Do you hear that? The drums in the deep... are we in Mordor? No that's just the DOOM METAL [Metal Tree: 17]

in #metaltree8 years ago


This branch of the tree is one that the bands listed on the Metal Evolution chart are enmass bands I have never heard of. That makes this a branch that I am totally learning this style as I write about it. My friend @damiancraymond told me last night that Type O' Negative is Doom Metal. If that is the case, FINALLY a band I am familiar with. I will include them based upon his recommendation. I do want to note the chart from Metal Evolution has them on the Goth Metal branch, but I have already noted throughout this series that there is a lot of overlap between the sub-genres.

This continues my Metal Tree series which began with this original post. I was inspired by the Metal Evolution documentary series by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. I noticed the many times I watched it that it has a great poster (which is in my original post) that is essentially a family tree of metal. He mentions some of the bands listed, does not list others, and there are many branches he never explored before the series was ended.

I decided I wanted to flesh that out and cover everyone, and every branch he listed, and also add my own content and tales related to this journey.

Let Us Begin


As I stated above other than Type O' Negative who I am adding to this post at the recommendation of @damiancraymond, I am unfamiliar with the bands in the Doom Metal branch of the chart. That tells me I likely don't know much about it. I am going to learn about it as I make this post for you. I will not likely have many/any personal anecdotal experience to add unless it is to the Type O' Negative stuff. I have heard some of the NAMES of these bands before, but that is the extent of my prior experience with this sub-genre.

I am inspired by my research and I am going to stick some bands I do know INTO this post after reading a description of it. My information from Wikipedia and other sources on what Doom Metal is.

It focuses on using lower tuning, and a thicker sound than other metal genres. They also indicate the music is generally slower tempo. There is actually a Thrash Metal band that made some songs on some of their albums that fit in this sub-genre perfectly. That band I believe is Overkill. I'll include them with some examples of why I believe there is an overlap. This sub-genre is said to have been heavily influenced by Black Sabbath.

Witchfinder General


Band First Released: 1981
Nationality: United Kingdoms
Out of the bands listed, this is the one with the earliest release date by a few years. Wikipedia says they "have been cited as a major influence on the doom metal genre". The band name came from a 1968 Horror film of the same name. I can definitely hear the Black Sabbath influence in this music.
Death Penalty

Love on Smack

Witchfinder General

Trouble


Band First Released: 1984
Nationality: United States
This is one of the early pioneers of the Doom Metal sub-genre. The early marketing push for this music was as "white metal" as the anti-thesis to "Black Metal".
Psalm 9 - Live - 4:07

R.I.P.

Run To The Light

The Tempter

Candlemass


Band First Released: 1984
Nationality: Sweden
This is also one of the earliest doom metal bands. I had heard their name, but never listened to them before. Sweden seems to put out a lot of good metal, good guitarists, and more. It seems to be a very musical place.
Bewitched

Solitude

Black Dwarf (Official Music Video)

Mirror Mirror (Official Video) 1988

Overkill


Band First Released: 1985*
Nationality: United States
I am very familiar with Overkill and they are primarily a Thrash Metal band, but I put an asterisk next to their first released date as there were some albums they released that had very much Doom Metal tracks, and the vocals of Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth even fit the sub-genre. I'll focus only on such tracks. I listened to Overkill quite a bit, used some of their songs as songs to tune my guitar by. If you wish to hear more of their thrash metal oriented songs I covered them in this post.
Skullkrusher (HQ-Audio) w/Lyrics in video - If this doesn't fit the description of Doom metal, then I missed the entire point. Some of the lowest tunings I know of. I can almost hear the strings flapping loosely against the guitar necks.

Drunken Wisdom w/ lyrics in video

Horrorscope - Video

Paradise Lost


Band First Released: 1990
Nationality: United Kingdoms
Wikipedia states this band is one of the pioneers in death, doom, and gothic metal.
Faith Divides Us Death Unites Us (Official Video)

Beneath Broken Earth (Official Video)

Mouth

No Hope In Sight (Lyric Video)

The Enemy(Official Video)

Type O' Negative


Band First Released: 1991
Nationality: United States
Type O' Negative is a band I have heard a lot of over the years. I am familiar with them. I will say vocally they still seem very distinct from the other acts in this sub-genre. I've even acted like a goof ball and tried to sing like these guys before.
Symphony for the Devil (Full DVD) - 1:43:55

Black No. 1 (Little Miss Scare-All) (Official Video)

Love You To Death (Official Video)

My Girlfriend's Girlfriend (Official Video)

Christian Woman(Official Video)

Summer Breeze (Cover Song) - I used to include this on a bunch of my family road trip mixes.

Solitude Aeturnus


Band First Released: 1991
Nationality: United States
This is a band from Texas, that the vocalist was Robert Lowe who would go on to be the vocalist for Candlemass from 2007 to 2012. Other members of this band are now in the band Ghoultown.
Scent of Death

Mirror of Sorrow

9th Day: Awakening (live)

Cathedral


Band First Released: 1991
Nationality: United Kingdoms
Their debut album Forest of Equilibrium is considered a classic of the Doom Metal sub-genre. This band broke up in 2013.
Cosmic Funeral

Tower of Silence (Official Promo Video) 2013

Ride

Forest of Equilibrium (Full Album) - 54:11

Kyuss


Band First Released: 1991
Nationality: United States
I notice this band is also referred to as Stoner Rock. The name Kyuss takes me back to my early youth and infatuation with playing Dungeons & Dragons and makes me think of the Son of Kyuss.
Green Machine

One Inch Man

Whitewater

Demon Cleaner (Video Version)

My Dying Bride


Band First Released: 1992
Nationality: United Kingdoms
This is a quite prolific Doom Metal band with a lot of studio albums produced. I don't know anything about them other than what I just read on Wikipedia, so I will let the music do the talking.
For My Fallen Angel - This song is not exactly Metal...

Roads - Not so sure I'd consider this one metal either... (they are good though)

Deeper Down - Okay, here we have some Doom Metal...

My Wine In Silence - Nice album cover... Dark, but powerful

Thy Raven Wings

Electric Wizard


Band First Released: 1995
Nationality: United Kingdoms
The first thing that pops into my mind when I think of Electric Wizard as a label is the genius Nikola Tesla which has nothing to do with Metal other than it wouldn't exist without his inventions. Though Wikipedia says the lyrics of this band focus on occult (aka Hidden Knowledge), witchcraft, H.P. Lovecraft, horror films, and cannabis. H.P. Lovecraft is my favorite horror author, so lyrically it sounds like it is right up my alley.
Dopethrone (2000) full album - 1:11:12 - funny album title

Legalize Drugs & Murder - the background image there makes me think of Black Sabbath Masters of Reality.

Witchcult Today (Full Album)

Funeralopolis

Closing


As with all of my posts, if there is a Doom Metal band you think should have been in this post, please feel free to reply and include a link to a video in your reply. This is a sub-genre that I entered as a new unexplored territory. I fully expect there to be other acts that should be on here. There will be an episode later on Goth Metal.

I would like to say I find the acts in this post very appealing. I am glad I personally discovered so much new music in this post.


Steem On!




Sort:  

We cannot get out... They are coming.
Fantastic post!

Yeah technically I should have said Moria, not Mordor... but I said OH WELL and WTF when I realized I'd said Mordor. I'm sure such drumming in the deep fits Mordor too.

It's perfectly fine. In Mordor, that's where the real doom is.

Nice work !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99