TASTY Chinese Food Exploration in Xi'an's Muslim Quarter!

in #life6 years ago


hello steem blockchain - pink and green theme.png

One of the main reasons why Johnathan and I came to the Chinese city of Xi'an is because the food here is outstanding. Having been here once before, I really missed the food I ate in Xi'an's Muslim Quarter. I remember the lamb kebabs being epic!
muslim crowd.jpg

Did I forget to mention that I travelled during a national holiday? The crowds in this city were absolutely insane. My advice to you is never travel in China during a national holiday. It can be a nightmare!

Lamb Soup


One of the most famous dishes in Xi'an is called Yang Rou Pao Mo which is a lamb soup with vermicelli noodles, pieces of lamb, and bits of a chewy type of bread being absorbed by an incredibly flavourful broth. I had the luxury of eating this several times on this trip because I love it so much.
lamb soup.JPG

Peppery & Spicy Soup and Chinese Beef Burger


After we had our lamb soup for breakfast, we started walking around the area and by the time lunch came around, we're well into the Muslim Quarter. It was time to try out a whole bunch of food. We were in the Muslim Quarter in the afternoon and evening just cause this place is so cool. My favourite tourist attraction in Xi'an.

We found a small restaurant in a more quaint part of the area that wasn't swarmed by tourists. We tried something called Hu La Tang which is this gloopy soup and also ordered a Niu Rou Jia Mo which is a bun with juicy beef inside.

hula soup.JPG

The soup was OK. What bothered me is that they serve the soup in bowls wrapped in plastic. I was hesitant to eat this because I didn't want to consume plastic but a lot of restaurants do this. They put plastic bags around the bowls before putting food inside them so that they don't need to clean the dishes but I just can't accept eating a hot meal that is contained in plastic. I think the bags are "Food Grade" but I don't wanna take chances. As a result, I didn't enjoy this soup as much as I could have.

beef burger.JPG

The beef burger on the other hand was great! There was a copious amount of juicy beef inside the bun and that made this fairly small burger actually really filling.

Fresh Pomegranate Juice


This is such a refreshing beverage to consume in the Muslim Quarter. A lot of the stalls make it fresh. 100% pomegranate juice tastes very flavourful and healthy. I feel like this is an elixir of lifelong health.
pomegranate juice.JPG

The juice in this picture actually isn't 100% pomegranate from what I tasted. Most of the stalls have a juicer that they place the pomegranate in right before your eyes. This one was in one of those containers. It tasted watered down but it was still pretty good (and cheaper). This was my first pomegranate drink in Xi'an but I have since learned to make sure I get this juice from the stalls that actually make it fresh and 100% pomegranate. Although it's a little bit more expensive, I think it is worth it. Much more flavour.

Biang Biang Mian!


Another favourite of mine is a dish called Biang Biang Mian. These are very wide noodles with an assortment of vegetables and meat in them. Since I ate this in a Muslim district, the meat of choice was beef. In other restaurants, they use pork as well. The noodles absorb the sauces so well. One of Johnathan and I's mission in Xi'an was to try as much Biang Biang Mian as possible so that we could create a ranking. We ate Biang Biang Mian from 3 different restaurants.

biang biang mian.JPG

We had this one on the first day of our trip. Of the 3 times we ate this same dish, this particular one was ranked 2nd. The worst one was at a restaurant near the Terracotta Warriors. Well talk about that in another post...

Our food adventure was definitely a success. We basically got what we needed to do completed. Stay tuned for future posts about this incredible city.

Thanks for reading & watching!

recent posts header - pink and green theme.png


The Journey to China's Most Historical City!
Trying (Authentic??) GERMAN Food in China!
"I Cannot Approach Women No Matter How Hard I Try!"
Traveling to Tianjin, China During a NATIONAL HOLIDAY!
Should You Live in China Long Term??
If a Chinese Girl Tells You This, You Are in The FRIEND ZONE!
The PROS and CONS of CHINESE FOOD!
Started a Business With My Chinese HIGH SCHOOL Students!


Kenan.png

social media header - pink and green theme.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeah I also traveled with my toddler and parents to Cheng Du during national day! It was rammed at things like the panda base etc but lots of places were crowd free! At the du Jiang ye panda base it didn’t seem crowded at all and even at the Qingyang palace

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's good. I think Xi'an was particularly popular during that time. The crowds and lines still make me feel anxiety just thinking about it ahaha

Ha yeah for sure, don’t get me wrong certain areas were awful, the Cheng Du panda base looked like a zombie apocalypse was in progress riot vans, swat etc 😂😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Tasty looking. Thanks for sharing the post with pics @kenanqhd

Thanks a lot man. I really appreciate it. Seriously.

Love Xi'an! The food really is amazing. I remember going through Muslim street, it took me around an hour to get through. Such a fascinating place!

It really is a great city and I agree with the Muslim Quarter.

That's a lot of good looking food. The crowd is so thick in the holiday pic. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks my dude. It was absolutely bonkers.

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I’m still yet to visit Xi’an but I do love Shaanxi food; it’s cheap, filling and full of flavour. My standard order is probably a rou jia mo, biang biang mian and the Bingfeng/Icepeak orange soda that only such restaurants ever seem to have. For some reason, orange soda with that kind of taste is hard to find in the West these days; probably because they banned all the additives. That of course means that you probably shouldn’t drink it too often though.

We both agree on the rou jia mo and biang biang mian. Both are awesome. Icepeak orange soda? Are those the ones that came in the glass bottles? Either I have had those or similar ones. Very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89