Rediscovering Music - Songs/Videos and Dreams (Part 4)

in #music6 years ago

Dreaming of that Perfectly Perfect


My genre choice for being in this peace & quiet mindset is punk rock/alternative. I haven’t listened to this genre in some time so it’s hard to find my flavor of alternative in today’s new music style. Some are too hardcore with the shouting and damage done to my eardrums. I like this genre, but still enjoy the words behind the music. So I tried turning to some old favorites.

Simple Plan was once a favorite band back, back when. I'm addic- I'm addicted to you. Listening to them now, well, they are a bit childish for my more mature mindset.

However, I came across one song by Simple Plan that I never heard of before. I absolutely love the song and video. That got me into watching music videos, not simply listening to the songs themselves. Bullseye! I found some really good songs/music video combination.

snippets.jpg

Life is not always shiny and bright. Sometimes stars twinkle and fade away. The night sky becomes just a little bit darker with the loss of that shining light. These songs and the accompanying videos inspires us all to dream...because that’s what love does right? It brings out the best in all of us and inspires us to reach for the stars.

So again, here is my music list as of today! Songs and videos that inspires us to dream of that Perfectly Perfect. It will probably change tomorrow, but I will enjoy these songs today.

Simple Plan - Perfectly Perfect


Simple Plan was once a favorite on my playlist. This song is about finding someone accepting both the beauty and flaws we all possess. There are stories on how each couple meet, and how they see traits about themselves as imperfections, yet, it’s perfect to someone else.

Maybe I'm a fool but it's always been you
'Cause no one ever makes me smile the way you do

Maybe
You'll never see in you what I see
The little things you do that make me go crazy
I'm not crazy
You're perfectly perfect…to me

Ed Sheeran - All Of The Stars


This song is based on the movie, “The Fault in Our Stars”. I couldn’t get myself to watch the movie, which is a romantic tragedy about two teenage cancer patients. Ed Sheeran’s video in this song is a compilation of affirmations quite fitting to the song and movie subject.

It's just another night
And I'm staring at the moon
I saw a shooting star
And thought of you

So open your eyes and see
The way our horizons meet
And all of the lights will lead
Into the night with me
And I know these scars will bleed
But both of our hearts believe
All of these stars will guide us home

Michael Bublé - I Believe in You


Michael Bublé is another artist I like listening to, my favorite song of his being “Home”. I love the music video for thig song though. It’s about a childhood love that blossoms into the kind of love everyone dreams of feeling one day. The beautiful ever after.

And all I want
Is to know you're near
You're all I need here

I believe in starting over
I can see that your heart is true
I believe in good things coming back to you
You're the light that lifts me higher
So bright, you guide me through
I believe in you

We The Kings - Sad Song ft. Elena Coats


This video is a tear-jerker. It really is a sad song but beautiful in a way because it shows that love strongly impacts our emotions and life. We have to remember to enjoy every moment in life because you never know what will happen.

You and I, we're like fireworks and symphonies exploding in the sky
With you, I'm alive
Like all the missing pieces of my heart, they finally collide
So stop time right here in the moonlight
'Cause I don't ever wanna close my eyes

Kodaline - The One


I didn’t really like this song at first, too slow for my mood right now. The video makes the song, imo. It’s about a missed opportunity. Sometimes, it really is about the timing when two people find each other.

Cause you make my heart feel like it’s summer
When the rain is pouring down
You make my whole world feel so right when it’s wrong
That’s why I know you are the one

Train - Marry Me


I like the song more so than the video. There is just something soulful with how he sings this song.

Promise me
You'll always be
Happy by my side
I promise to
Sing to you
When all the music dies

And marry me
Today and everyday

End of Research


Today’s post is the 3rd and last post in my Stemit research. I thought it would be interesting to analyze the method of growth on Steemit for a Redfish (from my own Redfish status). TOC: in terms of ROI for a 7 day period.

