🎶 Open Mic Songwriters Week 7 - Theme: Right Place and/or Right Time - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

As week 7 draws to a close I can't help but feel a little bit sad, I'm going to miss the amazing stream of brilliant original songs coming our way.

You guys have done an amazing job, especially those that have managed a new entry every single week - that is just a sublime effort and the outcomes have been insanely brilliant!

You should all be so proud of one and other not only for the amazing music you have all been creating, but the next level of encouragement and support I have seen you all show one another - it really is heartwarming to watch the interactions and respect you all share for each other.

It is humbling to be a part of this and I can't say it enough, but the way you guys have kept pulling out the big guns has just blown me away - you have all done insanely well and I am so proud to be a part of this.

Without further ramblings, here is this weeks top 5...

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @basilmarples- The Right Place and/or The Right Time

Well here we are at week 7 and sure enough the one and only, @basilmarples has done it again!

Seriously mate how on earth do you do this every week? I know you say you struggle, but as of yet I seen little evidence besides your convincing words - I think in spite of any difficulties you may have, your skill and sheer talent always shine through and win the show.

I am yet again blown away by this new side of yourself, that you have revealed and put on display through this song - this song shows just how complex you truly are.

At the beginning I thought I would be in for another hilarious Basil tune, but then as it continued it ventured further into despair, melancholy and even tragedy - it became a very complex song not only in structure of theme and tone, but in overall sound.

Now when I read over your post, I dropped down into the comments and saw you say you didn't really have much in the way of proper instruction on a piano - that it was mostly self taught, holy shit man you are even more amazing the more I learn about you.

The stand out winner this week was your piano composition, it was so complex and deep - it varied flow and conveyed the deeper emotions explored in the lyrics, not to mention your interpretation of this weeks theme was spot on as always.

The chords you chose and the way in which you structured them, results in a physical and emotional response from the listener - your composition was absolutely astonishingly brilliant and I loved every second of it!

I am just sitting here, a bit gobsmacked about how you managed to master this instrument with such precision - I figured you had many many years of lessons and gradings under your belt.

I am even more impressed this is just you and your natural given talent, the piano has chosen you my friend in the best and most epic way possible - it is like an extension of you and your playing is divinely phenomenal!

The lyrics in this one are short but bittersweet, you didn't need countless words to convey the meaning and message of this song - it is just so beautifully coupled with the piano, that just sends the listener away on a tragic magical journey.

As for the melody, I just loved it so much - there was such a deep emotion in the words and how you delivered them, the way in which you added those subtle yet perfect vocal embellishments completed this song so wonderfully.

I just can't get enough of it, I have been amazed by the versatility you have shown us with your music - I love that you have lightened up the show some weeks, while others you have just shown people where the emotions really at.

The range and ability you have shown us now for 7 weeks has just been next level, you have made the job such an absolute pleasure and privilege - thank you so much for giving us a little piece of you each week, your absolutely amazing and I love your music so much.


2nd Place - @luisferchav -Right Place, Right time

Wow man you just did it again, you made me think how is this possible - since you first arrived on steemit and jumped into Open Mic, you have just killed it every single time!

It is always such a pleasure to hear your entries, you have such a unique and amazing sound that you manage to capture in each song - your vocals are always just sublime perfection.

For a relatively new Steemian and entrant, you have quickly marked your place as a front runner at each turn - your music is just so easy to love and enjoy, I can't imagine this Challenge without you now.

You captured this weeks theme beautifully, allowing it to become a central focus and building point around the song - I just love how unique all our entrants are, with their interpretation of the weekly theme and you my friend are no exception.

I just love the melody and how you coupled it perfectly, with the stunning guitar composition - only to completely smash it the rest of the way with your stellar vocals.

You have such a sensational vocal range, with precision control and best of all coordination - you know when to use the fancy range and flair to its full effect, it is a brilliant focal point of your music.

I love the flow of this song, the faster pace you set with the strumming - led to an overwhelming building feeling throughout the song, I love songs that just keep building until the next level of amazing is released.

I love that your songs cover deeper themes and meanings within the music you create, the sound you create is just spot on with each entry.

I have loved this opportunity to get to hear and share your incredible music, you have made this such an enjoyable experience and I just can't wait to hear more from you in the future!


3rd Place - @kayclarity - Tempest

From the open moments I knew I was going to love this entry and sure enough it stuck with me through to my top 5, I just love your interpretation of this weeks them.

You have such a marvelous voice, the way in which you use it throughout your songs is just perfection - you have a real gift when it comes to not only performing the music, but writing such magnificent lyrics and melodies it's just a sensational outcome.

I love the structure of the song, the way you tell the story throughout it - and the chorus was just a brilliant epicenter of it all.

I love your use of complex language in your music, I enjoy music that makes you listen and think - rather than just be able to know all the words by instinct and therefore know how the journey will end, before you even get going.

I loved singing along to this with you, it feels so full and not only with the sound - but the feeling you get when hearing it, like your sharing a story or journey you yourself have already been through and therefore already know the way.

I love it when you can hear a song and you can create a mental image, of the perfect scene this song would accompany - I feel this fits a deeper story than just a songs film clip and could be coupled beautifully as the main theme of a tragic story of love or should I say a loss of love.

