A Good Book Can Open a Closed Mind...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

When I was a boy we moved into a very old house in the city. We didn't have much money for trips but there was a large basement filled with tattered old books and magazines left over by the previous resident. For an adventurous ten-year-old, this dank cobwebbed-laced recess became a treasure-filled tomb ripe for exploration. I cracked open the musty old boxes to reveal dusty tomes depicting lost placenames such as Ceylon, Siam, and British India.

I would haul a sample of this literary treasure to the quiet of my attic room and immerse myself into another world. Dog-eared copies of Soviet Life shined a light on the hard-working people of the tundra. Weathered stacks of National Geographic from the early 20th century, sent me on tales of adventure in faraway lands.

Unnamed tribes in the Amazon, whole sections of the map left blank in an age when the world was much bigger and communication less certain.

Books can take you to another place far away from the troubles at hand. I could be the Captian on a Pirate Ship or raiding a treasure-filled tomb. I took an interest in science fiction and fantasy. One of my favorites was: Riddle of the Seven Realms by Lyndon Hardy. This book was about a series of beautifully rendered worlds and adventurous quests through each realm.

If you love to read like I do, you'll find a joy in learning new things. A good book really can open closed minds. What do you like to read?

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:


Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

As a book lover from a family of book lovers, I couldn't agree with you more. And this post of yours made me want to write about my own book collection too. I guess I better start taking pictures of them now. :)

Thanks for your support! After taking a look at your intro post, I'd love to know what you read. So you're the guy we come to when its time for the next Matrix movie? :)

Hahaha! Well, I guess I'd be able to answer some questions about visual effects, but most of them are really beyond my current capabilities.

I'm more into character animation, and can work on Pixar-type shows and realistic creature animation, like the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park.

And as for what books are in my bookshelf, you will find a plethora of subjects covering my various interests, such as: sci-fi (mostly Star Trek), astronomy, biology, physics, paleontology, dinosauria, archaeology, music, mythology, paranormal, psychology, computer science and programming, linguistics, art, animation, computer graphics, guns, military aviation, military special operations units (the most numerous titles in my collection), military/spy thrillers (Clancy), the classics, and a couple of Bibles.

I've been listening to audio books more than I've been reading lately but I love it and you can't get what books give you anywhere else. Terry Pratchett was one of the authors to influence me and get me into reading as a kid and keep me at it as an adult. It was a sad sad day when I heard about his passing..

Surprisingly, I have never read Pratchett. Seems like he'd be right up my alley. I'm a big fan of Stephen R. Donaldson. His Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever series is amazing. Lord Foul's Bane and The Illearth War are classics.

I like to read way too many things to list. If I'm going to really go on an imagination trip I tend to gravitate to mysteries--I loved Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys as a child, and now I love Agatha Christie's works the best, with Sherlock Holmes being close behind.

The other books I really loved as a child are Jim Kjelgaard's wildlife stories. They're out of print now and I've managed to collect some off ebay.

War stories (Civil War and WWII) are another thing I like, but nonfiction ones. I haven't been able to get into fictional ones unless you count Gone With the Wind and that's not about the battle side of it.

I could keep going... 😆

My husband credits my reading obsession with why I'm able to retreat into my own little world (especially with a book) and shut everything else out. My kids and dogs can be in the most berserk uproar and I'll be oblivious to it. My mom said I did it with books as a kid, too. Not having an attic room to retreat to, sitting on the couch ignoring everything around me had to do!

Would you believe I have not read Gone with the Wind or any of Christie's books? And I'm likely the only person who still hasn't seen Star Wars :) My attic bedroom was magical. We lived in an old Victorian home and my room was all bare wood walls with original furniture that had a wonderful scent. This lent it that old-timey atmosphere that went with the books I found in the spooky basement. I'm so glad you found your own reading spot! :)

I can believe it, since I have come across very few people who have actually read GWTW. I've read it through several times, and the movie is NOT the same thing!

Now, that you've missed out on Christie, makes me sad. I read those even more for her observations on human nature than I do for the mystery itself. They're the kind of books I can read over and over and it doesn't matter that I know everything that happens :) I take it you've read Sherlock Holmes though?

Your attic room does sound magical. It would have been so much fun to have one like that as a kid.

I saw only the 3 original Star Wars, and only once, so I'm kind of close to you on that!

I think I read a few Holmes short stories. Star Wars was banned in our house due to The Force being seen as some sort of other God or something. I saw the first five minutes of the first (or is it third?) movie, then my Mom walked in the room and freaked out! lol.

Then when I got old enough to see Phantom Menace I was informed that I had accidentally seen the movie in the correct order. I then ran into the controversy of which version of Star Wars to watch. There were heated arguments at work amongst fanboys and the conclusion was I had to find the one on laserdisc from the 80's? to view the right one. So I never got around to it.. lol

Ohhhhh I can relate to that mindset, having gone to a school that banned Harry Potter... and I lol'd at the Star Wars controversy among the fanboys. Those debates always amaze me!

Since I was a child, I always immersed myself in books, I do not know if to escape from reality or to be part of the adventure. My hobby began with science books; Mathematics fascinates me, science fiction books, astronomy, and biology.

I have many images in my mind because I have a photographic vision or a photographic memory. What memories!

In later years, books related to computers and geography filled my library. Then came the attempt, and here I found an immense sea of information on all topics.

Definitely, a virtual book does not replace a physical one; but in my case, already with the severe visual problems, there is little that I read in printed material; today almost everything is virtual; Being steemit my favorite social network for obvious reasons.

I can relate to everything you wrote. Books opened up the world to me. As an American, I never thought I'd ever have the chance to leave the country. I'm still the only member of my family to do so. I always wanted to know why things were the way they were. A couple of years ago Apple's Beats headphones were on sale so I got a pair and now listen to podcasts throughout the day. There is no reason to ever stop learning...

I do the same. Happy international worker's day. Health and Prosperity my friend.

This is nothing but the truth. I can relate.

It's always good to learn new things.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

https://steemit.com/life/@evernoticethat/a-good-book-can-open-a-closed-mind
I am sorry, my account have been hacked, due to my stupidity.
Please do not click on third parties website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63