Introducing myself and my search for knowledge!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Norman, I'm from Aachen, Germany, living in California since 2008. As of June 2017, I’m 37 years old. I'm a mechanical engineer working for NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory. I love the cool projects we are working on and thereby adding to human knowledge. My wife @jmetz013 is the reason I moved to the US. We met in 2007 when I was doing an internship in Santa Barbara while she was going to UCSB. I would like to mention at this point that I kissed her first.

I used to travel a lot. I took the Transsibirian Railway from Moscow to Mongolia and Beijing, then traveled through China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, and ending up in Thailand. I never felt that free in my life. I also went to India hoping to gain spiritual wisdom but noticed I’m just a self-centered asshole like the protagonist from “Are You Experienced?” by William Sutcliffe.

The biggest mind shift that I had in my life was when I read “A Brief History of Time” by Stephen Hawking. I found the book in the library after asking my chemistry something that I don’t exactly remember after which she told me that this was a philosophical question. Since that time, I have never stopped wondering about our Universe and the Cosmos.

I plan on posting about my many interests which I list below sorted by importance:

  1. The Cosmos
  2. Consciousness
  3. SETI (Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence)
  4. Physics of the Universe
  5. Math
  6. FPV (First Person View) drone building and flying
  7. My Vespa PX200 scooter

I have many more interests, such as artificial intelligence, economics, cryptocurrencies, meditation, running, skiing, cars, etc. but I don’t think that I have anything valuable to contribute to these topics, at least at this time.

My display name is a reference to the Euler’s Formula:

e^i*pi + 1 = 0

I’m not an expert at math, but I certainly do appreciate it. I think math tells us about us humans and how we think things are, which might totally not be how things really are.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @eulersidentity :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Congratulations @eulersidentity! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

This is a pretty good introduction, you've convinced me that you are smart, appreciate things you may not completely understand and you will be covering subjects I'm interested in. I'm sold. consider yourself followed @eulersidentity and resteemed so we can get your name out there. don't disappoint ;)

Welcome ! I can't wait to read your posts in the future.
I have followed you and I welcome you to folloe me as well at @randomizer :)

Hi and welcome to Steemit, I such you luck on your journey here.

Can I suggest you look into the #minnowsupportproject - a place for newbies to get help and support as they set out across Steemit. We have voting bots, a follow train where you can get followers and much help and advice.

Drop in to chat at https://discord.gg/v3GpU4N and tell @aggroed I sent you

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Hey, Norman! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Welcome to the community, Norman! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Hey Norman! It's Jon Torres! So awesome you are on here. Hope you have some fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58705.75
ETH 2588.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45