Go ahead... see if you can resist the urge to mosh... Metalcore [Metal Tree: 19]

in #metaltree7 years ago (edited)


A fusion of extreme metal and hardcore punk? Using breakdowns which are conducive to moshing? These are the terms wikipedia uses for Metalcore, as I was not quite sure what it was. The breakdowns part also sounds like some of the things Djent attempts to do, and something many thrash metal bands did. Anthrax for example, in the album Among the Living even had "Mosh Part" clearly labeled in the lyrics of the songs on the inside sleeves.

This continues my series on the evolution and genealogy of Heavy Metal. I began this series with this original post which has all of the previous posts listed at the very bottom. Since it is relevant to this Metalcore sub-genre, I have also previously covered Hardcore, I have also covered Doom Metal which focuses on the low powerful music that it sounds like may also be influential on this, and of course Thrash Metal as well.

This series was inspired by the Metal Evolution documentary series by Sam Dunn and Banger Films. In those documentary episodes Sam displays a Metal Evolution chart. He covers some of the bands listed, and many of the branches are never explored. I suspect had it had more seasons this may not be the case. This inspired me to begin writing this series exploring all of these bands, and sub-genres, while also adding my own notes and branches.

Let Us Begin


This is a sub-genre that the name is unfamiliar to me though I have and still listen to quite a number of the bands that are in the chart for this on the Metal Evolution chart. I am admitting to you here and now that as a sub-genre I personally do not know a lot about this, as what seems to describe it also could fit on other sub-genres. If you have been following the series the fact that there is a lot of overlap is not unusual. I am going to therefore respect the scholarly research of Sam Dunn and his categorization of these bands and I will do this article on it. I am also going to add a few bands from the Wikipedia page that are categorized as this. It should be noted that this is also sometimes called Metallic Hardcore.

I do see one common factor with a lot of the earlier bands in this sub-genre. They are bands that were not really identifying with metal in their early days and they eventually seemed to "crossover" after Thrash Metal hit the scene.

I also note that a ton of these bands are from New York state in the United States. It is by no means all of them, but the percentage is pretty high and when I notice such a cluster I do believe for historical purposes it is worth pointing out. This was primarily United States based, but that has changed within the last decade or so some. Unless otherwise indicated all acts in this post are from the United States. I will be sure to indicate the nationality of the few exceptions.

Dirty Rotten Imbeciles (aka D.R.I.)


Band First Released: 1983
I remember hearing quite a bit of DRI from friends who were into Hardcore Punk before they did their crossover. After the Thrash Metal scene took the world by storm there were Hardcore Punk bands that began to crossover. The speed and intensity of Thrash was the same as that of Hardcore, but it was often a bit more brutal. This likely appealed to many hardcore bands. D.R.I. is the earliest band in this post, but I do not think they were necessarily the first to crossover. They were one of the early bands to do so. I vaguely remember others potentially doing this before them. One band that did not make this cut is Agnostic Front and I do seem to recall them crossing over before DRI did. Another thing this style of music was great for was moshing, so if they were into that with Hardcore, this could accentuate those powerful tribal (aka breakdown) moments where it almost is impossible not to move and get the urge to mosh.
Abduction - Thrash Zone -

Beneath The Wheel - I remember when this song came out

Acid Rain

Suicidal Tendencies


Band First Released: 1983
I had a friend who was way into Suicidal Tendencies when their earlier albums came out. I was not really into them at all as they were kind of tame. They would become later on one of my favorite crossover bands. I love a ton of their older music and some of their side jaunts such as Infectious Grooves. I have been known to mimic and make fun of the vocalist Mike Muir... "blah blah blah blah.... yeah... blah blah blah.... yeah... blah blah blah... introduce song". I have seen them live and he would spend 1 to 2 minutes(perhaps even longer) just rambling between songs. It was kind of funny. I didn't dislike it, I just found it something amusing to act out myself.
Institutionalized - from before their crossover - this was the popular song/video from their earliest stuff... I actually like it now, but I remember not being a fan of it when it came out. :) By the way his rambling at the beginning of the video is the stuff I like to make fun of.

You Can't Bring Me Down - This is from Lights... Camera... Revolution... which is a brilliant album.

