It's Nice to Meet You, Steemit! (Pt. 1 - Roots)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Heellllllloooo Steemit!!!

It's so nice to meet you All! I'm Nerd Girl.
I have heard so many good things about you, and I am excited to get to be here as part of the community!
After a recommendation (and a bit of prompting) from my buddy @mattie.b-leaver (Thanks Matt!!), I am fresh off the Facebook boat and I am hoping to see if I can make Steemit my new social media home.

Me 11.jpg

So, I guess this is the part that I am supposed to tell you a little bit about myself...
Buuut I tend to be thorough. (I'm told that it's actually called long-winded.) So I'm going to split my introduction up into two parts; Roots and Wings.

Part 1 is about my family, which I tend to be rather private about, so enjoy it while it's here. ;)
Part 2 is about what I do and a few of the zany adventures I've had... I live a weird and charmed life. <3

So here goes...

Roots

I arrived on the scene before the days of interwebz - in our lord's year of 1984 - and I have lived in not only two different centuries, but in two different millenia.

Me 13.jpg
(My kids are jealous.)

My lovely parents had one angelic child (me) and then - they had my little sister. At first she was great, but then she started doing all of those annoying little sister things, and strangely my parents would never let me leave her in a cabbage patch.


(Ahh, the early '90's...)

In hindsight, I'm glad they didn't, because she's cool as hell now.

Me and Mercy 1.jpg
(And nearly a foot taller than me!)

When I was 17, I met this dude and thought he was alright. When I was 19 and he decided to tag along with me to work with big cats (lions, and tigers, and leopards, oh my!) across the midwest - on a spur of the moment decision at 10 pm in the parking lot of a movie theater - I thought he was even more alright, like REALLY alright...


(Ok, I'm in love.)

So much alright that we got married.

Me and Billy 1.jpg
(We just celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary this past May.)

We even made two human beings!


(In case you were wondering, this is where the Wild Things are!)

The first one was born alongside the huge Ice Storm of '07 that shut down the city of Springfield, MO for 2 weeks (look it up!) and this year on her 10th birthday the weather was calling for a repeat, (I'm fairly certain that Disney based the movie 'Frozen" off of our little Ice Princess). She is as adventurous now as her entrance into the world, and enjoys creating everything from artwork, to wrist rockets, to forts in the woods.


(The Girl and her striped baby)

The second one born, was a bit feral at first. Despite his best attempts, we have managed to keep him surviving so far (although the same cannot be said for the many toys that have gone to the wayside by his tiny hands). He has made it to the wise old age of 6, where he now prefers to read chapter books, care for animals, climb trees and ride his bike - a bit more carefully.


(The Boy - with his head in the mouth of a Triceratops. sigh)

Life with these two is like riding a roller coaster - that has never been tested. You have NO. IDEA. what will happen next! It's awesome. They are hysterical, compassionate, ornery, clever, and my favorite people in the world!

I'm pretty lucky. I was born to an amazing family, and I have grown an amazing family! We clearly have fun.

My parents are saints and I am hoping that I can be half the parents they were and are, for my kiddos. Because I have such well planted roots, I have been able to spread my wings to fly. (Even if I'm only flapping about for right now.)

I hope that you have enjoyed my stories and pictures, so far... I have so much more I want to share with you! With that in mind, check out Pt. 2 - Wings of my Introduction. (Which I'm planning on writing as soon as I wrap up my ramblings here.)

Until Next time... Stay Curious!

Much Love,
Nerd Girl

Sort:  

Hello, @nerdgirl! Welcome to steemit that is a unique platform where you earn by blogging, commenting and have fun doing it. If you have any questions please feel free to ask me.
Wish you good luck with Steemit. Hope you find your way to make money and socialize with interesting people around the world, but that is not the most important. Have fun!

Thank you so much @krisii! :)

Hello! Greeting! Glad to see you such people like you here, who have joined steemit.
Steemit is an amazing platform where you can earn money while blogging - definitely it is easy as it seems
but if you dont give up - you will successed. Feel free to ask me any questions if you have! Wish you much luck here!
Cheers!

Thank you @duhov! Cheers! :)

Thank you so much @bottymcbotface!! (...am I doing this right?) I will remember you when I am rich! ;)

Wow what an intro !
''Buuut I tend to be thorough.'' .... you certainly do
Keep the posts coming... hope they're all as good as this one .... you've set the bar high for yourself ..., looking forward to your next post !

@wannerbet Thank you for such a great compliment! I was worried that I was going overboard with my intro, but decided... "why not?!" I will try to do my best at creating decent posts... but I can't promise anything ;) Definitely following you now, by the way.

welcome to steemit! I just made my first post as well, hope this place works out for the both of us

Thank you @nico3! And welcome to you as well :) I just started following you, so I hope to keep up with you and your journey on Steemit. Good luck to us both, Cheers!

I really enjoyed reading your post! I followed you. I'm new around here as well. I'd love to read and see pictures of your adventures with the animals. Love the school pic!

@legosnjoysticks Thank you, and welcome to you as well! I'm following you right back. :)
And yeah... I'm really proud of that school pic! (Haha)

Thanks! I need to dig up some of mine.

Welcome @nerdgirl !! hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Thanks so much @khunfarang! I'm now following you back too. :)

Hi @nerdgirl welcome to steemit. I hope you enjoy in the best platform.

Thank you @cutrahma! I'm following you now, hope you have a great day. :)

that was a pretty good intro post. Well done and welcome to steemit!

@minigrowl Thank you much! I'm so glad to be here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51