Post 3: Organic growth using generic Steemit tags, except I will continue to use the #nobidbot tag. My supporters would be the individuals that kindly show their support to me. They either like my sarcasm humor, my amateurish photography, or my song posts, which is really my way of ranting to the world.

This post is simply about my interest. I don’t have much time to write or engage online these days, so this 3rd post will have to be a song post. At least I haven’t resorted to a single flower photography, meme, or giphy post yet! Be glad that’s not showing up on your feed!


It really is taking me longer and longer to get back to comments. Just know:

Links to Parts 1, 2 & 3 in my journey in Rediscovering Music

alt text alt textalt text


Thank you for stopping by! Have a BEE-ATIFIC day!

beeyou copy-paula.jpg

Image Sources:

Simple Plan,Ed Sheeran & Affirmation Snippets,Michael Buble,We The Kings,Kodaline,Train,Minnion giphy

Beeyou image by@seaslim

Sort:  

Before I forget, what's #nobidbot all about, besides the obvious? :)

Love your choices here! Simple Plan takes me back a few years haha, but the song you found is really good. Also love Ed Sheeran (I read that book long before the movie came out and it is really awesome...I refused to see the movie for that reason!), Michael Buble, one of my favorites (check out the comment I left smylie here), and Brian and I love Train, especially Drops of Jupiter!

And from one sarcastic beatch to another, carry on!!! :)

I saw @glenalbrethsen got to you first. Thanks Glen. Stop by anytime! It can take time for me to get around, even on my post, so I appreciate it. @davemccoy used to help me on this part but he has gone MIA on me. Off helping others with his Dust buster! Definitely a better cause.

I only started using the nobidbot tag on these experiment posts to see what support I would get from that community. Actually don’t know much about it really. If you check the trending for #nobidbot, you’ll see the same names on trending. They are either supported by FTG, Curie, or some other whale or another. Only reason I saw my posts there at the bottom is because of the community support I received from Matt and comedyopenmic, and a random support from redes who has shown support to me before.

I really don’t know what support #nobidbot give but Glen gave some more ‘in the works’ project they seem to have.

As for Simple Plan, I forgot you’re originally from Canada and you should know of them since they’re from there. I really wanted to write an altern post with their songs I love back when, but music taste changes with age. I do love the new song I discovered and happy they can still be in my fav list today.

I don’t think I can get myself to read the book or watch the movie, Fault in our Stars. Some sadness are better left in the unopened book covers. Same reason why I can’t read too many Nicholas Sparks’ books. Great writer but every ending will result in tears.

I’m glad we share some of the same love in artist choice. Also on the beatch part. 😉

Hey @davemccoy didn't go MIA, he just has been sleeping a lot trying to heal his leg wounds... I'm around but I am glad that everyone kinda slowed down a bit to let this gimpy old man have a chance. ;)

Dave McCoy should know that his friends are here if he ever wants to vent. Get rested and feel better soon!

I do know ;) ... thank you @beeyou :)

Sure Cap!

Leg wounds? Gimpy? How do I keep missing out on things you're involved in?!

Who's slowing down? Did I miss that, too? :)

lol... yes I have had my first ever bout with sciatica... And I can tell you that it is not very fun... Its literally a pain in the ass! I have spent the last 4 days sleeping about 14 hours a day, so my steemit/sleep ratio completely reversed.

I'm still feeling it, but at least not sleeping every day all day... So I am the gimpy old man and looking forward to the day where I get fixed.

Oh, okay. That I did know about. It just flare up? My wife has been suffering from that for a few years now, although apparently not as severely as you. She finds laying down to be more painful sometimes than not.

If you get fixed, please let me know how and I will pass it on. :)

I don't know, it is the first time I've ever experienced it... I am hoping that when I get it fixed I don't have it happen again... I have already made many pledges to exercise and eat right if it does heal, so maybe this will be the only time I get it...