Trip at the Brain

Corrosion of Conformity


Band First Released: 1984
I first heard of Corrosion of Conformity due to Kirk Hammett of Metallica frequently wearing one of their shirts in the early days. I didn't hear them as a band until much later though when they released an album long after that.
Clean My Wounds - This is the song from the album that I first actually listened to them on. This song and a few others would often end up on roadtrip mixes of mine.

Albatross

Vote with a Bullet

Stormtroopers of Death (aka S.O.D.)


Band First Released: 1985
S.O.D. was mentioned in hushed tones and referenced in magazines. Their power (breakdowns) were the soundtrack used to back MTV's Headbanger's ball. If you need to understand this concept of a breakdown and a moshable part, these guys are the masters of putting together such pieces.
Speak English Or Die (Full Album) - 29:44

*Live at Budokan (1992) - 1:09:16

Bigger Than The Devil - I like the tongue and cheek parody of Number of the Beast on their album cover.

Cro-Mags


Band First Released: 1986
I do believe my friend that listened to a lot of Hardcore occasionally listened to these guys. I never really did, so I don't have any nifty stories to tell related to them.
We Gotta Know

The Age of Quarrel 1986 (Full Album) - 33:43

World Peace (Video 2006)

Integrity


Band First Released: 1987
I actually never heard of this band before, but they are listed by Wikipedia as one of the progenitors of Metalcore.
Micha (Those Who Fear Tomorrow) - nice rhythms... I personally am pretty into what is called breakdowns myself

Hated of the World

To Die For - Definitely a more Hardcore feel to this song...

Biohazard


Band First Released: 1988
I heard of Biohazard a few times when I was younger, and I may have been exposed to them as well, though I do not recall anything in particular about them.
Punishment (Official Video)

Sellout

Shades of Grey (Official Video)

Earth Crisis


Band First Released: 1992
I have never heard of this band prior to making this post. This is a new listening experience for me as well.
To Ashes (Official Video)

Total War (Official Video)

Firestorm

Converge


Band First Released: 1994
Converge is another progenitor of Metalcore according to Wikipedia, but considering when they first released it seems like there were others already well into the style before this band even existed.
Aimless Arrow

Precipice / All We Love We Leave Behind

Darkhorse

Hatebreed


Band First Released: 1997
I have heard the name before, or read it somewhere on the internet. I have however, never listened to any of it until today. It is funny how many of these vocalists and people are clearly inspired by the Mike Muir (or perhaps simply gang thug)look.
Destroy Everything (Official Video)

Everyone Bleeds Now

I Will Be Heard

Killswitch Engage


Band First Released: 2000
I was first turned onto Killswitch Engage by a young teenager (I had my own children by this stage) from Arizona. I would never have associated them with the concept of Metalcore, but they are a band I have listened to and enjoyed quite a bit. Wikipedia listed them as a Metalcore band. Everytime I see Killswitch I think of that Teenager Ryan who later on as an adult was killed in a car accident. This band will always make me think of him.
My Curse(Official Video)

My Last Serenade (Official Video) - I really like this song

In Due Time (Official Video) - Pretty cool song, I hadn't heard this one before.

As I Lay Dying


Band First Released: 2001
I have heard this band due to late night radio station KBPI playing them in the Denver area when I used to be driving home on the highway late at night and having 4 lane highways pretty much to myself. This was one of the bands that would get some air play then.
Parallels (Official Video)

Through Struggle

Nothing Left

All That Remains


Band First Released: 2002
This is another of those bands I heard late at night driving while I listened to the KBPI radio station in the Denver area.
What If I Was Nothing - nice song, well put together

Two Weeks

This Calling

Parkway Drive


Band First Released: 2004
Nationality: Australia
I have never heard this band until today. I will say they have the distinction of being the first band from outside of the United States in this post so far. The one that comes last is also from outside of the U.S. I imagine if I still listened to KBPI much like in the old days I might have heard more from these guys.
Dark Days

Wild Eyes

Vice Grip

Bullet For My Valentine


Band First Released: 2005
Nationality: United Kingdoms
I have heard of this band quite a few times, and heard it on KBPI. This is also a band that my children requested I get some of before.
Tears Don't Fall - Yep, I've heard this song many times.