This is beautiful in its own tragically heartbreaking way, I love songs that give me the feels and this did just that - my favourite section:

  • With your shame hitting me
    It’s like you couldn’t even see
    All the beauty we could be

Just such a powerful and poetic moment of the song, it's amazing how we can allows others views of us or even themselves negatively affect us - the use of the theme was just so bittersweet and used to such a poetic effect in the song.

Singing the song gets me a little choked up, so I'm super impressed with your performance and it is just such an amazingly moving song - I absolutely adore it.

Your an amazing musician and a splendid addition to the Challenge, I can't wait to hear what you have for us in week 8.


4th Place - @onetruebrother - Right Place Right Time

You really are a music making machine my friend, just wow even when your sick and your voice a little croaky you still kick some serious arse!

What a glorious song and another superb addition to your growing number of slam dunks in this Challenge, you never fail to impress - each week I am sitting and listening usually jaw agape, in utter shock of the sheer quality and skill you show.

You have such a unique and beautiful sound, as always your playing is just marvelous - so full of emotion and texture coupled with perfection with your stunning lyrics and melodies.

You have made me such a massive fan of your music, I often find myself thinking how did we end up with so many insanely talented entrants - it has been such an honour and privilege, to witness your skill in creating these masterpieces.

As for your voice this week, it isn't surprising with the combination of winter and all this work you have been putting in at Open Mic and the Songwriters Challenge that your voice has come under the weather - I often suffer this myself since damaging my voice a few years back and in spite of my own strict regimen I too have found it no help :P

I am really excited to hear what you have for us with week 8, you have been the most amazing gift in this challenge and I am going to miss hearing the creations you have for us week after week.


5th Place - @tarotbyfergus - The Right Time To Say It

Now am I right in assuming this song is connected the entry, for the week 2 theme of Lost and Found?

What a great song either way, just full of energy from the first moment - the sadness or sorrow in the lyric set the tone beautifully and yet there is an optimism and hopefulness, mixed in and it is just sublime to hear.

Also props for managing to use the phrase "gobbeldy goo" so bloody well, I love it when language is used to its full extent in music and storytelling - something of which this song covers brilliantly.

You have a knack for creating a catchy tune and coupling it with compelling and moving lyrics, you have some amazing skills as a musician and a songwriter - you have had so many outstanding entries, that have left me baffled with how to convey what I'm hearing and feeling.

Your songs are the epitome of a unique and creative music, you have a flare for deeper stories and I am again compelled to ask and well believe that this is a continuation on an earlier song from this Challenge - which if so is just so bloody awesome and a brilliant evolution to the story.

I really can't wait to see what you bring us for the final week of this Challenge, it has been such and absolute pleasure to hear your amazing entries so far!


Honourable Mentions:

@gabrielinho - Yo no sé


Just an unrelenting wow people, you guys are so bloody brilliant it's hard to find the words - you have all given so much week in and out, it really is amazing to have been a part of this.

I am honoured to get to showcase, all of the insane quality entries we have been getting and it really has been such a joy to get to listen to each and every one of them.

At this moment I am forced to feel a bit of sadness that this will all be over too soon and the phrase "You're gonna miss me when I'm gone" rings true in this moment - I am going to miss hearing all of you guys and the brilliance you bring to the table each and every week.

As we approach the final week, I feel a bittersweet emotion creeping in and I know you guys have worked so hard for the amazing prize - and we can't just keep adding time so we can keep hearing the awesome you guys give us, a winner must be chosen and you guys have given us an insane challenge in picking just one!

I have loved every moment of this and really can't wait to hear, the amazing gems you guys come up with for our final week of this Challenge - it is going to be amazing and I'm so excited and just a little sad to see it end.

A massive thanks to our amazing host @luzcypher, the brilliant and amazingly generous ninja @meno for not only judging but also for the insane prize he sponsored for this Challenge - and last but not least the ever present force in Open Mic that is @passion-ground, you all rock and this wouldn't be possible without all you do.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Thank you @Krystle!
It is a contiuation of the Lost and Found song, after life creeped in to the relationship and smashed it.
You are the first to notice the connection! :D

@basilmarples is one of the world's most amazing piano players.

haha. thats an amazing compliment! Tell that to my grandma though.....she's always complaining that I use all the same chords and she wants me to learn to read music so I can play her Bach :D

Even though it will end soon, but you can start new competition again.
So it's fine :)

very good post, I really like posting @krystle

This post very nice..i like this music video..i appreciate contest.thanks for sharing this blog..best of luck.

beautiful write up as always Krystle... you are the queen of musical curation I swear...

I second that emotion! Nice, @kyrstle!

I'm not a judge..
but I third it :)

can I fourth it?

Nice selction ma'am

I really liked luisferchav's voice! He's my favorite on this post. And tarotbyfergus's lyrics were fucking awesome :D

Well, you've done it again as well, left me speechless with your kind words and insight on your reviews, not only of mine, but all other entries as well.

Your reviews sometimes lift up the weight of some entries for me, the have been several times when I thought an entry was ok, but after reading your review and reading the meaning you found on it, I end up appreciating it so much more.

Thank you very much for picking me for your top 5!!
I too am I little sad this contest is coming to an end, I'm working really hard on my final entry :)

many thanks! I love that you listen to me and you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25