How black can black get... black days, black thoughts, black actions... Black Metal [Metal Tree: 21]

in #metaltree7 years ago


I am not referring to race or skin color. I am referring to black like darkness, the blackness of the soul, the blackness of the minds of the enraged, and other black things. These are but traits that can be referenced within the sub-genre known as black metal.

This post as with the others in this series was inspired by the documentary series Metal Evolution by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. I have covered the First Wave of Black Metal in an earlier post...

In this post we focus on the dark places it has gone since then. This branch has some bands who are known for doing more than just telling stories.

Let Us Begin

Except for cases where nationality is indicated these bands are from Norway. That is a place that Black Metal set very deep and strong roots. There are some exceptions but, they are not that numerous. Black Metal in this sub-genre took the extremes in the First Wave of Black Metal and did what seemed unlikely. They made them even more extreme.

Some of these bands have a strong dislike for Christianity. Some of them will embrace claiming to be Satanic, which perhaps they are, or perhaps it is and act. Others will consider Satan just another element of Christianity and throw that out the window as well. They instead often endorse returning to the religions of their ancestors the Vikings. Sometimes this involves them embracing a religion known as Asatru [2]. None of these things are REQUIRED to be considered Black Metal, they just seem to be themes that do pervade this sub-genre, so to truly understand it requires knowing these things as well.

Documentaries


There are a few documentaries that can be watched out there with relation to Black Metal, this scene, and some of the crazy stories I might mention for some of these bands.
Until the Light Take Us - Full Documentary (2009) 720p HD - 1:33:34

True Norwegian Black Metal - 31:15

Burzum - Documentary - Sata rir Media (Satan Rides The Media) - 50:47

Black Metal Satanica - 1:17:55

Mayhem

Band First Released: 1987 Mayhem is one of those bands that has caused some of the most infamous stories around particularly Norwegian Black Metal bands. I have never actually LISTENED to these guys until today, but I have heard of them due to their actions for years. The had "Notorious Live Performances", they are linked to Norwegian Church Burnings, and their guitarist was murdered. These guys are known for doing destructive things outside of the music, and they seem to have no remorse. It doesn't get much blacker than this. Perhaps we can get Charlie Manson and Ted Bundy (*yes I know he is dead*) in a band and have them perform, using people as props. That might get blacker. I think you get my point. These guys are notoriously dark. I do not endorse this, I simply state the facts as far as I've been able to uncover them. They have such controversy surrounding them I'm going to bullet point things I found with links.


Quintessence

In the Shadow of the Horns

Immortal


Band First Released: 1991
Again this is a band I have heard the name, but never actually listened to until today. I did not really go out of my way to listen to Black Metal. I did enjoy Celtic Frost from time to time from the first wave.
All Shall Fall (Music Video)

Call Of The Wintermoon

Grim and Frostbitten Kingdoms

Satyricon


Band First Released: 1992
I actually have never even heard of these guys until today. This is a new one for me.
King (Official Video)

Mother North

Black Crow On A Tombstone

Enslaved


Band First Released: 1994
I have heard of enslaved before, though I have never actually listened to any of their music until today.
The Watcher (Official Music Video)

Isa

Ethica Odini (Official Video)

Gorgoroth


Band First Released: 1994
I've encountered Gogoroth before though I have never owned any of their music. I have heard some of it before. A lot of the black metal can be powerful. There is a lot of sub-genre overlaps from techniques and sounds from various sub-genres.
Sign of an Open Eye (w/ Lyrics) 1080HD

Carving a Giant (Official Video) HD - you have to indicate you wish to proceed to actually view this video

Black Mass Krakow (Full Show) - 55:02 - required clicking I understand and wish to proceed to view

Emperor


Band First Released: 1994
I believe I have ended up with some MP3s of this band at some point, though they really never did anything for me. I actually wouldn't have known generally if I was listening to them or not. I am sure I have heard them before though.
I Am the Black Wizards

Live @ Wacken 2014 - Full Show - Pro Shot - 1:10:53

The Loss And Curse of Reverence

Cradle of Filth


Band First Released: 1994
Nationality: United Kingdoms
I have heard of Cradle of Filth quite a number of times and have heard some of their music. It is not something I go out of my way with the urge to listen to. If I make a big mega playlist with 1000s of songs it might occasionally end up mixed into something like that. This is actually a successful band compared to a lot of the line up in this sub-genre. They are also one of only two bands in this post that are not from Norway. They do have quite a different sound from most acts in this sub-genre. They will actually mix in some clean vocals, and listening to some of their stuff I hadn't heard before I actually like it quite a bit (like this first video).
Nymphetamine Fix (Official Video)

Temptation (Official Video)

The Death of Love (Official Video)

Her Ghost in The Fog (Official Video)**

Dimmu Borgir


Band First Released: 1995
Dimmu Borgir is a prolific band, and I have encountered their name in many different corners of the metal scene as I am flying past and scouting for new sounds. They put out quite a large amount of music and are successful. They even have a few songs I find pretty enjoyable to listen to. The quantity of material they have is large enough there is also stuff I do not care for too much, but over all they are a successful band. I would put them and Cradle of Filth as the two big names I recognize from this sub-genre.
The Sacrilegious Scorn (Official Video)

The Serpentine Offering (Official Video)

Gateways (Official Video)

Dimmu Borgir (Official Video)

Dark Funeral


Band First Released: 1996
Nationality: Sweden
This is another band name that I have encountered numerous times, but until today I never really got around to listening to them.
My Funeral (Uncut Version) HD

Nail Them To The Cross (Official Video)

Unchain My Soul (Official Video)

Closing


If you watch any of the documentaries I included or read any interviews it becomes apparent that for the most part the extreme acts, looks, lyrics, etc are just a marketing technique. The majority of these people are pretty "normal". There are of course exceptions such as Mayhem. I see this taking Black Sabbath, Marrying it to Shock Rock, and then from the first wave of black metal onto this stuff it is about trying to find out how to one up how EVIL a band can seem to be...

As with all posts. I only listed the bands from the Metal Evolution chart for here. If there are other bands you think should appear as part of the historical record with this post, please reply with a link to a video.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Mother North by Satyricon is one my favourite black metal songs ever, such a catchy opening riff!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51