Metal Tree: [2nd Edition] Metal Genealogy - Family Tree - Evolution - Beginning of a series of posts [Metal Tree: 1]

in #metaltree7 years ago (edited)


This is the 2nd Edition of a popular series of posts I wrote last year and early into this year. I enjoyed making the posts and people enjoyed them. I am going to repost these, but they will not be complete reposts. I will also add to them based upon comments from the original posts and will also add potentially new information I can find. I may add some more branches to the tree as well. These will all be under the tags #metaltree, #metal, #music, #history, #anthropology


I wrote a post on documentaries the other day about metal. One of the documentaries I covered in the most depth was Metal Evolution by Banger Films and Sam Dunn. It only had that one season and then was done.

During the series it keeps showing a very colorful chart, or family tree if you will of many sub-genres of Heavy Metal music. It had many band names listed, and it gave hope for a lot of cool future episodes of Metal Evolution. That never happened. In addition, the episodes that do focus on some of those nodes of the tree only touch upon some of the bands listed.

I have decided I am going to do my own series where I go through each of the nodes on that tree and perhaps some nodes from trees made by other people on the internet. I would like to explore Heavy Metal and it's sub-genres and make a Metal Tree.

I suspect it will take me quite awhile to get through this tree. I will post no more than one such post per day, and I will likely skip some days occasionally. I will most likely not make posts of this nature on the weekends, but I may change my mind depending upon where the inspiration takes me. I will tag these posts with the tag #metaltree .

#metaltree

I will also steer you towards the works of people like Sam Dunn, and other artists. I fully expect to learn a lot during this process as well as there were many things on Sam's chart that I was unfamiliar with.

I know not all of my followers are into metal. This is another reason I am limiting myself to a single such post per day. That will leave me up to 3 other posts that I can use to write about other things.

Banger Films does have a poster version of their Metal Evolution Family Tree for sale on their website for $100. That's pretty expensive, but it is out there if any of you are die hard collectors and are up to it.


Links To Original Posts In this Series


If you don't want to wait for my 2nd edition version. Here are links to all the previous posts on the 1st Edition of this series.


Sort:  

Although I did not read your original posts but these reposts will let me know more about you and I will learn a lot from these reposts. I have to give them a lot of time now onwards.

whoop! i will rather rather call it metal photoshop tree. thus it's beautiful and reflect creativity. great post boss

The tree was actually a 3D Tree in Unity that I changed it's normal material that was bark, and leaves and such to be instead a chrome texture. :) The rest of the image though is indeed photoshop. :)

If you are curious I am pretty sure I started with this tree:

I changed the bark to the chrome texture. I changed the leaves to a metal grid like texture.

That is the Tree of Life from the Apocalyptic City Pack asset from the Unity Asset Store.

you are truely creative, keep up the good job

I decided to make a new header for the 2nd edition.

Loading...

Looking forward to the 2nd editions. Your original posts were how I discovered you on steemit. I've been enjoying your work ever since.

I woke up early this morning thinking about redoing this series as it is one I enjoyed making. I wanted to make a new signature first. I have my first draft of a new signature in play.

Nice concept and awesome article.😛😛

@dwinblood you have done extraordinary I love your new series
Metal Genealogy - Family Tree - Evolution - Beginning of a series of posts
i hope this series will be so intresting and Steemit community can Learn a lot.
Thanks for great Sharing and for consistency !

Listening to Metal and Hiphop since I am 12 years old.

I know almost every band on that tree.

My favorite bands are Death and Electric Wizard.

My favorite song is "Sadiowitch" by Electric Wizard.

I haven't found a censored version so beware, there is nudity and heavy drug use in this video.

I love heavy uncensored lyrics, heavy bass and everything else that is brutal.

This is also the reason why I like hip-hop, it lacks the eguitar but it makes up for that with heavy lyrics, heavy bass, and deep voices.

Yes, I started with that poster but went beyond it in the 1st edition with more bands than were in the poster. I'll go further this time around.

Metalception level 5 for grand wizards. Can't wait to see the results.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33