You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WATER WEDNESDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST IS OPEN!

in #naturephotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Does frozen water account? xD
If yes I'd like to present Perito Moreno Glacier, Argentina. one of the most breathtaking places I've ever visited.

I have no words to describe how it feels to be in front of tons and tons of millennial frozen water slowly moving and making sounds. That thing was, for sure, alive. At every piece breaking from the giant wall and hitting the water you could hear that enourmous Craaack sound followed by the brrr-booom!. Amazing!

Sort:  

Hi @mrprofessor, we need to keep the description under one paragraph. You're welcome to post more on your page and include the link to it though! Thank you!

Oops, my bad. Sometimes I talk to much. I'll edit.
Obs.: Edited ^~

As someone who lives in a snowy area, I'm going to say yes, frozen water counts. I have not shot crumbling glaciers before but it is on my bucket list. Nice shot @mrprofessor!

Thank you Scott! Glaciers are majestic, sad to know most of them are losing mass every year.

Sad indeed. I better hurry up and get to one if I want to experience that "crack brooom".

Epic! Yeah that crack, boom is intense to experience.

Thank you @alevaskye.
It is intense! You can feel the nature power, the whole thing is alive and moving.

This surely looks awesome! It's hard to get a feeling for the scale - how high is that glacier?

Thank you @yblith.
Perito Moreno is about 70 meters high, 240 km2 of area. Gigantic! That day I saw a piece that was half of the wall falling. Your can't imagine the sound when it hit the water.

Its epic there ! Frozen water is just as valid as liquid or vapor !

Thank you @intrepidphotos. Glaciers, the purest water ever. Have you ever been there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18