Waking The Demon

Your Betrayal

Closing


This sub-genre is a bit ambiguous to me, and I am sure some of you that read this series may have a better grasp of it than I do. As with all of these posts, if you feel I left out an important band feel free to reply and include a video link to things you feel should be in this Metalcore post. Thank you for reading and participating in my posts.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Excellent! I didn't see Killswitch in your original list and was thinking: Surely he wouldn't forget them! And you didn't!! Love Bullet For My Valentine, for some reason, I expected them somewhere else (don't ask me where)

Killswitch and Bullet were both listed as Metalcore on Wikipedia... though there is a lot of overlap between sub-genres so they could appear elsewhere also.

I'm waiting to see where Mastodon fits in...and High on Fire (who sucked really bad in concert!)

They are in the Progressive Metal post I did earlier. (Mastodon)

How did I miss it!!! I'll go back! I really liked High on Fire's studio work so I saw them in Madison. Had to drive from SW Wisconsin about 150 miles aaagh!

I don't have High on Fire yet... if they fit any of my past posts you may need to reply and add them. Progressive Metal is my favorite sub-genre so that was actually perhaps my largest post too.

I wish I was a whale right now when clicking that upvote button dude! Its so rare to ever see Suicidal get a mention anywhere and to have one of my favourite bands of the moment shortly after ,(KSE) is just awesome. I love these posts and I ove the sampling of songs you include too - Keep it up!

I did see Suicidal live with Megadeth. I also am a big Infectious Grooves fan.

Was that Clash of the Titans? I saw them together many many moons ago in Scotland.

Infectious grooves are very clever, and a couple of my favourite songs of all time are by them. Groove Family Cyco, that comedic baseline break still makes me chortle and the amazing cover of the immigrant song. Ah happy times!

Nah it was a smaller show with just those two bands.

My pleasure. I tend to get some votes from a few whales on this series. Thank you for your support. I am a fan of Suicidal and KSE as well. I also like other bands in this post. I tend to like bands in MOST forms of the Metal Tree. :)

Ummm, now I have to ask ... who came first, D.R.I. or Metallica?

I'm going to assume D.R.I. ripped off Metallica's sound for this Acid Rain song (or do they always sound like Metallica?).

Acid Rain is from 1992... so way after Metallica.

I do remember hearing D.R.I. before they crossed over. They crossed over to the Thrash sound after Metallica opened the flood gates. In fact, that is when the crossover phenomenon really started happening.

I remember it with D.R.I. and Agnostic Front. There were others. I owned some DRI though.

Here is their first album from 1983 - This is what they sounded like before crossing over to Thrash.

Big difference. Sounds like British Punk sort of.

Yeah. The crossover phenomenon when it happened was interesting. I had friends that were into Hardcore, I was into metal and it was I who brought Thrash Metal to the town I grew up in and High School I went to. So I was exposed to Hardcore Punk, and Punk from friends but it wasn't really my thing. They in turn were exposed to Thrash Metal by me. It was interesting when some of their bands crossed over and started essentially making Thrash Metal.

This Metalcore movement in the early days really just seems to be another name for Hardcore Punk acts that switched over to something closer to Thrash Metal. Though they were more the Fight Fire With Fire type Thrash. In the later ages I am not quite sure why some bands are considered Metalcore. I added them because that is where the Wikipedia had them.

I suspect it will be another case of Sub-Genres doing a lot of overlapping. With a few exceptions I am starting to explore sub-genres that I am unfamiliar with the labels. I listen and go... "oh so that had another name?" There are a few sub-genres left I am familiar with, but a lot of the up and coming ones I'll be learning WHAT makes something that sub-genre as I do the research for the posts. That is partially why I was excited to do this. Sam Dunn had a nice chart, and a lot of the stuff I'd never heard of before.

Here is their 1985 album... still not quite there

It was likely this one that they named Crossover which came out in 1987. And yes I remember this coming out... I used to play that first song on my guitar quite a bit and sing the song (I joke sing a lot)...

Metallica's Kill 'em All came out in 1983.

Hit The Lights song by Metallica appeared in 1982 on Metal Massacre

The No Life Til Leather demo had Hit The Lights, The Mechanix, Motorbreath, Seek & Destroy, Metal Militia, Jump in the Fire, and Phantom Lord... so it was almost Kill Em All and it came out in 1982.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48