You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Good Book Can Open a Closed Mind...

in #life6 years ago

I like to read way too many things to list. If I'm going to really go on an imagination trip I tend to gravitate to mysteries--I loved Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys as a child, and now I love Agatha Christie's works the best, with Sherlock Holmes being close behind.

The other books I really loved as a child are Jim Kjelgaard's wildlife stories. They're out of print now and I've managed to collect some off ebay.

War stories (Civil War and WWII) are another thing I like, but nonfiction ones. I haven't been able to get into fictional ones unless you count Gone With the Wind and that's not about the battle side of it.

I could keep going... 😆

Sort:  

My husband credits my reading obsession with why I'm able to retreat into my own little world (especially with a book) and shut everything else out. My kids and dogs can be in the most berserk uproar and I'll be oblivious to it. My mom said I did it with books as a kid, too. Not having an attic room to retreat to, sitting on the couch ignoring everything around me had to do!

Would you believe I have not read Gone with the Wind or any of Christie's books? And I'm likely the only person who still hasn't seen Star Wars :) My attic bedroom was magical. We lived in an old Victorian home and my room was all bare wood walls with original furniture that had a wonderful scent. This lent it that old-timey atmosphere that went with the books I found in the spooky basement. I'm so glad you found your own reading spot! :)

I can believe it, since I have come across very few people who have actually read GWTW. I've read it through several times, and the movie is NOT the same thing!

Now, that you've missed out on Christie, makes me sad. I read those even more for her observations on human nature than I do for the mystery itself. They're the kind of books I can read over and over and it doesn't matter that I know everything that happens :) I take it you've read Sherlock Holmes though?

Your attic room does sound magical. It would have been so much fun to have one like that as a kid.

I saw only the 3 original Star Wars, and only once, so I'm kind of close to you on that!

I think I read a few Holmes short stories. Star Wars was banned in our house due to The Force being seen as some sort of other God or something. I saw the first five minutes of the first (or is it third?) movie, then my Mom walked in the room and freaked out! lol.

Then when I got old enough to see Phantom Menace I was informed that I had accidentally seen the movie in the correct order. I then ran into the controversy of which version of Star Wars to watch. There were heated arguments at work amongst fanboys and the conclusion was I had to find the one on laserdisc from the 80's? to view the right one. So I never got around to it.. lol

Ohhhhh I can relate to that mindset, having gone to a school that banned Harry Potter... and I lol'd at the Star Wars controversy among the fanboys. Those debates always amaze me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68571.56
ETH 3910.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66