Too much hair, too much technical, you're losing touch with the soul... Grunge Rock[Metal Tree:14]

in #metaltree7 years ago


I've hinted at Grunge looming on the horizon. Many of the things that inspired Punk Rock also inspired Grunge Rock, though there are some differences. In many cases Grunge musicians still really cared about knowing how to play their instrument well. They simply focused on a sound they were looking for, and they avoided getting overly technical. It should be noted that not all grunge acts were particularly skilled at their instruments, but they were skilled enough to pull off the sound they were seeking. That sound found mass appeal. Just as Punk offered something more accessible to the masses, I believe Grunge Rock tapped into that same desire.

This continues my series on the evolution of the various sub-genres of Heavy Metal. I began the series in an introductory post that has all of the other posts linked at the very bottom. This series was inspired by the Metal Evolution documentary series by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. The series is excellent and it flashes this brilliant family tree of metal, yet many of the acts are not covered, and a lot of the branches are never explored. Rectifying those things and adding some of my own touches was the inspiration for this series of posts. I plan to cover that entire tree before I am done. I am also attempting to do so within a single month, so that I can still edit the original post and link each follow up post.

Here is a youtube version of the Metal Evolution documentary that covered Grunge.

VH1 also did a documentary on Grunge.

Let Us Begin


I find it interesting that EVERY band in this post began in the Washington State area of the United States. They were predominantly in the Seattle, Washington area or very near there. I don't remember hearing a lot about Grunge until Nirvana suddenly burst onto the MTV video scene with Smells Like Teen Spirit. That blew the door off the hinges and Grunge was here. As you will see by the chronological list of when these bands first released albums, compilations, etc there was a scene quite a bit before Nirvana. This meant when Nirvana suddenly caused massive exposure for this sub-genre there was already a back catalog of material for those that suddenly had a new sound they were in love with.

Green River


Band First Released: 1985
This band did not fare too well commercially outside of the Seattle, Washington area. They were instrumental in influencing those that came after them. This is potentially where the first seeds of Grunge began. In watching the documentaries you'll find people saying it happened due to isolation, and the fact that a lot of acts did not go to perform concerts in this area. Grunge thus rose from them creating a new sound in isolation. Though you'll also find them talking about how they were really tired of Hair Bands.
Unwind

Come On Down / PCC / This Town @ Sub Pop 20th Anniversary - Redmond, WA 2008

Rehab Doll

Screaming Trees


Band First Released: 1986
The Screaming Trees became one of the most successful underground acts in the 1990s. They are one of the many acts that benefited from Nirvana blowing the doors to Grunge right off of its hinges.
Nearly Lost You

Dollar Bill

Shadow Of The Season

Melvins


Band First Released: 1987
The name "Melvins" was chosen simply because the band members thought it was a silly name, and they liked it. Their work was one of the bands that was influential on the early grunge sound.
The Talking Horse

Revolve (Music Video)

Honey Bucket (Music Video)

Skin Yard


Band First Released: 1987
This was a band that had a lot of influence on other Washington area bands, but they never really gained a mainstream audience.
Slow Runner

1000 smilin' knuckles (1991)

Skins In My Closet

Sound Garden


Band First Released: 1988
This band went on to be very commercially successful. In fact, much like a fine wine their sound seemed to become more and more popular as it aged. I remember hearing about them, but it was after the Nirvana explosion has happened.
Soundgarden Rockumentary - 1989 - 7:00

Black Hole Sun - Great song.

Fell On Black Days

Tad


Band First Released: 1988
This band is sometimes stylized in all caps as TAD. They were not as successful as many of the bands in this sub-genre, but they are still well regarded. Their single "Wood Goblins" was supposedly banned by MTV.
Wood Goblins (Cattle Club 1990)

Greasebox

Jack Pepsi

TAD: Busted Circuits and Ringing Ears - Found Tapes - 1:30:04

Mudhoney


Band First Released: 1989
Mudhoney is one of the successful grunge acts having released 9 studio albums and being incredibly influential on grunge then and NOW.
Touch Me I'm Sick (Official Video)

Suck You Dry (Video)

Good Enough (Official Video)

Nirvana


Band First Released: 1989
Nirvana smashed through the doors with their song Smells Like Teen Spirit and the pent up waters of Grunge just spilled into the world from behind those doors. It had a lot of energy, it was catchy. I was a guitar player and while I liked the song and thought it was catchy I didn't get way into it as I tend to have been going towards technicality and a song that was essentially a box pattern that was played, and then arpeggiated just didn't SELL it for me at the time. I also noted that they to me seemed like a garage band (I had one) with better equipment. :) They went on to for a brief period rule the world until Kurt Cobain committed suicide. Dave Grohl as the drummer went on to great things and is still strong, and has his own studio. He is a very well respected person and individual in the music scene.
The Story of Nirvana (Documentary) - 47:22

Smells Like Teen Spirit - This airing on MTV is what blew the doors for Grunge off their hinges.

