition in places - adding texture and emotion to the song that was a little missing at times in the original.

You have a really great tone to your voice, your performance was perfection throughout - I can't explain how much I enjoyed this, really hope to hear more from you soon!


5th Place - @k0wsk1 - Sex And Candy

Hell yeah man this was epic, what a brilliant flash back and you really added your own flavour to the feel of the song slowing it down - made it feel a little more like a ballad, just a great and unique take on a classic.

As always your delivery is spot on, your playing is impeccable and the song just feel so full - it truly doesn't require anything else, it's just perfect.

Then there is your brilliant vocals, showing your fantastic control - but it's the crystal clear tone of your voice that is a stand out for me, just a kick ass entry and performance.


Honourable Mentions:

@dearw - Héroe


Master Shortlist:

@anaislili09, @thesimpson, @donlucho, @steevc, @dreamrafa, @lk666, @edwardstobia.


I hope you all enjoyed this amazing selection of music, from our brilliant community this week - it was an absolute pleasure to hear them all and to be blown away by so many fantastic performances, you guys are brilliant.

Remember if you liked an entry, head over and show them some love - leave a comment and maybe give a vote, these guys have really done some amazing work and they deserve it.

Anyways I'm off for another week, hope you all have a fantastic time until next we meet - much love and keep up the tunes!


Steemit Musicians:

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves every week - hosted on the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord server, through the Minnow Support Project.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on all our judges selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 30 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif


Open Mic's New Discord Server:

I'd like to officially welcome you all to the new Open Mic Discord server, we have been open a little while now - with many of you having already joined.

But it's still a little quiet and I blame myself partly (I didn't know the world of crazy would set in just after opening it up and I just haven't been there to engage with everyone properly or promptly), I hope to remedy this in the coming weeks and months with some big plans we have in the works.

For now it's very hush hush, as plans are finalised and things evolve - you a can be sure you guys will hear all about it.

In the meantime however, there are heaps of amazing musicians already on there - it's a tool and you guys need to use it to get full advantage.

Ask a question, request a collaboration the world is yours - hell even just go in there and play around listening to some tunes in the jukebox room!

I will be trying to make myself more available on the server as time continues, so feel free to drop by even just for a chat.


Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Thank you @krystle!
I would love to hear you do Jolene, especially a malicious version!!!

Thank you for such kind amazing words @krystle! I will put my lyrics up on all future posts where I can.

I was a bit scared at first when I saw that @centerlink was following me. For those that aren't aware it's the welfare sector or Australia. Quite frankly I wouldn't want this attention from them. But I remembered (silly!) they wouldn't be on this platform (because it's just too cool for school (ahem, government)) and also it's spelled in the american way. Phew!

Well I'm happy to get involved in an Australian community of peeps. I'm all for the world of the delightfully sardonic.

All the best and keep up the great work!

Monty x

Here is 'Lakes of Fear' as 'Ragnarok' as recorded with my band Kelebek Evrimi in Skopje, Macedonia:

Congratulations @krystle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84