Steemit Tips #8 - Increase Traffic, Followers and Upvotes by Moving your Blog Into the FAST LANE!

in #steemit6 years ago

If you're looking for more traffic, followers and upvotes on your blog - or just some tips and tricks - hang with me for a bit. I try to share things that have helped make my journey here easier, so you can get the most out of this platform. Let’s take a look at what I've been cooking up in my steemy, crypto-kitchen.

Size really does matter... For your images, that is!

With the introduction of the iPhone in 2007, there's been an explosion of users surfing the web on mobile devices. Some people are still using flip phones! (Hello, Adele) what's a poor blogger to do? Let's say you've chosen just the right pic to make your post POP! Great, right? That photo you took may look just fine on your brand-new, MacBook Pro, but the same graphics may struggle on a phone. CLICK! you just lost a visitor to your blog.

When building your posts, try to test them out on a variety of mobile devices to get a feel for what works best for you. Not everyone has the latest smartphone or fast connection and we want to make sure they aren't frustrated when visiting our website. And that brings me to my next tip:

Post "just enough" pics to tell your story

I recently checked out a blog here on Steemit and I swear, that dude must have uploaded 30 pics on that puppy! My browser stuttered, choked and then froze like the Russian Kim Kardashian at a nude photoshoot in Siberia! Did I try the blog again? NOPE! I clicked my ass right on outta there! Again, not everyone has the latest equipment or a blazing-fast internet connection, so test different amounts of images to find that fast-loading sweet spot.

There are a number of image compression sites out there to help you optimize your pics for the web. Here are just a few: compressor.io, Compress Jpeg and Tiny Png. Many more are just a Google search away...

Choosing images for your blog that POP!

Choosing the right pics for your blog can mean the difference between good exposure and buzz-killing oblivion. The graphic also functions as the thumbnail image on Steemit. When users scroll down the "new" section you have one chance to catch their attention. Use it wisely. If you take a look at my page you'll find arresting thumbnails that sometimes took an hour to choose. Below, I'll take you through my selection process for a hypothetical blog post.

Let's say I'm writing a new article about "funny babies" and need a great thumbnail for it. I head on over to Pixabay and enter the search term: "funny babies" what do we find? Row after row of giggly, happy toddlers, Squirming and squealing with delight. Most bloggers would choose the first pic and be done with it. Not me, I want just the right one that will stop you in your tracks when scrolling down a page on Steemit.

How will you know when you've found it? There won't be any doubt at all. "The One" will leap out of the page at you, like Neo in The Matrix. My thumbnail pics at @evernoticethat were all chosen deliberately, for maximum impact.

Take a look at these three images for "Dream Big." Imagine you're scrolling down the "new" page, which one pops out at you?

See where I'm going here? Now, if you chose the last one, CONGRATS! You’ve got an eye for picking killer images for your blog, mate! Please check out the rest of my Steemit Tips series to help you grow even faster! If you found this post useful, please follow, upvote and resteem. What other tips have you found that worked out for YOU?

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
video credit: 1

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out the rest of my Steemit Tips series below:

Steemit Tips #7 - Helping New Users on Steemit - Are You a Giver or a Taker?

Steemit Tips #6 - Steemit Voting Power - Like Video Game Mana from Heaven...

Steemit Tips #5 - How Often Should you Upload a Blog Post without OVERPOSTING?

Steemit Tips # 4 - How to Promote your Blog Posts the RIGHT Way!

Steemit Tips # 3 - What is The Best Time for YOU to Publish Your Blog Posts?

Steemit Tips # 2 - Blog Post Ideas For Busy Bloggers

Steemit Tips #1 - How To Cruise Like a Whale in a School Full of Minnows


Sort:  

This is quite interesting. I will check out the picture compressors you listed. Thank you so much.

I also feel that the title of a post also plays a role in garnering attention; what do you think?

That's absolutely correct. I always start out with a good thumbnail as that's what is seen first. Then I craft the post with the title being the LAST thing I create. My original was:

Steemit Tips #8 - Move your Blog Into the FAST LANE! - Increase Traffic, Followers, and Upvotes!

I optimized the title by flipping it for Google searches and to make it POP! I tend to think beyond the seven day earning period. I believe many of my new followers are coming in from posts I wrote weeks/months ago using search engines. I'm happy you you liked the post. Thanks! :)

Oh you use SEO? Gosh! I have not thought of that. Nice one. Let's see how well I do in my next post. Thanks a lot

Great! If you Google: "increase traffic on Steemit" (without the quotes) This post shows up on the first page. It will fluctuate and may fall off of the front page, but that's where it is right now. I'm hopeful this will pay off down the line. Good luck!

Although my upvote is small I am happy to share it with you.

Thank You for your support. I hope you found some value here. We just have to get you blogging soon! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 1.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @evernoticethat!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 5.2 % upvote from @boomerang.

@evernoticethat thanks for this tip, it is really helpful for some new kid on the block like me. I would like to upvote it but I am in doubt. I heard that the content creator will only be rewarded during the first seven days of the post? do you know anything about this? Again thank you for this wonderful tip :) peace God bless. I just followed you.

Once again, I have to agree. Thank you for sharing the insights you have. Great content! Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33