Come As You Are

Hear-Shaped Box

Lithium

Mother Love Bone


Band First Released: 1989
This is a band that could have been, if not for fate having other plans. Andrew Wood who was the vocals and the pianist died only a few days before the scheduled release of their debut album.
Mother Love Bone 90's Documentary - 13:30

Stardog Champion

Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns

Alice In Chains


Band First Released: 1990
Alice In Chains increased the audience for Grunge beyond what Nirvana had done. They were brave and were the opening act for the Clash of Titans tour which featured Anthrax, Megadeth, Testament, and Slayer. Alice in Chains was the opening act for that tour. This was quite a change of pace for the audience, but they really liked it. I've seen members of Anthrax saying this was the moment they realized interest in Thrash Metal was on a decline. Alice in change is an exceptional band that as with many Grunge acts had it's share of tragedy. Their original vocalist Layne Staley would die early in the success of the band.
King 5 Documentary - 5:14

Man in the Box (Official Video)

Would?

Rooster

Down In a Hole

William Duvall on How He Came to Be in Alice In Chains

Rooster (LIVE - Rock Am Ring 2006)

Pearl Jam


Band First Released: 1991
Grunge was now a thing and it was very popular. MTV liked to play the hell out of some songs. I think Pearl Jam is a good band and I enjoyed Evenflow quite a bit, but I got pretty tired of the song Jeremy because it was played to death. I would say this is one of the last of the great grunge acts before the rapid decline of MTV as an actual source for learning about new music. They were starting to introduce game shows, and the occasional reality TV bullshit. The rest is history. I would say that Eddie Vedder's vocal tone and the way he sings are the main thing that made Pearl Jam stand out. It has an exceptional quality to it. I know there are some Eddie Vedder fans on Steemit, as I had some comments from my post on the versions of hurt, that had an Eddie Vedder version. I included extra videos of Pearl Jam in support of these fans I know are out there.
The Story of Pearl Jam (Part 1)

Jeremy (Official Video) - I got to where I hated hearing this song because of how overplayed EVERYWHERE it was. It is a great composition though and a good work of art. For me it was simply a case of over saturation.

Even Flow - This is actually probably my favorite Pearl Jam song.

Black

Yellow Ledbetter

Alive

Sirens (Official Music Video)

Closing


This sub-genre did not die. It inspired many other bands who carry on this sound. It can be bands like Stone Temple Pilots, Puddle of Mud, etc. If this sub-genre is your thing there are still people making these sounds. In fact many of the acts above are still releasing new material as well.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Lots of work in that post, great job! I just spent over an hour with this post watching old videos and picking up some new bands.

The one I did yesterday on Thrash took me the longest out of these posts. I was concerned I might not be able to get it all in before hitting the block limit.

Correction the one I did yesterday was on Progressive Metal which is my favorite sub-genre. It wasn't on Thrash which I did last week. They were blurring together in my mind when I responded to you earlier. If you didn't check out that post, there is a lot of really interesting music in that one. A lot of different sounds.

I keep hearing that Grunge is supposed to have filled some void left by Metal. If that's true, I'm sadly disappointed. I'm not sure if Rage Against the Machine qualifies as Grunge or not (I hope not, I really like their music). Other than that I can't stand it. Great Post! (terrible music) Upvoted!

It didn't fill the void, as there was never really a void. Certain sub-genres become more popular than others, but for example Thrash remains...

So it is musical chairs on who is the most popular at a given time.

For awhile that was grunge for SOME people... it wasn't my thing either. Like I said "Smells like teen spirit" is a simple box pattern on the guitar... super easy to play... catchy=yes, but mind blowing=no... especially if you play guitar like you and I do.

What I really liked about Rage was the guitar...Tommy Morello rocked!

Grunge... I remember I was practicing on my guitar something and someone came and said "here is how you play smells like teen spirit"... they crank out a 4 position box pattern of bar chords for the main riff, and then you can essentially just arpeggiate those same chords to achieve the rest. I just shook my head. I had said they reminded me of a garage band who just happened to have better equipment, and I still thing that is the case.

I'm with you...it's just junk! The only legitimate Grunge guitarist I ever heard was Tommy Morello.

I'm with you...it's just junk! The only legitimate Grunge guitarist I ever heard was Tommy Morello.

I've seen the guitarist for Alice in Chains, Jerry Cantrell I think (didn't go google it) tear it up before. He did open for Megadeth, Testament, and Anthrax. They did quite well.

There are some skilled musicians hiding in Grunge, but there are also some not so skilled.

Bass player for Nirvana was very unskilled. I remember people making jokes about some of his playing, and it is not like the bass lines are difficult in Nirvana. That's what gave us the garage band with really good equipment vibe.

I agree! One of the better bassists I've heard is a woman- Sean Yseult from White Zombie...Their guitarist was pretty good too J. Yuenger.

Also... Grunge is metal. It has all the requirements. It is heavily distorted, and uses quite a bit of drum action. It is just a sub-genre of metal that I never got into. ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51