Steemit advice from a 16 day old minnowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowsunite7 years ago


Source

When I initially joined Steemit 16 days ago I had reservations. Why would anybody pay me to write a blog? There had to be a catch. I wrote an introduceyourself post and was surprised to earn a nice $20.53 for it, which happens to be around $2.53 more than Facebook or Twitter have ever paid me. Huh, maybe there's something to this I thought.


Source

My followers steadily rose and I'm now sitting at 379 - nice. Seeing how much I was enjoying the platform and sick of hearing me singing it's praises, my other half joined last week. The next few posts didn't earn much so maybe my first was a fluke. No matter, I was enjoying this platform and read many interesting posts from all around the world. Steemit has a good vibe. I paid attention to great posts offering advice to fresh minnows like myself, from Steemians such as @aggroed @papa-pepper @trevonjb @shayne and many others, absorbing their collective knowledge like a human shaped sponge.


Source

I began posting about my 3D model project to gauge any interest - upvotes and comments started trickling in. It was nice that my hobby interested my fellow Steemians but I was shocked when part 2 netted me an amazing 208 votes and a whopping $268.44! To top it off it featured on the trending page for a while. Amazed, humbled and very grateful I finally saw the true potential for a newcomer such as myself.

As nice as earning money is, the community spirit that holds Steemit together is I think it's greatest asset. Everywhere I look I find support and encouragement for fellow Steemians. This came sharply into focus for me earlier this week when I read @darthnava 's post where he shared some bad news about an upcoming operation he desperately needs. The community rallied together, made sure to resteem and upvote his post and many donations were made directly to help pay towards his medical bills. @darthnava 's post remains on the trending page and has alone made an truly incredible $16,602.08 with 3304 upvotes and countless resteems. If you haven't helped yet, seriously - why not? If you can't afford to donate some Steem or a Steem dollar or two every upvote and resteem helps.


Source

16 days in I feel comfortable with imparting some knowledge to freshly arrived Steemians.

  • ENGAGE - this is probably the biggest piece of advice I can give.You have to build up your brand and your reputation. You could write the best example of modern literature but without an eager audience it won't gain you much traction. Engage responsibly - by this I mean to take the time to get to know your fellow Steemians, actually read their posts and offer constructive comments. DO NOT under any circumstances go to a post and write Great post. Upvote and follow me - oh and here's my post. Make a point of replying to every comment you receive in an equally constructive way: it shows you appreciate all comments and this builds up your reputation as a great Steemian.
  • GAIN A FOLLOWING - the more people that follow you, the more exposure your posts will have giving you the possibility of more votes and comments. One of the ways I have gotten 379 followers in 16 days is to regularly open the new tab and search for introduceyourself posts by newbies. I have taken the the time to read their post and gotten to know them, welcomed them warmly to the platform while showing that I have seen what was written. No I followed you, follow me nonsense, it just looks bad - trust me.

  • DON'T COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS - it can be disheartening to see posts making hundreds or even thousands of dollars while you struggle to make 10 cents. It takes time, time for you to establish yourself, get a reputation, develop your blog and get a following that actively engages with you. This isn't a sprint, it's a marathon. You will not be a success overnight. Do not concentrate on the money, make your primary goal be to create the very best content you can. Check for spelling and grammar, format your post in an eye pleasing way. Take the extra time to refine and present it the very best way you can. Effort shows and effort pays off in the long run.

...and finally...

HAVE FUN!

Steem on my dudes and dudettes


Source



Click the picture to read about my steemgigs service - English proof reading - if you need help with spelling or grammar


Sort:  

I too am very new to the site and am loving the supportive energy here. I can't wait till I start converting my friends into Steemians. Many of them are fantastic artists and writers and Steem is such a better platform for their work. Cheers!

More artists and artwork is always welcome!
Thanks for your comment

Anytime! I feel that for once commenting is worthwhile... instead of grabbing a glass of Cabernet and flaming someone out for their politics on Facebook. This community is so refreshing.

I know what you mean. I deleted my Facebook account a month ago and don't miss the drama one bit

12 months of political drama, name calling, and general shit talkery have me completely put out.

We were so much older then, were younger then that now😄 Was back scrolling and found this, a gem you may remember.

Oh those were the days...

I'd say, 'Ahhh, to be 25 again' but we all know that's the wrong way to go😄

Thank you so much @gmuxx 😀😀 you're helping us newbies to understand it more 😀

Thanks for your kind words. I'm happy you found it useful

Thanks to you, too. Looking forward of seeing great posts coming from you that helps us a lot with our journey here. 😀💖

I concur with all you said. I don't remember the exact date I joined, but it had to be right around the same time as you, and literally all of the things you have done I have as well and with the same success! Like you said though the best part about this place are the amazing people you meet, it really is incredible.

It really is, fantastic community

Thanks for your comment

I'm an smaller minnow with hardly a week of experience. I love your advice because I advocate the same after seeing the magic of steemit. It's an incredible community that really cares.

I wrote a detailed guide on how to join steemit (and it was my 3rd day on steemit) and how to get the maximum benefit from it. It was received so well by the community here and has since earned me over $200 as well.
Here's the link.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ilyastarar/introducing-steemit-to-100-million-pakistani-internet-users

Thank you for your comment and congratulations on that post, you did really well with that!

Thank you very much!

And thank you for following. I just saw my list and followed you as well. Glad to connect.

Thanks for sharing and encouraging. I am trying to meet new people on here and follow your footsteps so to speak. One of the things I have noticed on here are the posts about steemit and bitcoin always get the most up votes. But I personally do not feel I have enough knowledge at this time to write about those things.

I admit, for me it is about the money. I have two web sites I have blogged on, but do not make any money there. I could really use some extra income so after a friend recommended it I came here. But alas I see that friend has given up and is no longer writing anything. Perhaps their subjects do not hold as much interest either? I don't know. And I do not know for sure why he is no longer here. He has not returned any of my messages although I see him online on other forums. Guess time will tell.

Keep on keeping on my friend!!

Thank you. I admit that as I am unable to work this is a great way to make money, but it will come at its own pace. Its sad people who don't have instant success give up: it takes time

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $36.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think that's the key. Having a topic you can post regularly about rather than the"Throw enough mud against the wall and eventually something will stick." method.

Very sage advice. I think it was @shayne who said to stick to 2 or 3 different topics so your followers know what kind of future posts to expect from you.

Some great advice, I'm much the same as you (without so many followers), good luck and I hope that you keep driving on :-)

Thank you! Add another one to your follows 😉

You are very good, one more step towards Steemit domination ;-)

Haha, thanks. Don't know about domination but it would be nice to rise to dolphin one day

this is great adivice @gmuxx. sincerely engaging users on the platform will bring long-term rewards. good luck and continue to share your advice.

Thank you for your kind words. We have to support each other, this way we all grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72