You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly redfish and minnow mixer - 100% SBD giveaway 4-5-18

in #newbiegames6 years ago

If you hate durians, that's because you've never tasted the fresh ones.

Do you know durians taste and smell worse after 3 days they fell? After 1 day, the freshness and fragrance run away. After 3 days, they're all gone.

If you still think durians are bad, re-think after you've read my post.
https://steemit.com/writing/@tifaong/9-facts-you-wish-you-knew-about-durian-earlier

Sort:  

Yep, the only time I have had durian, it made my lips and tongue numb.

That's one of the tastes durians have. If you leave the durian for another hour or two, the taste will change :) Or if you smash the durian to the floor, the taste will change too :)

My girlfriend always tells about how there were signs in Indonesian hotels that said durians couldn't be brought in - lol

Hahahaha! That's normal coz the smell is really strong, in a good and bad way. If the durian is fresh, it smells good. Else, it'll smell bad.

ha ha ha!!!
My mother loves durian, but I don't think even she has had the fresh ones!
I know she was delighted to find one when she was in London once, brought one home (I hate to think of the others on the train with her...) - it did stink badly and I wasn't quite brave enough to try it, but I'd love to try a fresh one.

I did have some durian-flavored snacks once, but only one of my kids liked them, lol. I don't know how true those snacks are though.

Thanks for sharing!

Hey @viking-ventures, I wonder if there are any durian farms in London or somewhere nearby. Hahaha they do have a strong smell, but fresh ones don't stink.

I don't really like durian-flavored stuff coz they're just chemicals that taste/smell like durian. Maybe they're nothing close to durians.

You're welcome!

HAhaha! My mother would have been delighted had there been a durian farm anywhere near where she's lived or traveled, but alas, she's never been to SE Asia to have the properly fresh ones yet!

I'm glad to hear that the fresh ones don't stink - and that the flavored stuff isn't true to flavor.

Hahaha Malaysia and Thailand has the most durian farms. Do plan this visit soon :)

Wow! Ive never actually had a durian but I would love to try one now! I ever seen one around my area though. With the "shelf life" I suppose Ill have to go visit a place that grows them! Very interesting stuff here!

You're missing a lot if you haven't tried one @smiley2005. Do you know any places that grows them around you? It's worth trying them, fresh ones.

I wish! Im in central Texas, US. Since Ive never even heard of them, its unlikely theyre grown around here! :( Where are they grown?

The nearest would be Hawaii for you. Is that far?

Oh man!! Definitely not walking distance! Over 3500 miles away and most is over the Pacific! lol

BUT, I do plan on visiting Hawaii some day so Ill have to remember this!

Or you can always come to South East Asia. Thailand and Malaysia have the most durians in the world :)
It's a chance for you to visit the other side of the world too.

That would be a dream! I would love to travel one day! Fingers crossed on winning the lottery! :D

Winning upvotes from mega whales sounds more real :))

I've never had any durian, so they are all good. So far.

Hahaha try one someday!

That's cool! :) We also have durian trees here in the province.. I didn't know that older ones have tastier fruits.. I thought it was the opposite. :D

Hey @creyestxsa94, yeahhh the condition of the trees has a lot of influence on the fruits, which is the durians. The age, the fertilizers, the chemicals (organic trees are healthier) and distance between the trees matters too.

Ohh.. I didn't know that till now. hehe. Thanks for the information :)

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53