You can have your Game of Thrones and Metal at the same time... it does the mind good. [Metal Tree: 9]

in #metaltree8 years ago

This post in the series deals with Power Metal. This series began in this original post here which has all of the posts so far linked at the very bottom. Power Metal can span multiple sub-genres as far as where the member bands come from. The main thing that all of these share seems to be the melding of fantasy and mythological elements with the metal. Swords, Sorcery, and Metal!!! This is a recipe for a very good sonic meal.

Thinking of this combination makes me think of Arnold Schwarzenegger as Conan as he recites the Riddle of Steel. Here are some scenes to set the mood. They are not metal, but instead have the awesome sound track by Basil Poledouris, but they would make awesome metal.


As I have mentioned in all previous episodes my series was inspired by the Metal Evolution series by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. I tend to try to cover things that he hinted at and did not cover in the documentaries. I also will add to the discussion where I can. Power Metal actually did have an episode in the Metal Evolution series and you can watch it here.

Let Us Begin


The description of Power Metal seems to vary a great deal depending upon who you speak to. The main thing that seems consistent is the Fantasy theme in lyrics, or perhaps even in costume. Pretty much any band in this sub-genre likely can also fit within other sub-genres. The glue seems to be the fantasy theme. Sometimes it also involves being able to sing along with the music. I believe one of the earliest examples of this might actually by Rainbow which was mentioned in an earlier post. This is one of the sub-genres that has some early examples, but seems to jump around in time and is still very active today. It also seems to have a lot of German roots. There is one name on the Metal Evolution chart that says Marjorie J. Wallerstein and I have no clue who this is and could only find other people asking who this was. I will thus, not be fleshing that particular information out in this post.

Scorpions


Band First Released: 1972
Nationality: Germany
I don't typically think of the Scorpions as Power Metal, but it turns out they have been around a lot longer than I knew and have released a lot more albums than I was aware of. While they had certain albums that went on to great international success that does not by any means constitute the body of their work. Sam Dun listed them at the top of the Power Metal Sub-Genre, so there they remain. They were one of the first metal acts I got to see in concert when I saw them at a Monsters of Rock show in Denver in 1988. I went to see Metallica, but the Scorpions were the last act to perform before Van Halen who headlined that show.
Scorpions- Documentary 1989

Scorpions - Still Loving You & Wind Of Change & When The Smoke (Official Live)

Accept


Band First Released: 1979
Nationality: Germany
This is a band I listened to a bit in Junior High and High School. They were pretty unique due to the vocal style of vocalist Udo Dirkschneider. This is another one of those bands I see on the Metal Evolution list that I wouldn't have quite envisioned as being here. This is also an example of why I said Power Metal seems to only have Fantasy themed lyrics as a constant. It is important to note that the bands sing more than Fantasy themed lyrics, but that seems to be the most common denominator I can find for someone being in the Power Metal Sub-genre. Udo is not with the band now though, so I am exploring this now as when he left their sound may have indeed changed.
Accept - Balls to the Wall - with Udo.

3 Songs - Live at Wacken Open Air 2014

Accept - Metal Heart - The first song I heard of theirs that interested me in them.

Man O War


Band First Released: 1982
Nationality: United States of America
The covers of all the albums and the way these band members dress as if they are colleagues and raiding party members standing next to Conan the Barbarian. I believe that is the goal. They definitely are fantasy oriented. I purchased one of their albums when I was younger and it had some interesting bass lines, but never really did it for me. I had a friend who listened to them quite a bit though and I suspect the album I purchased may not have been one of their best.
History of Manowar(Heavy Metal) - 23 minute fan made documentary it appears... text with music.

Manowar World Record - Loudest Band in The World

Warriors of the World United

This was the album I had called Fighting The World.

Armored Saint


Band First Released: 1982
Nationality: United States of America
This band was mentioned quite a bit by early thrash metal bands as an influence. The vocalist would actually leave this band to go sing for Anthrax at one point. They definitely had a lot of fantasy themed songs, and their album covers definitely played into such a theme.
Reign of Fire (Official Video)

Can U Deliver (Official Video)

Dio


Band First Released: 1983
Nationality: United States of America
Ronnie James Dio was born in Philadelphia and would go on to be one of the great vocalists. He performed in a band called Elf and then Rainbow with Ritchie Blackmore which was covered in the Eartly Metal in the UK and Australia post in this series. He then wen on to be a vocalist for Black Sabbath and eventually left to form this band Dio. Dio was always into fantasy themed lyrics. If there is ever a sub-genre related to Metal and Fantasy it should always include bands that Ronnie James Dio contributed lyrics to.
How To Sing Like Ronnie James Dio - Tutorial post I thought was interesting and fun to throw into the mix.