And yes if I get fixed, I will let you know... :)

haha the pledges we make when we are suffering :)

You got a 0.58% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @davemccoy!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Come on old man! Buck up already :)

Half-kidding as they say in my house :) Hopefully you are feeling better Dave..for real !!

yes I know... having to go to the physical therapist is a loser move... I am ashamed, very ashamed :P

Isn't it difficult when our brains remain tied to our younger selves, but our bodies simply won't cooperate? My dad says when he wakes up in the morning, he is startled by that guy looking back at him in the mirror and often asks out loud, "who the hell are you?" haha

yes... I think that all the time... In my mind I can be easily a little boy, a teenager, or even a young man in my 20s... But the body doesn't cooperate... It makes me wish I appreciated those younger days a little more than I did.

No kidding. Brian and I were just lamenting the other day about how quickly life has gone by. The curse of being young...you never appreciate it until you're old :)

Well, not going to be filling either one of Dave's shoes anytime soon, but if I can help out with some information, I try. I'm glad to see it didn't take the week Lynn was predicting for you to respond. (rolls eyes). 😬

As for the added support, I just received a random upvote from transparency bot on my last post, so it appears to be happening now. I guess as long as it's random, it'll be okay. I'm not really expecting compensation for using the tag. I just want to support the tag and be seen by others who support the tag while seeing the posts of those who use the tag.

Lynn is not too far off..it did take me almost a week to get back to this comment. I consider it great if I can get back before post payout. I'm not always lucky sometimes.

Glad to know transparency bot is randomly visiting the posts! I'll use the tag if it's appropriate. ;)

Cool thing about the nobidbot tag is it's always appropriate, unless you're using a bidbot. Then, not-so-much. I've forgotten to use it a time or two because it's new and since I have a story I'm putting up here in installments, I've had another tag I've been using previous. So that took a couple of tries to remember the nobidbot tag.

You take however long you have to. If that means you don't ever get back to a reply, no biggie. This isn't meant to be work on top of the paying work you already have. It's meant to be more fun than that. But there's only so many hours in the day, and there's only so much we can do in those hours. :)

haha (rolls eyes) You caught her on a good week :)

I made it this far on the comments with this post, looked down at how many comments have to be answered, and am calling it a night.

hahaha I always knew you were a smart woman! :)

Lol, he caught me on a good day! Your estimate was a more likely scenario. I even stated it on one of my posts so fair warning was given. :)

I'm sure @beeyou could answer this just as well, but since I'm here, the nobidbot tag is an effort to basically come up with a trending page free of bots. There's supposed to be more to it, like a post lists and some potential random upvotes from transparency bot, for now it's the tag.

I like Michael Bublé, too. In fact, he's the only one I recognize here. Okay, Ed Sheeran, too, but I haven't heard more than one or two of his songs and I couldn't tell you which ones. :)

I kind of lost the modern music groove back in the early 2000's and was kind of sporadic for a few years before that. So, Creed is about as modern as I get right now. Otherwise, it's 80s music and back. :)

Thanks for the information on the nobidbot thing. @beeyou will answer me in about 7 days haha Right beeyou? :)

And Creed...hahaha Glen, I love Creed, but I don't think we can call is 'modern' ;)

Well, I knew @beeyou is pretty busy, so hopefully she won't mind.

That's why I said as modern as I get. So late 90s, early 2000s is pretty much as modern as I get, with a couple of songs here and there that come later.

Otherwise, I'm generally in the 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s, and occasionally the 40s. :)

I actually listen to music from the 20's, 30's and 40's a lot; not a huge fan of wop-d'-wop 50's, 60's and 70's I love, 80's and 90's hit and miss. Depending on my mood, that's what I listen to. The playlists on my Spotify account appear as though 10 different people are on it with me. The Seven Song Faces of Eve :)

Wow. Back to the 20s and 30s. Well, okay. I guess there are plenty of songs from back then that I've heard before. Just don't have them on any playlist. I like do-whop, but I don't really have that anywhere, either. Are you not a fan of the male falsetto? That I can agree with, if that's what you mean. I like songs best that I can at least attempt to sing along with and my voice just doesn't get that high, nor sound that good in the attempt.

