Weekly redfish and minnow mixer - 100% SBD giveaway 4-5-18

in #newbiegames6 years ago

Feel like a little fish in a big pond?

Welcome to the weekly meetup just for you.


The purpose of this contest is to meet new people, have exposure for something you created this week, and a chance to win SBD.

Sometimes really cool posts get lost in the flood of posts especially for those of us that are new, don’t have a large following or cannot afford advertising. I would like to give new users a chance to have some of their work viewed by a larger part of the steemit community and also a chance at some SBD both for entering and also commenting. Everyone says comment, comment, comment…

Payouts:

Best post with either a #newbieresteemday tag or #newbiegames 40% of SBD from this post
Best post by a redfish (account with less than 1000 SP) = 40% of SBD payout from this post
Best comment = 10% of SBD payout from this post ANYONE IS eligible for this award
Redfish interact prize = 10% of SBD payout split up between all redfish that link and comment but don’t win.

To enter the contest:

Post a link to 1 thing you created this week and a quick description about content… a description is not necessary but helps draw people in.
Read a post by at least 2 other contestants and comment(and/or upvote) on at least one that you really liked or felt motivated to respond to.
To be eligible to win best post you must be a redfish.

To win the contest:

To get the participation prize you must comment or upvote someone else!
The best comment will be decided by myself and only awarded if the post gets more than 1.5 SBDS in payout
The best post will be awarded based on the number of votes a post receives.
Each comment is worth 1 vote for the post.
Each upvote is worth ½ a vote for a post.

Here is an example:

example44.png

If we use this example: @tillysfamilyfarm would get 3 votes.
There are 2 upvotes = 1 vote
2 comment votes = 2 votes

The fine print...

Contest closes a week from today, the sooner you post the more likely you are to get more votes.
An upvote is not required to join this contest but, as the prize is a % of the SBD payout it is encouraged that you upvote and resteem to increase the prize payout.
Payout will be within 24 hours of this posts expiration and will be announced in a winners post.
I reserve the right to refuse payment and award prize to someone else if you are caught buying votes.
You will get 2 upvotes just for entering, some weeks they aren't worth much and some weeks they are worth 0.01 each.
Here is a link to last weeks if you need an idea of how we play.

Please do not add bots that COMMENT to this post as it distracts from what we are doing.
I will add 2 quiet bots throughout the week to up the payout by 0.6-1 SBD
Check out #newbiegames for other contests just for you and follow @newbiegames to learn about more games.

Sort:  

How long do I have before I have to put a link in.. In others words, can I put a post in that I plan on doing this weekend? If so you will see me soon :)

You can submit a post whenever you would like, the sooner you submit a post the greater of a chance you have to get votes to win.

We refrain from paid upvotes on this page. The weekly results are ok to pay for noisy upvote services to your comments if you would like. I recommend speedvoter for a 0.01 bid :)

I am sorry, I just made a mistake and wasn't thinking. It won't happen again sir!

You got a 48.19% upvote from @payforplay! Please consider delegating steem power to @payforplay. We are currently sharing 100% of our profits with our delegators. That's correct, 100%! It doesn't get better than that. It is essentially running your own bid bot without doing any of the work. Steem power can be delegated here: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html

You got a 100.00% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @unleashpower!

A possible IFC challenge Idea. IFC stands for Information Finding Championship, it is a long running contest that is extremely fun to play with lots of different challenges, This was my response for a possible future round challenge.
IFC ladder bonus rount - - - Time Travel ver 2.0

My entry is on behalf of Play 4 a Newbie Challenge. All proceeds will go to a newbie Prize Pool and hopefully you will get other players to join in your game too!

Steemit: A Social Platform Or A Bot Gaming System?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@davemccoy/steemit-a-social-platform-or-a-bot-gaming-system

My entry is on behalf of Play 4 a Newbie Challenge. All proceeds will go to a newbie Prize Pool and hopefully you will get other players to join in your game too!

play4anewbie.gif

You've totally hit the point, there are so many bots right now that when I see the number of votes vs number of views...
Sometimes I get demotivated that so few people viewed my post and yet the number votes is like 20-30. I know there's a trail on me and it's a good thing. But I wish people who upvoted would stay on and engage rather than just upvote blindly.

