Steemit Survivor Contest UPDATE - 20 STEEM Grand Prize - IT'S ON!!!

in #newbiegames6 years ago

66oh53pl8k.jpg
Source: CBS

A Quick Review

@suitcasemama and I are huge (and extremely nerdy) fans of an American reality show called Survivor. You know the one - contestants are marooned on a deserted tropical paradise, compete in silly challenges, and vote people off the island. I put out a post a few weeks ago to gauge interest in a Steemit Survivor Contest. The goal of the main contest? To pick who will ultimately win the upcoming season of Survivor. Since this will be fairly hard to do (one in twenty odds), I wanted to give a 20 Steem or SBD prize. I was also thinking about setting up weekly contests with smaller prizes where the object would be to pick who is voted out next.

Update - All Systems GO!

I'm VERY happy to announce I've received enough interest to go forward with the first-ever-in-the-history-of-Steemit (to my knowledge at least) Survivor Contest! Yay!

Players

So far, the following Steemians have clearly expressed interest in participating:

That's seven, that's enough for me!

A few more folks were mentioned or commented, but I wasn't sure if they were just being supportive or wanted to compete. @fronttowardenemy, @gabrielatravels, @oclinton, and @celinavisaez, let me know if you would like to participate as well.

Prizes

More good news: I've saved up almost 9 Steem so far, so I should have no problem raising a bit more and will be able to award 20 Steem for the main contest's grand prize at the end of the Survivor season. The prizes for the weekly contests will be awarded based on the Steem/SBD raised by those posts.

Sponsors

Still more good news, we have sponsors! I've received two very kind offers for support:

  1. @freedomshift has kindly offered to add some 1 SBI share for the weekly contests and at least 1 SBI share for the winner of the main contest, depending on number of participants. He does this all the time through his #ccc initiative, go check it out!
  2. @o07 has made a massive offer - if the contest is successful in attracting 20 participants we will award one lucky winner with one ounce of silver including shipping costs! Here's how it would work: if we reach 20 participants we would run a bonus game by randomly assigning each player a Survivor contestant. If your assigned contestant wins the Survivor season, @o07 will ship you an ounce of silver!

Many thanks to both @freedomshift and @o07 for their kind offers! Please check them out to see what they're up to these days!

As you can see, more participants will unlock more prizes from these guys - so make sure to encourage any friends who may be interested to participate in the contest!

Next Steps

  1. CBS should officially reveal the names of the contestants soon. This usually happens in late August or early September.
  2. Once the contestants are announced, I'll post the final rules and prizes and invite players to choose who they think who will be the Sole Survivor.
  3. The main contest (choosing an overall winner) will be locked before the Survivor season premiere September 26th, then the weekly contests (choosing who will be voted off next) will start.

A couple more things

  • This will be the American version of Survivor with the theme "David vs. Goliath" and set in Mamanuca Islands‎, Fiji.
  • Special thanks to the @rentmoney, @costanza, @pifc/@thedarkhorse trifecta for their support through the Pay It Forward Contest. You brought a lot of attention to the contest, thank you!

How you can get participate

  • Let me know in the comments if you want to play!
  • Tag friends who may be interested in the comments below to spread the word

If any one wants to contribute to the prize pool, let me know and we'll add it to the pot.

To review: Survivor! Tag a friend! Help get the word out! Sponsors welcome! Stay tuned!


Enjoy this post? Learn more about me here:
Allow Me to Introduce Myself! | Husband / Father / Humanitarian / Traveler / Expat Abroad

xjyd6bon2u.png

Follow @eoj and check out my other recent posts:

I'm also running a super nerdy Top Ten Cryptocurrency Experiement for 2018 over at my @starthere account. Check it out if you're into that sort of thing...


 
Meso banner2.png

Proud member of @tcpolymath's @themesopotamians initiative. Learn more about it and how you can get involved here


 
@eoj is also kindly supported by 120 SP delegation for 45 days by @minnowfund:

Minnowfund.png

And by @steemfunding - 50 SP delegation until I reach 100 SP:

Steemfunding 3.png

A big thanks to both @minnowfund and @steemfunding!

Sort:  

Your post has been sent to the promoted section of Steemit.
Thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

I am going to create a post on your contest and see if any of my followers are interested in joining your contest. I will link your topic in it. I also just sent a paid for resteem bot to try and help you reach more people.

Edit : Post has been created.

https://steemit.com/newbiegames/@rentmoney/survivor-contest-20-sbd-reward

Big thanks @rentmoney! Apologies for the delayed response, we take Sundays off screen, but I can't thank you enough for the support! No one's ever made a post for me before! :)

Great Idea to take a day off from screens. I been cutting back my time a little but still need to cut back more.

We should start a #screenfreesunday movement then create blog posts on Monday sharing what we did on our screen free day 😎

I would like to participate in this, it sounds like a lot of fun.

Your interest is noted @toddcurry, great to have you with us on the island! :)

I'd really like to join please!!! Sounds awesome!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic, you're on the list! Welcome and very glad you're participating!!

Yay!! Glad to be apart of it!! The tribe has spoken!!

I'll play. thanks for letting me know about this @rentmoney

Great to have you aboard and thanks to @rentmoney pointing you our way!

@steven-patrick, I'm from CA as well, but from the south. It looks like you're from the Bay area?

Yes. about 45 minutes from downtown SF. you in LA or San Diego? or other place?

Grew up in Anaheim, now in Bangkok with @suitcasemama 😎

Cool. Keep us updated on contest :)

I want to join in this one

Cool, you're on the list @izaid, welcome!!!

You can count me in for sure!
This seems like it will be great fun. :)

Oh you're definitely in @doctorcrypto, no escaping now! :)

Gracias por preguntar, voy a participar, nada se pierde con intentar, un cariñoso abrazo @eoj

Exactamente y gracias! I've made a note that you are IN!

Saludos desde Tailandia!

Sounds like fun i'm in!

Great, I'll make a note of it. Glad to have you and welcome!!!

I would love to participate but currently my life is very busy and I barely get time to write a post a week. So it would be hard to track the contest 😣
Good luck to all the participants! 😊

No worries @gabrielatravels, I certainly understand busy! :) Although technically you don't have to do much for the main contest: you won't have to create posts or anything. Just make one guess in the comment section in on my post in September when I launch the contest and then check in December if you guessed correctly! :)

Oh, alright then. I'm in! :D

I thought there should be a constant number of guesses so I need to follow up some kind of show or something :)

Great, excited you're joining! The main contest is super easy to join, but you're right, the weekly contests will require a bit more attention to the show! Just join the main one! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04