I don't use Spotify, really. All the music I have is either ripped from a CD or downloaded from iTunes onto an iPod or an iPhone.

Correct. Not a fan of the male falsetto :)

My ipod died and I discovered Spotify. I love it!

Same here with losing the music groove. I started listening to audiobooks since I love reading but never have time anymore. So I had to result to the audiobook rendition. I miss relaxing with a good book though, that feeling can never be replaced. I only started listening to music again weeks ago and realized I miss the jams. Something soothing about music that brings about a different kind of joy than reading.

Only like one last breath by Creed. I do love 80’s but too slow for my mood at the moment. My favorite is Peter Cetera. Grew up listening to Chicago, Bonnie Raitt, Phil Collins... all on the top of my list if I’m in that slow mood.

I'd have to say my favorite 80s music comes from Robert Palmer (Simply Irresistible, Addicted To Love), Kenny Loggins (I'm Alright, Footloose), Billy Joel (An Innocent Man album, but a lot of others, like Piano Man) The Cars, INXS, ZZ Top, (and then it kind of breaks up and goes all over the place after that). I like a lot of the Chicago songs, too.

I've been doing a lot of writing since getting on Steemit so I haven't done as much reading. I've never listened to an audio book, but I can see their appeal.

Been meaning to get over here all week, just to say hi.
I have been in a non music phase for a while now myself. I got interested in AI. Just imagine Elon Musk in the background explaining neural lace.
Think I will just hit play on one of your vids and lighten up a bit.

Stop by anytime. You know it takes me days to get back to my comments. :)

You brain has to shut off sometimes. It'll go haywire if you use it too much. I'm sure AI talks would probably fry out all my brain cells. I find music to be very soothing so will stick with that instead.

punk rock/alternative...oh yeahhh

I can't seem to find any new ones I like though.

Sorry, I can't really help you there. I think that genre has fallen in value tbh...also, most of that style of music I listen to is not in English:)

Yeah I can’t seem to find any good new ones so you are probably right. Some international songs are great, but I love the words in the music too. Tough one there since I wouldn’t understand the meaning.

I don’t even listen to my culture’s music. Like this song here, all the hype when it came out. Everyone singing karaoke to it all the time and played at every cool party. I never got into it like them.

P.S., it’s not in English 😉 It’s called teardrops so another broken hearted guy story.

That's cool...you should listen to some more music from your own heritage at times.

So there is actually a way to translate lyrics from another language, as long as you know the name of song. Even though it doesn't always translate perfectly, you still get a general outline of the meaning.

Here is a translation of this song in English.
https://lyricstranslate.com/en/%CE%BF-%CE%B2%CE%B1%CF%83%CE%B9%CE%BB%CE%B9%CE%AC%CF%82-%CF%84%CE%B7%CF%82-%CF%83%CE%BA%CF%8C%CE%BD%CE%B7%CF%82-king-dust.html

Your song choices are as deep as your reading material. Singing of a time of gods and dust. It’s cool and I really like the words. It has a rock beat to it but still too slow for my mood right now. I want something like this but more noise, with a modern flair.

Although not altern, I still find myself listening to this duo. Just something soothing to the soul with these two. I don’t listen to foreign songs I don’t understand, but can listen to this one forever.

I should have sent over the first song with the English subtitles. Song might actually make sense. I can’t get myself to listen to many of my heritage’s songs. They are either too slow or too cultural. I don’t mind listening to them at weddings or parties but not so much for pleasure.

I think I'm starting to get a little spammy in here😂Besides now this is starting to get a little too lovey dovey, even for my tastes😝

That’s why I said I want some new alternative songs! 😛

Pumping out the jams, eh?