Holy Diver (HD Official Video)

Special From The Spectrum (Live 1984) - 58 minutes

Jag Panzer


Band First Released: 1984
Nationality: United States of America
They are not always listed as being specifically Power Metal, though they are indicated as being a heavy influence on Power Metal and other Sub-Genres.
Shadow Thief live 2008 (Coinklin Parduba duet)

Take To The Sky(Official Video)

Helloween


Band First Released: 1988
Nationality: Germany
This band had some very interesting and exciting music, and they did quite well on MTV back in the days MTV was still music focused. I remember them hosting Headbangers Ball one Halloween. It was super suitable considering Helloween had just released a song called Halloween. I have found this to be a quite enjoyable band. I like how they often mix German folk tunes into their guitar solos and melodies.
Helloween High Live (1996) Full Documentary

Halloween [Unrealised Full Version]

Blind Guardian


Band First Released: 1988
Nationality: Germany
This band definitely fits the sub-genre. They not only mix Fantasy and Metal, but they tend to be almost exclusively dedicated to the works of J.R.R. Tolkien and remaking the world of Middle Earth in sonic form. Dust off your Simarilion, Lord of the Rings, and The Hobbit books as companion material to their music. They are quite good.
The Bard's Song (Official Music Video)

Nightfall Live

Stratovarius


Band First Released: 1989
Nationality: Finland
I don't know a lot about this band. I've heard the name several times throughout the years and for some reason never checked it out. I am rectifying that right now as I write this post. I can tell you now I am already liking it A LOT. I love finding music I missed that I really like, and this qualifies. This was a side effect I was hoping would come from making this series of posts.
Rewind from the past to 2012 (Documentary) - 29 minutes

Halcyon Days - Official Music Video (HD)

Iced Earth


Band First Released: 1990
Nationality: United States of America
This is a band I did not fail to notice. I stumbled upon them and listen to them quite often. They have some of the fastest galloping rhythm guitar styles I've ever heard. In fact, it is a very distinct sound that can make a song immediately stand out as Iced Earth. Not to mention that the Guitarist, Backing Vocals, and lead song writer Jon Schaffer went on to make a side project Sons of Liberty where he did essentially a lot of political awakening songs which I made a bunch of videos of on youtube. That stuff while not Fantasy would appeal to the Libertarians, Anarchists, and Conspiracy Theorists out there.
3 Songs - Live at Wacken Open Air 2011

Dystopia (Official Video)

The Coming Curse (Lyric Video) - demonstrates the galloping rhythm style I mentioned.

Kamelot


Band First Released: 1995
Nationality: United States of America
I actually consider these guys a Progressive Metal act, but as I stated the sub-genres start to do a lot of overlapping as you go further out into the metal world. They do however, have that fantasy and metal theme often. That clearly also would qualify them to be in the Power Metal sub-genre.
My Therapy (Official Video)

March of Mephisto (Lyrics) HD - I really love this song. I listen to it quite a bit in one of my playlists. It reminds me a bit of a metal Phantom of the Opera.

Hammerfall


Band First Released: 1997
Nationality: Sweden
I don't know a lot about this band. This is another one of those I've heard the name a lot of times and for some reason have not really ever stopped to listen to. Again I am rectifying that as I type this and I fully expect to enjoy it as I tend to like pretty much any act I've ever heard that fits the Power Metal sub-genre.
Hammer High (Official Video)

Bloodbound (Official Video)

Rhapsody of Fire


Band First Released: 1997
Nationality: Italy
I have never heard of this band until today. I am checking them out.
Into the Legend (2015) Official Clip

Ira Divina-Unholy Warcry HD (Official FULL VERSION)+Lyrics on Video

Nightwish


Band First Released: 1997
Nationality: Finland
I always thought of these guys as Gothic Metal though they could touch on the fringes of Progressive Metal, but they do tend to do a lot of fantasy themed titles so it is very possible that Power Metal might be the best fit for them. I first heard these guys as I was watching the credits on the movie Alone In The Dark and the song was way cool, and I said "Who is this?" and waited for the credits to reach the song credits to see who was singing the song Wish I Had an Angel. I've been a fan every since then along with other family members.
Nightwish End of Innocence - English Subtitles

Wish I Had An Angel (Official Video)

Imaginaerum Movie Scenes HD (Nightwish - Scaretale)

Phantom Of The Opera Official Live Video HD

Primal Fear


Band First Released: 1998
Nationality: Germany
I had not heard of the band by this name. I have heard of movies and video games by the same name, but I was unaware of this band. As with other titles in this post that I hadn't listened to I am correcting that now. Listening to it, it becomes clear why Accept and Udo are considered Power Metal. This guy has a very similar singing style to Udo. The music is good.
The End is Near - Official Video - 2016

Alive And On Fire (Official Video)

Sonata Arctica


Band First Released: 1999
Nationality: Finland
I have heard of this band quite a few times, but never really got around to listening to them until now. There has been a lot of new music exploration for me in this post. That is a big part of the reason I started this series, so in that respect mission accomplished.
Life (Official Video) - cool video in many respects

I Have A Right (Official Video) - this one has quite a lot of views so is likely pretty well known

Dragon Force


Band First Released: 2003
Nationality: United Kingdoms
This band is pretty famous for anyone that played the original Guitar Hero III video games. Through the fire and flames was the final song that people aspired to. They are definitely and interesting band with some musical prowess.
Guitar Hero III - Dragon Force 100% Expert - showing this just for something different and for nostalgia reasons

Heroes of Our Time (HD Official Video)

Through The Fire And Flames (Video)

Closing


It should be noted there were many other bands I found and considered including in this post, but it is already a long post. I ended up cutting quite a few. I covered those mentioned in the Metal Evolution poster and I did add a few on top of that as well. There were many I would or could have included if I wasn't concerned with the length of this post. I'll leave it with letting you know there are many more power metal acts out there if you find this is a sub-genre you are really into.


Steem On!




Sort:  

So much Metal. So little time.

I'm trying to get through that Metal Evolution chart on the poster within a month so I can keep adding links to the posts to the original posts. So that means I am cranking them out pretty fast. That is because until they change it (saw they are working on it) we cannot edit posts after they have been around for a month. That means I need to try and crank out that entire chart in a month. :)

You'll do it! Great job...One of the posts I always look forward to!

Godspeed good sir!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51