Metal shards fly as the grinder spins... moshers slam into each other... this is Grindcore [Metal Tree:23]

in #metaltree8 years ago


Resuming the exploration of the sub-genres and history of metal, this episode continues with the branch known as Grindcore.

I did slow down on publishing these. My rapid posting was me trying to get as much of the tree completed as I could while I was still able to edit the original post and add links to the series. That 30 day time period ran out right before the episode I did prior to this one. This means I will still finish them, but I am no longer under the time imposed gun I was before.

This post along with the others in the series is inspired by the Metal Evolution documentary series by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. If you wish to see all of the episodes I've posted so far the easiest way is to click on the tag metaltree or search for metaltree. The original post in the series began here.

Let Us Begin


This particular sub-genre is another example of hardcore punk mixing in some way with metal, and adding other elements. Metalcore seemed to be hardcore bands that crossed over from hardcore to making something closer to thrash metal. Grindcore is a little different.

Repulsion


Band First Released: 1984
Nationality: United States
Horrified (Full Album) - 29:01

Live at DNA Lounge - 6:23

Extreme Noise Terror


Band First Released: 1987
Nationality: United Kingdoms
Religion is Fear

Live at Obscene Extreme 2008 - 9:24

A Holocaust In Your Head (Full Album) - 24:38

Napalm Death


Band First Released: 1987
Nationality: United Kingdoms
When All Is Said And Done (Official Video)

Scum

On The Brink Of Extinction (Official Video)

Carcass


Band First Released: 1988
Nationality: United Kingdoms
Carcass was already covered in more detail in the earlier post on death metal.
Heartwork

Bolt Thrower


Band First Released: 1988
Nationality: United Kingdoms
...For Victory

Cenotaph

Behind Enemy Lines

Brutal Truth


Band First Released: 1990
Nationality: United States
Sugar Daddy (Official Video)

Dead Smart

Denial of Existence

Nasum


Band First Released: 1993
Nationality: Sweden
Scoop

Wrath (Official Video)

Inhale Exhale

Agoraphobic Nosebleed


Band First Released: 1995
Nationality: United States
Built To Grind (Official Video)

Mosquito Holding Human Cattle Prod (Official Video)

Agorapocalypse Now

Cephalic Carnage


Band First Released: 1998
Nationality: United States
This band is actually from near where I live. I've seen the posters and flyers, but actually have never listened to them until today.
Endless Cycle of Violence (Official Video)

Dying Will Be The Death of Me

Lucid Interval

Pig Destroyer


Band First Released: 1998
Nationality: United States
Loathsome (Official Video)

The Diplomat (Official Video)

Piss Angel

Closing


I have heard of other bands that could be of this type. I've even known band members from some bands that were classified as this type. If you feel I left any Grindcore band out of this post, please feel free to reply and include a link to a video for the band/song you believe that should be in this post. Thank you for reading, and listening.


Steem On!




Sort:  

This subgenre grinds on my senses. It is as far from my musical taste as any sound could possibly be. I think I would prefer fingernails scraping chalkboards over this subgenre.

Yeah if you look closely you'll see out of all my posts this is the one I didn't have much to say, just shared the videos. That's because I don't care for it much either. Some of the songs had some decent guitar parts, but most of it I didn't like at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58