Don't recognize anyone here but Michael Bublé and Ed Sheeran, and him very sparingly. More or less I know who he is. :)

It is cool to get insights on what people like in music. Music has a tendency to communicate the moods we're in, or where our mind is at during certain periods of time.

I don't listen to a lot of music anymore. It's hard to do while posting, commenting and curating. Some people can do it, it seems to heighten their senses. Not me. I just lose concentration. :)

I enjoy listening to music. Not sure when I stopped, but I'm enjoying picking it back up again. I definitely agree, music does convey the emotions of the moment. My music choice seems to fluctuate a lot lately..I guess it replicates the busy motions of my life. :)

It is hard to listen to music and multi-task on Steemit. That's why I listen to music and stop at the more light-hearted posts nowadays, like photography or comedy. They don't need me to power up the mind so much. :)

By the way, congrats on making to the top spot once again in the Curation league. You are kickin' ass!

Thank you for saying so. It's mainly a matter of time, though.

I've got more time than most (at least for now). Sure, there's some work to it, but if you have ten hours a day to throw at something instead of three or four, it can mean more stuff gets done. Not always, but generally, over the course of time, the results pile up.

I'm trying to put in as much as I can to build up my stake. I don't think I can keep up the amount of time I'm spending forever, but I am going to try for as long as I can. And since the leagues push me harder, and I benefit from them as people see me out there commenting and trying to add value to their posts, I think it's a win-win.

At some point I need to get back into music. Not sure when exactly. I do some karaoke from time to time, and I sing in a church choir, but that's about it. I find I like the peace and quiet more. Gives me a chance to think and dream of better days. :)

I think it's great that you do take the time to stop by people's posts and give a sincere comment. It is definitely a win-win because you get to know them, and they you. I know I always appreciate it when you stop by. I may not get a chance to comment back to all, at least not right away. I know there are some comments you made that I read but haven't had a chance to reply back , like one I asked you about the gentle bot weeks ago. :)

Dreaming of better days is always a wonderful past time. :) Music does make those dreams seem within arms reach.

I'd like to take the credit for my actions, really, but I'm more or less doing what I understand I'm supposed to be doing: posting, commenting and curating. And, since smaller comments aren't considered comments more than they are spam, well, that means I need to leave something a little longer. Generally, that means trying to reply in as complete a manner as possible.

You don't have to worry about replying back to me. You don't have a lot of time, and there's always something better to be doing, like being outdoors, so no worries. I'm just glad you saw my reply and hopefully it will be useful.

Ranting to the world? But it's hardly a rant to me. 😂😂😂

I only know three or four songs in there... Will check on the rest.

Subtle ranting. :) Just my way of expressing my thoughts and interests. Saw your Beatles song post. Too happy for my mood right now. I need to find some more alternative songs to listen to.

Haha, it's not noticeable even if you said it. 😂

Too happy? Then my first music post might be better if you're raging on something. 😁

The Beatles post is for the currently sad ones.

Will have to check out your other posts. I don't seem to have much time for Steemit nowadays. I can reply to a couple comments a day when I'm on at night, then it's bedtime already. Hard to get to everyone or even look at my feed anymore.

That's alright. Take your time 👍

You know Im a HUGE fan of your sarcasm humor! ;)

Michael Bublé is one of my faves on your list today! Ive loved him since I first heard him. I love that old sound in his music and voice! Perfection! :D

Hey @smylie! When we lived in Vancouver, Michael Buble's apartment was across the way from us and he had a piano on his "patio" (which was more like a second apartment outside haha), but I often got to hear him playing outside when the weather was nice! Such cool memories, I will never forget. Saw him live once also in Vancouver before he got "big"...so awesome!!

Oh man! That would be awesome! Lucky you :D

It was awesome! and I do feel very lucky to have witnesses it ;)

That must have been awesome!!

It was so cool. Pretty surreal actually; out on my patio, the ocean breeze, and Michael Buble crooning. So unbelievable :)

I think that would be branded in my memories for all times.

