WATER WEDNESDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST IS OPEN!

in #naturephotocontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2230.jpg

PARTICIPATION RULES
Create a comment in reply this post, including:
AN ORIGINAL PHOTO OF WATER (if you include a link, make sure you also post the photo)
A SHORT DESCRIPTION OF THE PHOTOGRAPH (min. one sentence, max. one paragraph; please share something specific about the photograph/location/technique, etc.)
The contest is open until tomorrow, 9:00 AM EST, March 15.
The winners will be announced tomorrow.

The judge in today's contest is Scott Thompson (@scottshots). Scott Thompson started Scott Shots Photography in 1998, he shoots mostly Tahoe area landscapes and produces a ton of real estate virtual tours. He sells big prints out of Lake Tahoe’s Vista Gallery and and he licenses his images as stock photography on a regular basis to local publications and businesses. Scott is a super proud Dad, his son @enak just got accepted into Woodbury University’s film program!

PRIZES AND PAYMENTS

The SBD on the winners announcement (to be posted tomorrow) at payout will be split as follows:

First place: 20%
Second place: 12%
Third place: 7%
Seven honorable mentions: 3% each
Judge: 20%
Hostess: 20%

Looking forward to your submissions! BE CREATIVE and show us water in unique ways!

Check out these stunning photo galleries featuring previous winners! Your upvotes and resteems will bring the talented photographers a better reward, so show them some love! :)

Mountains Monday Winners Week 3
Trees Tuesday Winners Week 3
Water Wednesday Winners Week 2
Time Lapse Thursday Winners Week 2
Flora and Fauna Friday Winners Week 2
Simple Sunday Winners Week 2

DAILY THEMES and judges for Week #3 (March 12 - 18)
Mountains Monday: @fivealive55
Trees Tuesday: @alevaskye
Water Wednesday: @scottshots
Textures Thursday: @markangeltrueman
Flora and Fauna Friday: @artizm
Simple Sunday: @jfolkmann

By submitting a photo, you agree to have it featured in the winners announcement post, and automatically entered in the weekly and monthly contests, should it be a winner.

Sort:  

AnnetteLakeSummerIG.jpg

Last year we spent a beautiful weekend floating in the crisp clear glacial fed waters of Annette Lake in the Rockies. I must say the temperature contrast up here between summer and winter is hard to fathom as an Australian. When were were up at this lake in winter it was a good 70 deg C (126 deg F) colder than it was on this summer day (from +35C down to -35C). Jasper National Park, Alberta. Canada

Image taken by and remains the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Pure Nirvana!

Glad you didn't try to get that shot in the winter... Beautiful scenery, colors, and photo. She looks pretty happy!

Wow, scuba diving in that water must be amazing. Just not in the winter hahahaha

Congratulations on being a winner in the Water Wednesday Nature Photo Contest Week 3! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

IMG_9932sm.jpg

The water and its amazing ability to change forms, to play with light and to create natural art... Water is life, water brings death, water is inside every single living creature, without it, planet Earth would be deserted.

So interesting. I like the color and shapes and shades.

Thank You! Just two elements create the whole picture - light and water...

Nice @photovisions! I do love the cold solid water... That picked up some interesting colors in the ice, I like it.

Thanks a lot friend!

That's amazing... and very clever!!

Thank You, great to know You like it!

I didn't realise it was ice until I saw one o the other comments. I thought it was some freakish bubble you managed to capture somehow. It's beautiful... and it is raining too, yes?

Haha :) thats the beauty of abstract art :). No, it is not a rain, it was -10 that day :). What I think You see is lines of air bubbles inside the crystal ice.

Indeed!! So everything we're looking at is frozen, that's not running water? Abstract indeed, I was totally off!

Hard cold ice only... And some air bubbles inside :) simple form but complex effect. Thanks fir comments!

WOW!! Even more amazing! : )

Is that ice? Now that @jayclar30 told I realised, but I just can't figure it out.
Great picture @photovisions!

It's tricky isn't it... I think you could ask 10 different people and get 10 different answers... I think it's great! : )

Exactly! Crazy forms.

Thank You! :) my pleasure to read it!

Love the colour !

A bit of a rainbow :). Thanks!

Praia da Malhada, Portugal

DSC_3689.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

This is a simple 1 sec exposure taken on a rocky beach on the silver coast of Portugal. These rocks disappear entirely under the waves at high tide so I had to work quite quickly for this one.

Congratulations on being a winner in the Water Wednesday Nature Photo Contest Week 3! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

That's amazing, thank you so much!

Your quick work was greatly rewarded! Beautiful scene and photo, I like the mood this one has.

Oooh wow. Lovely! 1 sec works for this!

Thanks - it was fun finding the "sweet spot" between too short (not smooth enough) and too long (lost the sense of the movement of the water. Glad you like it!

Does frozen water account? xD
If yes I'd like to present Perito Moreno Glacier, Argentina. one of the most breathtaking places I've ever visited.

I have no words to describe how it feels to be in front of tons and tons of millennial frozen water slowly moving and making sounds. That thing was, for sure, alive. At every piece breaking from the giant wall and hitting the water you could hear that enourmous Craaack sound followed by the brrr-booom!. Amazing!

Hi @mrprofessor, we need to keep the description under one paragraph. You're welcome to post more on your page and include the link to it though! Thank you!

