You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Practice Authentic Self Promotion

in #motivation7 years ago

Currently in a situation where I need to distinguish myself from my coworkers. They are less experienced under-achievers. But they're more established and so far have shown me that they consider me a threat.

My natural MO is like yours was. Work hard, be exceptional, and wait for recognition. Years of expeeience has taught me otherwise. You'd be very lucky to find a boss smart enough to recognize who is and isn't beneficial.

Thanks for this, helped align me with

Sort:  

That truly makes me feel good to know this is going to help you!

Be you, be honest and authentic, and don't be afraid to show them! Be your biggest cheerleader :)

Please let me know how this goes for you! Come back in a few months with a report :)

Still in training. Going to just listen observe and learn until I'm out. Then I've got to work harder than all of them and align myself with the manager faction by listening to them and findibg out how to make their lives easier. Once I've had a moment of truth or two I'm going to tell my superiors I want a promotion to trainer. If I get there, I'll be able to train and lead by example. The managers will notice and the staff will respect me.

I've done it before. I've also failed at it before. But talking to yoy about this helped.

That sounds like a good plan. May I ask what field you're in?

I'm in the restaurant and hospitality industry. A new concept has opened a couple of months ago in a ritzy area. I'm the "rock star" the store manager has brought in to help him bring it up to speed and communicate with directly. My title currently gives me authority over nothing.

I'm in Houston and the standards here are very high. The competition is very high.

Oh, yes, Houston. I know the area well. Well, I know you know what to do. Very stressful, I can imagine, but if it's worth it, rock it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26