@williamsyee said people still use bidbots even though the bidbots are definitely losing money. I don't understand why people still use them.

This is a good starting point to get whales and witnesses to decide the direction we're going. Since Steemit is community-driven, we always have a say. I'm supporting you on this @davemccoy!

I agree with you. I have a hard time up voting somebody without leaving a comment. Because I feel like if I upvote it then it's because I believe in what they're doing or that they're at least making good content and so I felt like wow what a good person to talk to. Well, it's kind of like I'm doing right now. However don't get discouraged. Use it as motivation to fuel your engine. I run around this place, and try to spread love. I don't pay attention to whether it's working or not. I just believe it has to be. I believe there's power in what we do, when we do it for good. It sounds like you're a really great person. And hopefully I'll be seeing you around here more. Well actually, I've got some games at my place if you want to stop by and play. I called him "60 second or less" games. They're really quite simple. And as the name hints pretty quick. Anyway I need to go. I'm trying to make my way to the intro feeds. But I keep getting distracted. I hope you had a great day. All of my love to you and all of yours. And may our creator bless yous.

I will have to stop by and check out your games!

Yes! Please do. I love to have people over at my place. Gives me somebody to talk to you. Plus everybody that plays gets the win so how awesome is that. And if you have any friends that are new around steemit please send them my way to. This gives them a chance to meet people and went a little money at the same time. I hope that you have a great day. All of my love to you and all of yours

Hey @johndoer123, you're doing great! Thank you for the encouraging words!

Me too, I upvote because it's a good content or from a trusted account. I'll go around and check out your games :)

All the best to you!

Thank you for the kind words. And definitely come by and check out the games. More importantly however is if you have any new friends to steemit send them my way if you want to. I'd love to meet them and have them over at my place. In any case you keep up the good work too. And together all of us will make this platform what it deserves to be. Sending you all of my love until we meet again. I hope you have an awesome day.

Not all of them make you loose money...

Yeah, not all. What I don't understand is why people still throw money when the bidbot is definitely returning negative income.

The thing that seems unfortunate is that a lot of whales and witnesses behave like this is little more than a giant "cash dispenser" to them.

I lot of people join Steemit only to make money. I have even seen almost complete newcomers say things like I am going to quit my job and do this full time like Jerry Banfield! They are barely even aware that "making money" requires creating content... they just want to make money on Steemit.

Then you have people like us who are more content based. Sure, rewards are nice, but we're largely here for content and community.

=^..^=

Yeah. Creating content is just one of the way to make money in Steemit. Unlike us who emphasize on contents and community, they are playing the game of Steemit economy.

Sometimes I wonder the same thing Dave! Ive learned in my short time here, to not worry about what the others are doing. Its not worth the time. I try to just enjoy myself and enjoy the community that does the right things. Thanks to @newbieresteemday, @greetersguild and @asapers, along with others, I dont have much time to worry about the whales. Just gotta keep on swimming! ;)

I think bots have the potential to make or break Steemit... Some bots can be useful, such as the OriginalWorks bot (which has been down for awhile), but most seem to be just a way of fleecing people of the SBD they haven't earned yet - or a way of helping the rich get richer. They don't seem to offer much for the minnow, for sure.

One of Steemit competitors took the step of not allowing any bots (or competitions/financial rewards other than post payouts) - and in a way, I'm glad that Steemit hasn't followed that model. But, it does seem to be that some regulation of bots is in order here. Free bots should be encouraged. Paid ones should be required to prove that they are non-profit and/or pay out much more than the subscribers put in.

Thanks for your post.

Great post, @davemccoy.
I'm really wondering if you will get a response from someone you addressed... (Naah, I'm not, but hope keeps us alive - lol)

I guess I should have put my comment on here instead of the post. Nevermind, now you have one here too. Comments galore!!!

My choice?

It is a social platform and not just any social platform but one that can create positive change for so many people in the real world.

The little of what I've so far learnt about communities like sndbox and the writersblock leaves me in awe. And thinking, what next? What can I choose to do?

One choice I've already made is to not to use the bots: to concentrate, instead, on what makes Steemit such a grand and inspiring experiment.

