It's Nice to Meet You, Steemit! (Pt. 2 - Wings)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit, It's Me Again!

It has been just over an hour since my (first) introductary post, Pt.1 - Roots and I have already recived several Hellos, Welcomes, and kind words... Thanks Steemit! You're awesome :)

So, let's see... where was I?

Oh, yes, I remember...


(We traded in the big kitties...)

Me 14.jpg
(...for little kiddies!)

After the whole 'first comes love, then comes marriage, then comes baby in a baby carriage' part, I started a whole new set of adventures. Being a stay-at-home-mom from the time that The Girl was born until The Boy started school, gave me some extra time to do a lot of reading, learning, and exploring... and that's when I began to fly my Nerd flag high.

Wings

As a kid, I was a A and B student, as a teen I was a straight F student until dropping out (halfway through my 2nd freshman year) and was supposed to get my G.E.D. - which I did not get until I was 25 and pregnant with The Boy.


(Better late than never, right?)

I am now an Honors student at OTC where I am working on getting my Associate's degree in Biology as well as serving on the Honors Student Council. I stay pretty busy, and I have have to pour hours into my math homework (while intermittently beating my head against the table), but it's SO worth it. I love college.


(I'm a Carl Sagan Fangirl!)

I also get to work for an awesome company called Mad Science that goes to libraries and classrooms all over MO to do hands on science experiments with kids to help them truly understand the world around them and how it works. That's right, by title, I am a Mad Scientist!


(Building a Rube Goldberg Machine in the background.)

And just yesterday, I was hired as the newest volunteer at the local Natural Science Museum! I will (hopefully) get to help in setting up the largest Triceratops ever found. This place even has a pristinely preserved Ice Age cave where they have found a LOT of amazing discoveries! (More on that in future content.)


(North American Giant Short Faced Bear skull next to a Black Bear skull.)

Like I said before, I live a very weird and charmed life.

As a teen I got to work with both a no-kill animal rescue shelter for several years, and earn school credits working at the zoo close to the school... and I loved it! So, once we had a place, I started rescuing/adopting animals myself. Most came to me when people simply couldn't care for them anymore. Here's my other roommates (besides the kids and hubby), in this crazy house:


(Penny the Red Doberman is never quite sure what to do in photos)


(Rocky and Starlet the Spotted Turtles saying Hi)


(Tesla the Bearded Dragon hanging out in the lemon tree)


(Shark the Ball Python on the hunt)


(Moxie and Gizmo napping and cuddling)


(Hubble and Marie napping and cuddling)


(Thumbs and Batty napping and cuddling... shesh it pays to be a cat!)

Whew

Why do I do all this? What is it all for? I ask myself these questions late at night, sometimes.

I cut my teeth on National Geographic magazines as a child (both literally when I was teething, and figuratively when I was first reading) and fell in love with the research and process that Dr. Jane Goodall was doing in Africa. At 4 years old I knew that I wanted to follow in her footsteps.

Jane Goodall 1.jpg
(Photo by National Geographic)

I strive to work for conservation, both locally and globally, as well as science education and science literacy for everyone. And I am fascinated by the brain - specifically animal cognition. I'm even that nerd that gives lectures about it at regional Honors Conference events (two years in a row, baby). This is where I hope to use my degree(s). But I have still have a looooooong ways to go before I get to where I'm going! So in the meantime, I'm living it up and learning along the way.

In my nearly non-existent spare time, (mostly in the Summer) I make Tree of Life jewelry, go on nature walks, save turtles trying to cross the road, and get political (my guilty pleasure).


(Ooh... ahhh)


(I need my sunshine!)


(They hate being saved)


(March For Science)


(Can you guess what parade this is?)

I enjoy laughing as much as possible, helping others, absorbing all things science (especially animals, space, and the mind), going on weird and crazy adventures and even writing about them time to time. (wink, wink)

I had been mulling over thoughts and ideas of creating online content for a few months now; plus I have been getting tired of Facebook's empty content (like empty calories - it's there, but there's not much substance); plus I like "Liking" all the great posts that my peeps make; plus I like making money, so... as my buddy @mattie.b-leaver hinted, "it's a natural fit".

So here I am.

In a nutshell... a 32 year old wife, mom, college student, Mad Scientist, Museum volunteer, and home zoo keeper, working towards my big crazy dreams, and living it up along the way!


(Life is good)

I am so excited to be here, and I hope to see you around!

Until next time... Stay Curious!

Much Love,
Nerd Girl

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @nerdgirl!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

Thanks @moisemcardona, that's pretty cool! You may need to teach me how to set one up ;) (Followed)

Haha, it comes with responsibilities. One of them is checking it out constantly to make sure it doesn't go out of control XD

Life sure is good! Welcome aboard, @NerdGirl.

Thanks @yomanew! I'm glad to be here :)

Welcome! We're glad to have you here. I know you'll enjoy Steemit. My four cats say hello. And, here's a follow from me to help get you started. :)

Thank you so much @stephmckenzie! I'm following you now too, so I will look forwards to seeing pics of your lovely four cats! :)
(P.S. McKenzie is the Asian Leopard's name, in the first picture... good name!)

Thanks for the follow. And, I agree, McKenzie is an EXCELLENT name. ;)

Hi I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @youss

Thanks @youss! (Following)

Nice intro homegirl !!! Following!

Hey thanks @cellardoorzero, you rock! And I'm following you right back :)

Welcome to this amazing community!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @nerdgirl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51