Totally is!!!

I am also a huge fan of your happy spirit. It’s good to have your shining light spreading good vibes around. You have been missed!

I love Home by Michael most. So soulful. I really had wanted to write a post on alternative songs since I need my peace and quiet but stumbled upon music videos on love instead. So it became songs on dreams. Since I can’t seem to find new altern songs to add to my next song list, I may have to write another sarcastic funny post. 😀

Haha! Do it!

Yes, Home is one of my faves! They just dont make alternative songs like they used to. Im always going to be a fan of older songs, from country to alternative to r&b to gangsta rap! :P The 90's music have my heart! <3

I love the 90's, but I can't listen to them as much anymore. Too slow, but agree, they don't make music as they used to anymore. Gangsta rap? Lol, I wouldn't peg you for that!

I like Simple Plan and Taka's version of Summer Paradise. Taka is from ONE OK ROCK, a Japanese band. They are also good. Taka's voice blends well with Pierre's (I have to Google Pierre's name lol! I only know them as Simple Plan). I am partial to voices blending and harmonizing. I guess it is the years of being in a choir back in school. That stuck to me. That's why I love Boyz 2 Men. So back to Summer Paradise. Taka had some Japanese lines in there which adds exotic touch to the song.

I have had enough of Ed Sheeran though. I do not intend listening to him. If YT is in autoplay and his songs come to play sometimes I don't even recognize it is him. That's how I don't know much about him.

So which is your way of ranting? The photography or the songs? :D I rant in my posts but nobody seem to notice haha!

The words and video of Perfectly Perfect got to me the first time I saw it. I think the intro got me in the mood and the setting of black and white which made it dramatic.

I could listen to Michael Buble all day.

Is this a proposal? haha! The songs somehow lead to it.

I like Summer Paradise! Thanks for the intro to the duo. Yes, they sound great together. Sigh summer paradise..reminds me of days long gone. :)

I still love the Ed Sheeran song with Andrea Bocelli. That was in my first song post weeks ago but I still listen to it. That song is just so soothing. I only started listening to Ed Sheeran. I heard of the popular radio songs, but enjoy the ones that are not so popular more.

Do you rant in your posts? I haven't had a chance to stop by lately. Not as active on Steemit at the moment. Life is so busy. :( I do miss those wonderful photos of yours.

My rant is through words and songs..I'm too amateurish with my photography. Songs are just the ones I'm listening to at the moment. Sometimes I feel happy, sad, and sometimes I just want some peace & quiet. :)

I don't know how I was a Simple Plan fan but never heard of Perfectly Perfect until the day I wrote the post. I really like it! The video is just as great as the song.

Lol on the proposal. No, proposal is a thing of the past and road I've already been on. All the songs just remind me of dreams. Dreams of that perfect love.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 39 SBD worth and should receive 156 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks for stopping by @trufflepig. Glad to see you're growing!

Great selection, great post, great idea.
There are so many great things i read here.
There are some songs i really like
and some others i never heard before.
Interesting. I have to look them up.
Anyhow, have a great sunday.

Thanks for stopping by @triplef. I know I'm a few days behind and it's almost the weekend again. :) I'm glad you like some of the same songs that I do. I hope you will have a great weekend ahead!

It has been a crazy week so far for me so thank you for your wish. I am sorry i am behind with my submission for this week. Hopefully i won't miss it :P .

Nice post @beeyou, it's amazing how hearing an old song can flood you with incredibly graphic memory recall of some past event whilst listening to that song :)
and #nobidbot is the brainchild of @whatamidoing, an amazing blogger on steemit.
Peace.

Hi @bobaphet. Thanks for stopping by! I'll have to check your blog if you made another entry for comedyopenmic. A quick peruse looks like you are a DTuber. I can never get into videos, although I wish I could! All the SP support are there. If only!

Some songs can bring back memories, the good and the bad. :)

I've met whatamidoing. Definitely an awesome Steemian!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66