You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly redfish and minnow mixer - 100% SBD giveaway 4-5-18

in #newbiegames7 years ago (edited)

Steemit: A Social Platform Or A Bot Gaming System?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@davemccoy/steemit-a-social-platform-or-a-bot-gaming-system

My entry is on behalf of Play 4 a Newbie Challenge. All proceeds will go to a newbie Prize Pool and hopefully you will get other players to join in your game too!

play4anewbie.gif

Sort:  

You've totally hit the point, there are so many bots right now that when I see the number of votes vs number of views...
Sometimes I get demotivated that so few people viewed my post and yet the number votes is like 20-30. I know there's a trail on me and it's a good thing. But I wish people who upvoted would stay on and engage rather than just upvote blindly.

@williamsyee said people still use bidbots even though the bidbots are definitely losing money. I don't understand why people still use them.

This is a good starting point to get whales and witnesses to decide the direction we're going. Since Steemit is community-driven, we always have a say. I'm supporting you on this @davemccoy!

I agree with you. I have a hard time up voting somebody without leaving a comment. Because I feel like if I upvote it then it's because I believe in what they're doing or that they're at least making good content and so I felt like wow what a good person to talk to. Well, it's kind of like I'm doing right now. However don't get discouraged. Use it as motivation to fuel your engine. I run around this place, and try to spread love. I don't pay attention to whether it's working or not. I just believe it has to be. I believe there's power in what we do, when we do it for good. It sounds like you're a really great person. And hopefully I'll be seeing you around here more. Well actually, I've got some games at my place if you want to stop by and play. I called him "60 second or less" games. They're really quite simple. And as the name hints pretty quick. Anyway I need to go. I'm trying to make my way to the intro feeds. But I keep getting distracted. I hope you had a great day. All of my love to you and all of yours. And may our creator bless yous.

I will have to stop by and check out your games!

Yes! Please do. I love to have people over at my place. Gives me somebody to talk to you. Plus everybody that plays gets the win so how awesome is that. And if you have any friends that are new around steemit please send them my way to. This gives them a chance to meet people and went a little money at the same time. I hope that you have a great day. All of my love to you and all of yours

Hey @johndoer123, you're doing great! Thank you for the encouraging words!

Me too, I upvote because it's a good content or from a trusted account. I'll go around and check out your games :)

All the best to you!

Thank you for the kind words. And definitely come by and check out the games. More importantly however is if you have any new friends to steemit send them my way if you want to. I'd love to meet them and have them over at my place. In any case you keep up the good work too. And together all of us will make this platform what it deserves to be. Sending you all of my love until we meet again. I hope you have an awesome day.

Not all of them make you loose money...

Yeah, not all. What I don't understand is why people still throw money when the bidbot is definitely returning negative income.

The thing that seems unfortunate is that a lot of whales and witnesses behave like this is little more than a giant "cash dispenser" to them.

I lot of people join Steemit only to make money. I have even seen almost complete newcomers say things like I am going to quit my job and do this full time like Jerry Banfield! They are barely even aware that "making money" requires creating content... they just want to make money on Steemit.

Then you have people like us who are more content based. Sure, rewards are nice, but we're largely here for content and community.

=^..^=

Yeah. Creating content is just one of the way to make money in Steemit. Unlike us who emphasize on contents and community, they are playing the game of Steemit economy.

Sometimes I wonder the same thing Dave! Ive learned in my short time here, to not worry about what the others are doing. Its not worth the time. I try to just enjoy myself and enjoy the community that does the right things. Thanks to @newbieresteemday, @greetersguild and @asapers, along with others, I dont have much time to worry about the whales. Just gotta keep on swimming! ;)

I think bots have the potential to make or break Steemit... Some bots can be useful, such as the OriginalWorks bot (which has been down for awhile), but most seem to be just a way of fleecing people of the SBD they haven't earned yet - or a way of helping the rich get richer. They don't seem to offer much for the minnow, for sure.

One of Steemit competitors took the step of not allowing any bots (or competitions/financial rewards other than post payouts) - and in a way, I'm glad that Steemit hasn't followed that model. But, it does seem to be that some regulation of bots is in order here. Free bots should be encouraged. Paid ones should be required to prove that they are non-profit and/or pay out much more than the subscribers put in.

Thanks for your post.

Great post, @davemccoy.
I'm really wondering if you will get a response from someone you addressed... (Naah, I'm not, but hope keeps us alive - lol)

I guess I should have put my comment on here instead of the post. Nevermind, now you have one here too. Comments galore!!!

My choice?

It is a social platform and not just any social platform but one that can create positive change for so many people in the real world.

The little of what I've so far learnt about communities like sndbox and the writersblock leaves me in awe. And thinking, what next? What can I choose to do?

One choice I've already made is to not to use the bots: to concentrate, instead, on what makes Steemit such a grand and inspiring experiment.

As @glenalbrethsen said in a comment to your post:

...you and me and everyone else who believes in this STEEM ecosystem and community, should stay the course. We should hold the line and keep holding the line.

The only way this place improves is if we're able to gather enough people to our side to make a difference. We don't need everyone, we don't even need a majority. All we need is 5-10% of the active users on the platform

Excellent article @davemccoy; left you a fairly lengthy comment over there!

=^..^=

I saw... and your reply was awesome too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59