As @glenalbrethsen said in a comment to your post:

...you and me and everyone else who believes in this STEEM ecosystem and community, should stay the course. We should hold the line and keep holding the line.

The only way this place improves is if we're able to gather enough people to our side to make a difference. We don't need everyone, we don't even need a majority. All we need is 5-10% of the active users on the platform

Excellent article @davemccoy; left you a fairly lengthy comment over there!

=^..^=

I saw... and your reply was awesome too :D

If you hate durians, that's because you've never tasted the fresh ones.

Do you know durians taste and smell worse after 3 days they fell? After 1 day, the freshness and fragrance run away. After 3 days, they're all gone.

If you still think durians are bad, re-think after you've read my post.
https://steemit.com/writing/@tifaong/9-facts-you-wish-you-knew-about-durian-earlier

Yep, the only time I have had durian, it made my lips and tongue numb.

That's one of the tastes durians have. If you leave the durian for another hour or two, the taste will change :) Or if you smash the durian to the floor, the taste will change too :)

My girlfriend always tells about how there were signs in Indonesian hotels that said durians couldn't be brought in - lol

Hahahaha! That's normal coz the smell is really strong, in a good and bad way. If the durian is fresh, it smells good. Else, it'll smell bad.

ha ha ha!!!
My mother loves durian, but I don't think even she has had the fresh ones!
I know she was delighted to find one when she was in London once, brought one home (I hate to think of the others on the train with her...) - it did stink badly and I wasn't quite brave enough to try it, but I'd love to try a fresh one.

I did have some durian-flavored snacks once, but only one of my kids liked them, lol. I don't know how true those snacks are though.

Thanks for sharing!

Hey @viking-ventures, I wonder if there are any durian farms in London or somewhere nearby. Hahaha they do have a strong smell, but fresh ones don't stink.

I don't really like durian-flavored stuff coz they're just chemicals that taste/smell like durian. Maybe they're nothing close to durians.

You're welcome!

HAhaha! My mother would have been delighted had there been a durian farm anywhere near where she's lived or traveled, but alas, she's never been to SE Asia to have the properly fresh ones yet!

I'm glad to hear that the fresh ones don't stink - and that the flavored stuff isn't true to flavor.

Hahaha Malaysia and Thailand has the most durian farms. Do plan this visit soon :)

Wow! Ive never actually had a durian but I would love to try one now! I ever seen one around my area though. With the "shelf life" I suppose Ill have to go visit a place that grows them! Very interesting stuff here!

You're missing a lot if you haven't tried one @smiley2005. Do you know any places that grows them around you? It's worth trying them, fresh ones.

I wish! Im in central Texas, US. Since Ive never even heard of them, its unlikely theyre grown around here! :( Where are they grown?

The nearest would be Hawaii for you. Is that far?

Oh man!! Definitely not walking distance! Over 3500 miles away and most is over the Pacific! lol

BUT, I do plan on visiting Hawaii some day so Ill have to remember this!

Or you can always come to South East Asia. Thailand and Malaysia have the most durians in the world :)
It's a chance for you to visit the other side of the world too.

That would be a dream! I would love to travel one day! Fingers crossed on winning the lottery! :D

I've never had any durian, so they are all good. So far.

Hahaha try one someday!

That's cool! :) We also have durian trees here in the province.. I didn't know that older ones have tastier fruits.. I thought it was the opposite. :D

Hey @creyestxsa94, yeahhh the condition of the trees has a lot of influence on the fruits, which is the durians. The age, the fertilizers, the chemicals (organic trees are healthier) and distance between the trees matters too.

Ohh.. I didn't know that till now. hehe. Thanks for the information :)

You're welcome :)

Thank you @royaleagle for the contest! My entry this week-

What is the most precious and unexpected gift you have ever received? and how do you feel?

https://steemit.com/catalyst/@williamsyee/an-unexpected-gift-at-an-unexpected-time

A small random act of kindness like that doesn't cost much of your time. Write a small thank you to someone you care could make their day :)

I'm happy for you that you've done remarkable things in impacting the youths. They're certainly opening up and getting closer to you. Then it's easier for them to listen what you say.