Oops, my bad. Sometimes I talk to much. I'll edit.
Obs.: Edited ^~

As someone who lives in a snowy area, I'm going to say yes, frozen water counts. I have not shot crumbling glaciers before but it is on my bucket list. Nice shot @mrprofessor!

Thank you Scott! Glaciers are majestic, sad to know most of them are losing mass every year.

Sad indeed. I better hurry up and get to one if I want to experience that "crack brooom".

Epic! Yeah that crack, boom is intense to experience.

Thank you @alevaskye.
It is intense! You can feel the nature power, the whole thing is alive and moving.

This surely looks awesome! It's hard to get a feeling for the scale - how high is that glacier?

Thank you @yblith.
Perito Moreno is about 70 meters high, 240 km2 of area. Gigantic! That day I saw a piece that was half of the wall falling. Your can't imagine the sound when it hit the water.

Its epic there ! Frozen water is just as valid as liquid or vapor !

Thank you @intrepidphotos. Glaciers, the purest water ever. Have you ever been there?

This is my entry. It was shot very recently, 3 days ago during a hike through the forest. I'm slowly liking the symbiosis between hiking and photography - this was a first test of some dedicated hiking equipment.

Unfortunately, I did not bring a tripod with me - so my exposure time was not as high as I wanted it to be. Further shot details can be found by clicking the image :)

The light, the scenery, the composition... Very nice! Especially impressive that it was hand held. I finally bought a small super light carbon fiber tripod last year for my bigger hiking adventures. Totally worth it but you got the shot anyway!

Heh - thanks for the feedback!
Those carbon tripods are indeed tasty...my wife argues that going to the gym would probably be cheaper, though :|

Yeah but carrying all the weight of a heavy tripod will end up causing back problems, you'll end up having to see a chiropractor, and it will be more expensive in the long run... :)

That‘s a good one! Now let me write that down somewhere for future arguments regarding my buying behavior, hehe

This is beautiful . I think i recognize those trees from your magical place post.

Thanks! ...Seems like you're one of those followers spoken of in my post ;)

Congratulations on being a winner in the Water Wednesday Nature Photo Contest Week 3! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

For the last bit of sunlight left, I watch the water slowly waving. The light goes through it and lighten the sand at the bottom. It is spectacular what nature can create itself!!!
It is calming and beautiful, a moment I captured to share with you...

Location: Australia.

Those colors! I like it. And the contrasty abstract look. Well done!

Thank you very much for you comment, while walking in the water I was myself hypnotized buy the colors and these lines of light created by water.

I understand why, I love watching the light dance on Lake Tahoe's sand too.

Wow that is cool

Very cool and captivating :)

Congratulations on being a winner in the Water Wednesday Nature Photo Contest Week 3! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

Yes the color of that river is real. Took this on a wonderful hike up to Sahalie Falls on the McKenzie River in Central Oregon. PS-super easy hike just off the highway. I was in love with this water color!!!
DSC08816.jpg

Congratulations on being a winner in the Water Wednesday Nature Photo Contest Week 3! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

Also, that's super cool your son got into the film program! What does he want to do?

I love that water color too! Super cool abstract look to the shoreline. Nice shot!

Thanks, I'm stoked for my son. Ideally I think he would like to eventually work on a Star Wars or super hero film but really, he just likes being behind a video camera or directing a few camera operators for live broadcasting. He's the president of the media club at his high school and they do all kinds of filming/broadcasting of events. And he is currently interning for our local public TV station. Motivated kid!

This one is both beautiful and abstract - I love it when images trick my mind at first glance. Initially I thought we're standing on a high cliff, looking downwards to the sea with some...bird creatures...standing around :)

Amazing . Did you go diving there?

Not this time. It was a short hike. We were passing through on our way back to Spokane. And i took up most of the time we had to stop and take long exposures at every turn. Haha oops. 😜

This is Lake of the Woods at the south end of Crater Lake National Park in Oregon. When I go visit my family we often visit this beautiful lake.
The snow capped peak to the right is Mt. McLaughlin.

That blue... I love it! A very calming photo to me. That's another location on my bucket list... Nice shot @sjarvie5!

I picked it for you. Since you live by a beautiful lake and not too far away. It is so great cause it is completely surrounded by trees. Have you been to Crater Lake? You could do both in the same trip.

No... I haven't been to either yet. Truth is, I haven't traveled nearly enough. But really, I can't complain, I live in what I consider paradise. Thank you for picking that one for me!

I agree Tahoe and Truckee are up at the top of my list of places to visit. Especially in the winter. I love the snow and have seen gorgeous pictures of that area in the snow. Karen Hutton has some great work on Instagram.

Nice! I used to follow her on Google+, I'll have to look for her on Instagram... Let me know if you make it out here and I'll see if I can meet up for some photography fun!

I will a Steemit photo meet up would be fun.

Nice ! Need to spend more time in Oregon.

DSC_0109.jpg

Made this photo Burien, WA (USA) during the spring of 2016.

Settings: ISO 100, f/10, 1/6 s.

Shoreline abstracts are always so much fun to shoot. Nice one @monotharch!

Thank you sir! :)

Ok, so this one is really old, about 10 years old photo.
Little waterfalls are formed by closing the dam on the river, and the water that should enter the small Tesla hydro power plant, overflows through a series of plants and trees, back to the river.
Location: West part of contry Serbia.

Wow thats cool. Looks like its falling off a road!

Creative look @mcertic! Thank you for sharing this beautiful shot from Serbia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78