Yupe, I believe journey with them till end of the programme will make lots of different and they will be opening up to more people externally.

Yesss, it does make a difference than dropping by one week and disappear for the rest of the month, just like me last year. Staying with them till the end matters to them, and to us also.

I'm inspired and motivated by your commitment, you know. Without you, I may not have the willpower to wake up so early and attend the workshops. Thank you so much @williamsyee!!!!

Yes, when the youth meet us and communicate with us more frequent eventually they will want to make friend with us compared to what you mentioned come once and disappear the rest of the month.

You are most welcome, let's make ourselves commit and journey with them till the end ofthe programme. :)

You've nailed it. "They will want to make friend with us". It's their own volition to do it.

Let's commit!

Sincerity is such an underrated quality and yet it paves the path to connections between people. Pair it up with gratitude and kindness, and doors - and windows - to what you thought was impossible begin opening. It shows and brings out the best in us. And yes, it is a precious gift I savour every single time.

How awesome! Its great what you do and its great that they have the kiddos write something special for you as well.

Thank you @smylie2005, those youth just need more time to open up and most of them are very kind.

Very nice... and a reminder of the idea of reciprocity as well!

=^..^=

Hey everybody, Chris here. I have a prequel story about truckin' and hospitals. I sure hope you enjoy it. I know any of you pervert cab drivers will love it. (wink wink, nudge nudge) Total happy ending for you guys.

https://steemit.com/funny/@profanereviews/the-other-time-i-went-to-the-hospital-in-the-us

LOL!!! Good stuff! I am glad you didnt die on your way to Dickenson! As is the cabby Im sure!

He's still calling me, so I guess it was okay. ;)

Easily my most popular post ever, but still a fairly low payout.
solstice_morning_walk_378.JPG
https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@viking-ventures/solstice-morning-walk-english-countryside

Stunning photograph!! I love the sun peaking through! <3

Thank you! It has long been my favorite sun photo.

The picture captivated me... I had to click through... I think I would enjoy walking the trail you took this photo on.

Thank you! It was a nice trail to walk on - got me out of town when I needed the break that nature would give me.

hi steemians newbie here I just wanna share my post hope you have time to read thank you very much ☺️. my post is about me being a single mom without a job so hope you have time to read my post
https://steemit.com/life/@kristinayu/an-unemployed-mother

Being unemployed sucks! I could say because I am unemployed, too. :( Though, I am not a mother yet. hehe :) And you are right! Be proud even if you're unemployed for as long as you're able to take care of your kids and be the best mom :)

yes .. and thank you for taking time to read it 😄.. well being a mother/ unemployed well I dont have a choice at all ...

Thanks again @royaleagle! :D

In my post this week, Im talking about a wonderful group called @greetersguild and why you should join! Come welcome the newbies with us!
https://steemit.com/greetersguild/@smylie2005/steemit-greeters-guild-come-one-come-all

My entry is on behalf of Play 4 a Newbie Challenge. All proceeds will go to a newbie Prize Pool and hopefully you will get other players to join in your game too!

play4anewbie.gif

I keep seeing things about the guild, but I just don't have time for very much extracurricular right now. I'm glad it's going well for you folks though. It will really help a lot of people get started. Starting is the hardest part, well maybe not as hard as when you realize that you aren't getting rich from this. Just rich with experience and friends.

Ding ding ding! For sure buddy! This is definitely no get rich quick scheme! Just enjoy the ride!

Lol it sure is not but i feel if we pay more attention to the friends we make, the wonderful posts and articles we get to read, in time it'll be a bit less about the money and more about the fun steemit has to offer
Great post by the way

Thanks Jazzy!! ;) Hope you dont mind the new nickname!

Lol i love it, sounds a little bad assy

Brats! Two of them. They were tiny! And young: they couldn't have been more than six years old. They were yelling and swearing - yes! - at their elderly chauffeur at a petrol station.

That was the motivation for this short story and, as I'm learning, the writing process can take one to some really odd places...

This is the link to the fifth and final part:
https://steemit.com/fiction/@bhop42moro/the-visitor-part-five

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69158.00
ETH 3746.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68